Make your laptop water-cooled!

This is pretty nifty. With the new processors running hot this is not a bad idea at all:

Source

Re: Make your laptop water-cooled!

inna wakhta karnay ki kya jaroorat hai

dont u have AC at home :P

This reminds me, I usually have my notebook on my lap and I'm sure it probably covers the vents. How bad is it?

^^ lets hope you dont get arthritis :/

Why would I?

Pretty soon we will have laptops with radiators…:omg:

5watery u should be supporting it, u might get some publicity out of it :wink:
get it? watery? :hehe:

yeah i should open a computer/laptop shop on the banks of River Ravi or Jhelum?

changi gal aay.

I do the same thing. I do it all the time, and never have any problems. My laptop never really gets that hot anyways.

Tofi, nice post. A friend of mine in Lansing, his apartment got torched, completely! Apparently, he left his laptop (which he bought 2 months ago, brand new), on standbye in the bag and it overheated and caught fire. It wasnt a battery issue, it was the power regulator that overheated, and caught fire.

However, coming back to the topic, this solution, using water as a heat transfer medium works, but is nothing compared to what a metallic heat sink bonded directly on the processor and other parts through thermal grease does. Again, it also depends on board manufacturers on how they design their PCB boards. The only time I have seen water being used as a coolant in electronics systems and being preferred over other stuff is certain resistors, which are made of a certain type of material which causes the heat sink metal to corrode instantly. Those things are pretty funky, Ill try to find the picture, I saw them at www.microohm.com

This is a bit off topic but FOR ANY PCB DESIGNERS OUT HERE, a helpful advice, something I came across after designing my 7th PCB board. Whenever I design the PCB, I make sure to leave alot of copper pour (without soldermask) for efficient heat dissapation, and no spokes or thermal reliefs on ground pad on voltage regulators (though overdoing the latter might cause problems in machine soldering, as you are dissapating large amount of heat required to solder into the plane and might fry the SOT component. I have seen alot of board designers neglect this practice, and as a result, alot of their boards have caught fire. Even the dell board that my friend had was missing proper thermal relief around the regulator which I suspect caught fire. I have also found many big magarmach companies, such as nvidia avoid this practice, and alot of their cards stop working because their capacitors blow up. They conveniently blame the cap manufacturers without admitting to the fact that its them who place large heatsinks right next to an electrolytic cap which starts leaking whereas its clearly a design fault. I actually made alot of money buying these supposedly ‘failed’ nvidia cards off ebay dirt cheap, repaired them, added fire proof military grade caps (i knew what the problem was since i had one that failed too), and sold them for $100-150 back on ebay :wink:

Here’s one that I used recently:

Another one (indirect)

Yaar, watercooling a laptop is like adding a turbocharger to a Suzuki FX 600 CC. Agar itni hi fi processing karni haiy to get a cheeta sa desktop. Laptop ko chotay motay kaamo kay liyeh rakho like bhabhi ko email karna aur desitorrents se documentaries download karna.

cheegum konsi documentaries download karta hai tu desitottay err desitorrents say? :omg:

^^ :omg: You know the one’s like Double Airbags, or Free Willy :omg:

I didnt get whats in the picture..it seems like theres a disc with blue lightning!

Thats a radiator. It absorbs heat from the water running in the tubes.