Majority of Pakistanis want Sharif as President: IRI Survey

How quickly the tides have changed :hehe: Read the part in bold :hehe:

Majority of Pakistanis want Sharif as President: Survey - Yahoo! India News

An overwhelming majority of Pakistanis believe the country is moving in the wrong direction and nearly 60 per cent would rather prefer PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif as President than Asif Ali Zardari, a survey has said.

Eighty eight per cent of the respondents in the poll conducted by the US-based International Republican Institute (IRI) said Pakistan is moving in the wrong direction, while 73 per cent said the economic situation had worsened in the past year.

A total of 76 per cent rated the PPP-led government’s performance on key issues as poor, up from 51 per cent in a survey conducted by IRI in June.
Sixty-seven per cent replied in the negative when asked if things would be better now as there is a democratically elected Parliament and President in Pakistan.

While 59 per cent of Pakistanis surveyed said they would prefer Sharif as President, only 19 per cent backed Zardari for the job. Sixty three per cent also said they disapproved of Zardari’s performance while only 19 per cent approved it.

Asked which leader could best handle the problems facing the country, 31 per cent of respondents backed PML-N chief and former premier Nawaz Sharif while President Zardari was supported by eight per cent and former President Pervez Musharraf by three per cent. :hehe: awwww

Among the respondents, 64 per cent said they liked slain former premier and PPP chairperson Benazir Bhutto and 60 per cent said they liked Sharif, while 65 per cent said they disliked Zardari.

Significantly, the number of people who said the powerful army should have no role in politics fell from 62 per cent in June to 49 per cent in the latest survey, which was conducted by IRI during October 15-30. Forty-two per cent said the army should have a role, up from 27 per cent in June.

Asked if they felt more secure this year compared to last year, 78 per cent replied in the negative. A total of 52 per cent also said the country had not made important steps towards democracy despite the election of a new Parliament and President, the resignation of former President Pervez Musharraf and separation of the posts of President and army chief.

Forty-two per cent said they wanted the PML-N back in the government while 60 per cent held Zardari responsible for the split between the two parties in August.

A total of 54 per cent said they would support a peace deal with extremists, down from 64 per cent in June while 60 per cent said religious extremism is a serious problem in Pakistan. The survey covered 3,500 people in all four provinces of Pakistan, IRI said.

Re: Majority of Pakistanis want Sharif as President: IRI Survey

Interesting.
ganja is better option but with a touch of dishonesty.

Who conducted this survey. Read the organisation name. Another result of great money spending but no G I K or Zia is there to help him. He understand the Needs of Media

^ So the IRI is now owned and funded by Nawaz Sharif too? :hehe:

Poll conducted by the US-based International Republican Institute (IRI) is not a legal equivalent to election, which Zardari won.

^ Yes it is, read carefully, Benazir still heads the poll by a few percent, even though shes deceased. Also, did you even realize things changed after elections? But then again, jis key saath altaf bhai, us key saath, chahey woh Musharraf ho, chaheyh woh Zardari ho.

Also, you guys used to say the same things about these IRI surveys right before election time lol and then we all know what happened? 175 seat victory for Musharraf’s lota league barely materialized into 30 seats :rotfl:

A history of IRI and their motives ..goals..
PopupWindow

^ this same bawajee with the sufayd baal wrote a very 'befitting' article on Musharraf and his crimes in the lal masjid, we should assume thats true as well right?

Sure then we have to agree on everything whatever he wrote :)

I don't think that Pakistan folks are wise enough to choose or elect a leader at any level and at any given moment...Period!

Even if IRI is right. Nawaz Shariff has to wait for next four year to win the election. And I doubt it if he can win election in sindh, Baluchistan, Paktoonkhwa, (except in Hazara Belt). But ofcourse he can rule over Pakistan by just winning in Punjab.

They have a good shot at NWFP after the ANP screwup. Alliances with parties in Sindh and Baluchistan isnt hard, they've done it in the past. Remember, the PML[N] even the Q lota league has formed Govts in the past.

lol Yaar kya dil pay mara hai, khainch kar. lol

Eitherway. This is the democracy we have chosen. We must wait till the tenure of this government to elect another one. These surveys are meaningless. People should realize, that in a democracy - in which pakistan is now subject to - we must choose our leaders through polling, once the election comes around, not in the midst of someone else's term.

You a right spock but for that Army has to take over.

Certain 'not so bright' people need to understand this is a survey which reflects what the people want, and isnt an election.

The survey I believe also takes people into account who didn't vote i.e. not everyone who was "surveyed" may have casted votes. Which points us to a bigger problem of Pakistan where people complain about things but when it comes to election they stick to TV/movies/sports etc.

For your kind information, Abbas Athar is Pro-PPPP from** 1967** when PPP was made by ZAB in Lahore at Dr. Mubashir Hassan home. Zia-ul-Haq kept him in jail for 3 years i think , when released , he went to New York and came after Zia plane crashed.

I respect him as he is one of the most senior journalist today in Pakistan,nominee of 2009 Pride of Performance and very brave man but its not necessary we always believe what he says as 100% right.

In Column Kaar program on Express Tv Channel , he appears with Mujeeb ur Rehman Shami ( owner of Daily Pakistan and Qaumi Digest) , a strong critic of ZAB and ZAB threw him and Altaf Hassan Qureshi(owner of Urdu Digest) behind the bars as they were Anti-PPP while Abbas Athar always remained as Pro-PPPP

Just to follow up with previous post. Today second column on IRI history, at least after reading i am not going to respect IRI surveys anymore.Here you go:
PopupWindow

As you say Abbas is pro ppp & mujeeb is anti pro .. is that a good thing or bad thing? having balance in a tv programs which most of don't have.

It appears that people of Pakistan do not realize that either of the Sharif brothers will not be able to become PM or President because of the third time bar.