Making Arabic our National Language

Re: Making Arabic our National Language

I’ve thought over it and I suppose you guys are right Urdu is most suitable but we should work on a pan-Paki cultural/linguistic identity so that everyone in Pakistan starts speaking Urdu, it’d be so much easier and I could have a missus from each province without having to learn anymore languages.

I'm guessing the topic of this thread was meant to get a ruse out of people.

YAAR PLEASE!!!

This would not happen...

What’s your problem?

I don’t mean that all Muslims should give up their own languages and start speaking Arabic, that would be boring but as well as living our own distinct cultures which makes the world so much more interesting we should also learn Arabic so that as well as our ethnic languages we can speak our spiritual language.

You can’t imagine how heart-warming it feels when you get an Afro-Caribbean brother come up to you and offer you some dates during Iftaar time on the bus/tram and tries making conversation in Arabic or just the few phrases, or if it’s speaking to a brother or sister from the Philippines, it really bonds us together.

^^ so THATS why we should make arabic our national language? bonding?

[quote=“Chel Chabila Babu”]
If Pakistan is to survive in the long run it needs to construct a culture very distinct from India…

you cant just erase history from people’s minds. culture cannot be constructed.

ok so you have muslims that were initially hindus following the respective cultures who are now trying to turn their faces away from their heritage and past. and WHY do you wannabe affiliated with arabs? alot of paki-muslims i talk to say SO proudly that they have a persian or arab background and that their ancestors were not hindus.

another example of how religion takes a backseat to lineage and culture.

It’s wrong to forge ones ancestory (it’s irrelevant anyway) but that doesn’t mean we can’t change our culture, that is such a backward, stagnant Hindu mentality, Muslims are not stuck with what their ancestors were thousands of years ago..

If we want our country to survive we’re going to have to stop being so backward and live for today and tomorrow as Pakis not what our ancestors were, going by that logic we’re all African.

^^ no.monkeys.... :)

Furry muff, if that's what you beleive but I don't agree with that theory.

are you a secularist?

I think Arabic should be taught mandatory in all schools of Pakistan...

Instead of regional languages like Sindhi (Which I opted out of), I would have been most interested in learning Arabic...

Having Arabic as a National Language, or 2nd or 3rd, would help some Pakistanis (muslims) understand Quran (& Islam) better, especially those who just read the Quran and not the translations & tafseer.

But we should not forget our cultures, and so Urdu should be the Primary Language, and Arabic can be the secondary.

Well the whole point of having Urdu as the national language was so that no language from any province should have dominance. Urdu was something all types of people could learn and wasn’t really the dominant language anywhere. So to make it fair, it was chosen. Plus, Urdu WAS, and infact still is “the muslim language” in the subcontinent. Arabic has no relevation to us. We can learn it to read the Quran, that is fantastic, but in my opinion it wouldn’t logically fit at all. We would have to change all the urdu signs in pakistan, all the text in textbooks, all the laws, everything frmo computers to infrasture. If we had the budget of USA and if you multiply even that by a hundred, even then Pakistan would be barely able to handle changing everything over to arabic. Not to mention, reeducating the educated in arabic to go with the infrastructure. Then also educating the poor to speak in arabic. etc etc…its a stupid idea.

I actually always thought it should be like this for Pak’s education system:

Urdu - mandatory

English - mandatory (basic - and then advanced should be mandatory if you want to go into fields that just NEED to communicate with the outside world, like business majors).

Arabic - mandatory for all muslims. Non-muslim minorities can opt out. (Along with this, Quran translation classes should be mandatory, so the friggin desis can stop being so friggin desi)

One regional language of your choice - mandatory. Additional languages are optional.

International langauges - one mandatory. Additional languages are optional.

I know, people would hate me if I ever became the minister of education or something.

:dixsi:

This @sshole comes to this board only to create difference among us.. between Pakistanis of different regions and between pakistanis and arabs. And to promote his hindu culture. He has no other objective. Im surprised none of you is able to read between the lines and you actually come and respond to these nonsense bullsh!t.

Does he really deserve your time? Do these different ways of his to create differences among us really deserve your time? Why cant you all see the poison he is spewing through his seemingly 'innocent questions'???

I hope all of you also manage to get to see his identity-less face behind his virtual cover.

You are all stupid not to see it already. Enough said!!!

first leave saarc and join arab league if they aceept you as arab nation.

I dont understand why being an indian, it worries you so much if we are a member of Arab league or not. We, as Pakistanis, have no problems about that. Why does it bother you so much? What’s your interest in that?