Makeup

I attended a mehndi yesterday and really liked the way the girls had done their makeup. No one had bright coloured lipstick on. It all looked natural yet so pretty. They all had different complexions. By looking at them I felt that I still need to master the art :frowning: My skin is quite light and anything I put on really shows up. No matter how minimal my makeup is I still feel as if I look caked up. I don’t use bright lip colours. There’s no pink in my complexion. It’s all neutral.

Any tips? :frowning:

Re: Makeup

are you talking about face or just lip colors? well if you feel caked up on your skin, you could use a tinted skin moisturizer instead of foundation, and always use a nude color lipstick/gloss.

Its true that desi girls are now moving towards subtle yet elegant makeup instead of dramatic and colourful makeup.

I’m no expert but here’s my two cents:

I used to think day/work/casual makeup should be completely nude (i.e. neutral eyes, lips and face) whereas formal makeup should be either dramatic eyes and nude lips OR nude eyes and bright lips, and bridal makeup may be dramatic on both the eyes and the lips… but i’ve been following the “bridal pics” thread lately and it has completely changed the way I used to think about party/bridal makeup.. Here’s what I mean:

How absolutely stunning does this bride look!!! Her makeup is just perfect! So subtle yet soooo gawjuss!!

The question is, would this nude makeup have suited her if she was wearing a bright, colourful dress? Methinks yes! Look at these brides, for example…

They’re all wearing colourful dresses but have kept their makeup quite neutral and it looks great!

This is not to say that the traditional desi bridal looks don’t look nice any more… they do… like my sister got hers done from allenora and they gave her those bright dramatic glittery eyes with red lips and she looked stunning Mashallah! … And here’s a bride with neutral eyes and bright pink lips and she looks great too!

So MKD go for neutral colours… either brownish or pinkish tones… matte finish for casual makeup and shimmery ones for formal occassions… Just contour your eye with the brownish/pinkish tones…

1: Eye primer

2: Medium colour on the eyelid

3: Lightest colour on the browbone, middle of eyelid, and inner corner

4: Darker colour in the crease & blend (should look like a shadow/natural crease)

5: Eyeliner. You may apply a pencil liner on the lower lash line as well (and blend it so its not harsh) and gel/kajal eyeliner on the waterline.

6: Mascara

7: Shape the eyebrows

8: Nude/pinkish lip gloss (or lipstick)

9: Light pink blush (assuming concealer/foundation etc is already done) and perhaps some highlighting product for the face to give that glowing look

and thats about it I guess… there’s plenty of tutorials on youtube on contouring the eye and nude bridal looks etc…

Also, use lighter colour eyeshadows if u feel like the ones u currently use are way too dark to be considered nude for ur skin colour… ask for assistance at the makeup counters to choose colours that are neutral for your skin tone.. and use tinyyyyyyy bit of eyeshadow to begin with.. blend and then apply more if u need to… blending is the key to making it look natural.. thats all i can think of right now…

Awwww thank you so much for those tips BBQ :hugz: InshAllah i’ll try them out and then report back with the result :slight_smile: I was thinking of using a darker foundation to give a bit of colour.

I was talking about the whole face. The foundation I use is from Bobbi Brown and it doesn't give heavy coverage at all. I might try Bobbi Brown's tinted moiturizer and see what it looks like for weddings.

^ NO!

You def know how to do your own makeup! Just don't be afraid of using color though..for example you don't have to cover your entire eyelid in blue if your wearing blue. Do a neutral look with beige/nudes and add some blue under the lower lashes.

Hehe ok geens :cb:

i looovve the neutral/no-makeup look.. but i think i still need to work on my base, im not sure what i should use, foundation or tinted moisturizer.. so confusing lol

anyways i love the look of 1st bride, flawless!