makhan and dahi

One day i thought about how little i know about pakistani village life..and when i thought..i don’t know how makhan and dahi is made in a village setting. I would love to read about it if someone can describe the process. I wanna visualize it with the help of someone’s words. So, if anyone knows about it..can you please describe it. Thanks.

What do you call that handle and mutka thing with a danda and rope thing..i think its used in making makhan..is it? another word is coming to my mind..garvi..When do they use that utensil?

And if someone has any photographs to share..i would be very thankful to them.

:slight_smile:

Uff!!

Qrius, kya yaad dila diya :frowning:

Let get back to you on this, until then stay tuned :blush:

i know a lil bit :)
that dandi with rope is called "madhani", if i'm wrong plz correct me someone

to make dahi, in summer nothing special is needed they just put some milk in that matka "garbi" aur usko bahar rehnay detay hain hawa main to it becomes dahi itself :S

in winter specially they use already available dahi to make some more, dahi used to make more dahi ! that is called "jaag" again not sure is that the correct word

khair, phir dahi jab ban jata hay to us main aur dhoodh daal detay hain phir usko madhani say hilatay hain lekin ab mostly ye madhani naheen use hoti, now they use something like blender machine, usko shaid electric madhani boltay hain :D

thats all what i know

^-- :smack:

garbi nahin..it’s garvi
jaag nahin…its chaach i believe

shukar hai jaaz nahin bol dia! :smiley:

i’d be interested to know as well. :~)

hmm Dont know much about it :o laken makin wali raotti with chaatni ..aww yummi , eik dafa try ki thee meri mother in law ke hathoN ki bani :) my hubby is from a village/ small town , unn ko zaror ilm hoo ga , let him be back from pak to meiN poch ke inshAllah zaror batyooN gee :-)

“jaag” kay baray main to now i’m sure khanu, mainay aik dost say bhee pooch lya hay that is “jaaag” aap log shaid kuch aur boltay ho lekin meree ami isko bolti hain “jaag lagana” so its jaag :snooty:

aur garvi sharvi ka mujhay naheen pata

i think from the dahi u can also make cheese- how do u do that?

Sehar, yeah please..i wanna know..thanks :-)

Aceones!, thanks..are you sure kay dahi khud say bun jata hay..humko hairat ho rahi hay. What about butter..can you please ask about it too from your mum.

you call that mutka thing garbi/garvi..i saw this little steel type piyala thing once and some one called that gaRvi..i am so confused.

mehroo, makai ki roti..or besan ki roti..with garlic and chilli chutney is yummy with saag :-)

kenny, i am not sure if you can make paneer with dahi..when i was making dahi for the first time..i didn't really know how to make it..so my mum made paneer of it. What you do is that you take a litre of milk and phaR the milk with a tbsp of vinegar..then you collect it in a cheese cloth..and put some weight on it..once the water is leaked out of the cloth pores..cheese is ready. You can just cut it in cubes. But i have no clue how paneer is made traditionally.

Lassi making from my experience :)
To make dahi, first of all add a portion of dahi into a pot of milk cover it and leave it to ferment and cultivate. If you do not have dahi leave the fresh cow’s milk (you HAVE to have fresh cow’s milk! if not shout over the wall and get milk or dahi from the prosan next door :D ) un-boiled, overnight.

The next step is very technological and you have to be trained to know how it is done. Not every aira ghaira can do this. Once you have the dahi from whatever means empty the dahi and a few koli’s of water into the clean (rinse it out once before you use it) galni making sure it sits securely on the base of the wooden stand and is itself attached by a thin rope and ring to the stand. Insert the power tool known as the madhanee (a long wooden pole thing with wooden blades) in the galni and attach securely to stand by way of thin ropes and a ring. Next, get a peerhi to sit on and taking the two strands from the madhanee, pull first one way and then the next way and sing some song in Punjabi about making lassi. I am sorry I don’t know of any such songs. Continue this for 10-15 minutes. Add some ice (borrow some from the prosan with the freezer) or cold water and mix (riRak) some more for another 5 minutes. Then using your hand mix and pull together all the fat globules now floating in the mixture. This is makhan. How much you get depends on the quality of your milk and on how much you put into mixing the lassi.

With the advancement in technology you will get lassi much easily with blender and mixer but as with the side effect for all technologies you lose the substance. :(

Oh you will not get makhan if you use semi-skimmed and no fat yoghurt. :p

jaaag is what is called in punjabi and chaach is urdu word i guess :halo: i hope i am not wrong .

makhan?
dahi?
roti?
saag?
makaye ki roti?
lassi?

:yummy:

:wave:

Rhia :k: What a fun account! I miss the old days, primarily the early mornings slightly after fajar when this ‘dudh riRkan aali’ process would be going on. :slight_smile:

Qrius there you have it. Rhia ji got to it before i could, but thats essentially the whole process.

Rhia, thankyou so much. I read the process several times to visualize it :-) Now few questions..what is koli? and what is galni and riRak?

It is sure fascinating to learn that makhan and lassi are made in just one process..very interesting.

Is there another way to make makhan also?

Thanks all for your participation in the thread :-)

What if I add some Dannon plain yogurt to a blender and leave it ON for a few minutes. Can I make makhan like that?.

Hehe.

Thanks for the vote of confidence Seharji! I miss the good old days too. :(

Qriusji I'm sorry you had to read the account more than a couple of times but I don't think any words can do justice in describing such a process. Inshallah when I next go to my dais, I intend to take pictures of the galni/madhanee, chakki etc. Its our heritage. :)

I think there are different ways of making similar stuff to makhan and butter in different countries around the world. I don't know the exact processes.

koli is a bowl type steel utensil usually put on the gaRha (water pitcher) and used to drink water from .

Galni is my dialectical form of galvi which is the earthenware pot that lassi is made, mixed (riRak-ed) in. It is bigger type of gaRha.

riRak (the word is Onomatopoeic I think) is the mixing action used to mix and make lassi.

Funguy, I am not sure if you can make makhan like that but if you do try it, let us know if it worked. :)

Rhia, thanks a bunch :flower2: for the explaination. When i wrote that i read your reply several times..i meant that it was great..so i read it several times..specially parosan and perhi part :slight_smile:

I simply asked about the other procedures of makhan..coz i think my dada used to ask my mum..to collect all the balai/malai..and once the balai was enough..they used to put it on a burner on low heat..after a while they used to take it off..and when it used to cool down..it was makhan.

*Originally posted by Qrius: *
I simply asked about the other procedures of makhan..coz i think my dada used to ask my mum..to collect all the balai/malai..and once the balai was enough..they used to put it on a burner on low heat..after a while they used to take it off..and when it used to cool down..it was makhan.

it was not makhan it was ghee, desi ghee jo hotay :)

Qrius thank you so much. :)

I was told by my mum that to make ghee you have to heat or boil the makhan until the solid kind of boils off. So maybe the heating of malai gives ghee.

Aceones and Rhia: thanks :-) it could be ghee..i can't recall..it was many moons ago.. My memory :(

ji ok
wesay if the milk u ppl use is pure and creamy, do one thing, jab chai peenay lagain to put some cold cream in ur cup of tea, n it will turn into ghee :smiley: i dont like such chai lekin if it doesnt turns into ghee the cup of teas turns really :yummy: