Major World Cup Upsets

SEOUL, June 18 (AFP)
Major World Cup upsets following South Korea’s 2-1 golden goal win over Italy in a second round tie in Daejeon, South Korea on Tuesday:-

South Korea 2 Italy 1

South Korea become only the second Asian nation to reach the World Cup quarter-finals by toppling the giants of Italy. The South Koreans equalise 1-1 with just two minutes to go in regulation time and Ahn Jung-Hwan heads home the golden goal winner with three minutes to go in extra-time.

France 0 Senegal 1

Reigning champions France are undone by African minnows and tournament debutants Senegal as midfielder Pape Bouba Diop hits the only goal on the half hour in Seoul.

Argentina 0 Cameroon 1

Argentina faced the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon as reigning champions in the tournament-opener in Italy but slumped 1-0 to an Omam Biyik goal - even though the Africans finished with only nine men.

Argentina 0 Belgium 1

Again the Argentines flop as defending champions on day one, losing 1-0 to Belgium in Spain on a goal from Erwin Vandenbergh, the first goal in the opening match for 20 years.

Algeria 2 Germany 1

The Algerians stunned the Germans in a first-round group match with Rabah Madjer and Lakhder Balloumi both on target - but the Germans went through eventually after they and neighbours Austria contrived to produce a narrow German win in a later encounter - enough to take both through the opening phase.

North Korea 1 Italy 0

The North Koreans were given no hope whatsoever against the Azzurri but Pak Doo Ik scored a sensational goal on a cross-shot to floor the Italians at Ayresome Park, Middlesbrough, whose fans cheered the goal to the rafters.

United States 1 England 0

England had previously not bothered with the World Cup assuming they were the best team on the planet - but the Americans had other ideas and Joe Gaetjens - actually from Haiti - hit a late winner to stun the watching crowd at Belo Horizonte, Brazil.

I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.

May I add one?

Austria 3 Germany 2

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

Technically I wouldn't call the 2 upsets from this year's world cup.

Senegal has proved to be a good team, they are definatley not 3rd class team to pull off an upset if they were it would be called an upset.
South Korea wasn't one either as Korea won that match with help from officials on numerous occaisions.

OK and here is the funniest of them all

Germany -8 Saudi Arabia -0

hahaha

"By Allah I long to escape the prison of my ego and lose myself in the mountains and deserts , these sad and lonely people tire me" ---Rumi

Bluebell, that is not an upset.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

yeah i know haha

"By Allah I long to escape the prison of my ego and lose myself in the mountains and deserts , these sad and lonely people tire me" ---Rumi

The money that Saudi spends on its soccer team, if we spend it on ours, we will do alot better than them...

Umair bhai..The team doesnt necessarily need to be a third class to pull out an upset.
Senegal definitely proved everyone wrong but they arent known football nation and thas enough for them to be underdog no matter how good they are..Now they have the tag of cindrella, a step above which is closer to respect.

South korea on the other hand were always a good team but their victory against a team which has a rich football tradition(italy) definitely is an upset now matter how bad Italy played..

Yes they were little lucky but you cant take their credits away..they earned it with hard work!Its not easy to beat Italy ,spain,portugal and poland..

Any good Euro team losing against an Asian/african team will always be an upset. The record stats shows how superior Europeans are..

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited June 22, 2002).]

Originally posted by Spock:
The money that Saudi spends on its soccer team, if we spend it on ours, we will do alot better than them...

true
their players don't live in hotels n ones supported by princes(ones playin in princes' leagues) stay in suits, other in hotels n they've their conflicts on team selection as all the players r from the princes' leagues n other good players r neglected...they wanna solve every problem by money n even if they lose every player in the last worldcup was given a VOLVO n MERCEDEZ....they don't have that JAZBA which our players have in cricket or had in hockey...

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

I disagree, even if Pakistan spends the same amount of money as Saudis on our football team, we will not even make into the World Cup because like Spitfire said above, our players and people don't have passion for football like we do in cricket or hockey.
If you consider it, football is much more exciting than cricket but somehow football and Pakistan do not belong togeather.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?

I just hate it when ppl assume. IF pakistan does THIS with its players we can do THIS in the world, and IF Pakistan does THAT we can do THAT. Maybe its time for all of you to wake up and smell some cappuccino…here is a fact for you PAKISTAN SUCKS in soccer…and will never ever be able to play in the world for as long as you and I live, NO MATTER what Pakistan does to its players.

And what the heck are u talking about that stupid JAZBA man???..what jazba???, the same jazba with which Pakistan cricketers played against Bangladesh in the last world cup?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

Qualifying for the world cup out of 45(Asian)countries is a big deal man, that is Jazba.

I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.

Umair, take the US team... Trust me, no one in the US heres gives a damn about what their team just achieved... They dont care about soccer, all they care about is baseball, basketball or american football... So I dont think youre right when you say Pakistan and soccer dont go together... Our team doesnt even have a place to practice, and the amount that they must be paid, beckham would probably spend more money on his cat than their salaries combined...

[This message has been edited by Spock (edited June 22, 2002).]

Hey Donnie G, you can never compare of Pakistan cricket team to any sports team in the world, we are simple the best.

I see your point Spock.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 23, 2002).]