I have a question ladies, often I hear that making dua during Labor has a good chance of getting accepted .. I have tried looking up for material on the internet that would support this with Hadith or Quranic reference .. but havnt been able to find anything ..
Can someone here help me a bit please and tell me how accurate this is ..
It is kind of awkward to post here, but I heard following verse from the mouth of one of the respected scholar. It helps in painless delivery.
Yes, the woman who is going through this process is closer to Allah, therefore it is best time to ask duwa. I dont have any hadith or quranic reference, but I would research and report here.
Thanks so much STA .. I will really appreciate any research on this .. just need to know coz i was asked for reasons and I didnt have any other then the one that you quoted as well
I dont know but you know when you are in pain and you seek to Allah praying for other people, it feels so much better and you feel like you are so close to Allah!
When I was having the very last horrible contractions and just wanted to die (such a drama I am) my husband reminded me to stay focus and pray for all my friends who were TTC and lo n behold I was trying to think of all the names in my mind, probably helped me get distracted but I was soooo busy praying for everyone that I forgot all about my pain for 30 secs :D
Even if there is no evidence of it being accepted or such, there is no harm in praying as much as possible whenever you can for other people!
ps: Right after my baby was born, I found out about 3 of my girl friends being pregnant who had been TTC for long!
GTG , thanks so much for such a positive reply .. truly said that is a very sensitive time ..
But I still need to know where this thought originated from .. purely for the sake of knowledge .. I believe elders say this too that making dua in such times has a higher chance of being accepted and inshallah I intend to make dua for every muslim woman out there to be blessed with this rehmat of Allah SWA .. but knowing more about this would help explain to many others about why we do it ..
GTG I heard similar story from my jethani too. her sister who was ttc has three kids who are exactly 10-11 months younger to my jethani's three kids :D she used to tell her to pray for her pregnancies during labour and found out next month she is pregnant too !
On the other hand, my BFF is an obstetrician and is TTC since 4 years..she keeps requesting all her patients to pray for her EVERYDAY in a hope kisi ki tau suni jayegi ek din :(
Me too... Dua kernay mein koi burai nahi. Sawab ka sawab aur u'll be distracted from the pains In Sha Allah may u have smooth delivery!
Aur do pray for me & all ttc here!
Just make sure u know the actual names and not nicks… Its really a stanstill moment when u make a dua .. And then rwalize u only k ow the person’s online nick!!!
CB, there is no Quranic basis for this claim, if that is in fact what you're asking about. Hadith, I don't know, I take my guidance from the Quran only but that's a totally different topic. This sort of innovation about doing certain things in certain situation is just jahaalat. You can pray to God any time and all the time and you don't have to read certain verses 7 times in the morning 23 times in the afternoon, stick your left foot in, stick your left foot out, do the hokey pokey and the rain dance, that's all our blessed mullahs making it up as they go along.
hmm yup thats what i wanted to clarify aahmed , thanks so much for putting it so clearly .. i have had an intensive look into some islamic reference books and nowhere found any reference to this. I guess its just one of those belief things ..
But you are very right about one thing, dua can be made at any time of the day, in any situation and in any place ... so really its not fair to attach unnecessary conditions for dua ..
Like the other day i was talking to a group of ladies at an islamic school and this topic came up and I said i hadnt found any Quranic or Sahih hadith references to it and they said its like when someone goes for Hajj we ask them to pray for us coz they are going for a holy journey .. I said you cant compare Hajj with pregnancy .. also, we dont necessarily have to ask only those on the holy journey to do dua , we can ask any of our brothers and sisters in islam to keep us in their duas ...
Khair the ladies then said Pregnancy is like almost touching death and back and then they gave me hadith reference of how a woman is considered a martyr if she dies while delivering. Personally i have read that hadith as well ... but then does that mean that soldiers who go on dangerous missions and have chances of obtaining martyrdom should also be specifically asked to do dua for everyone?
It goes without logic ..
I feel its best that we all keep in mind that dua is one of the most powerful tools and we should readily ask all our brothers and sisters in islam to do dua for us frequently , rather then associating dua with a particular situation ...