Major Sins - A Muslim should NEVER do

Al-KABAIR (The Major Sins)
Based on ad-Dhahabi’s famous work and
The Path to Paradise by M.Tahlawi,
Trans. By J. Zarabozo [IANA books (4)]

**1. Associating partners with Allah (Shirk)

Great Shirk: worshipping beings other than Allah (proof all over Qur’ân)

Small Shirk: Riya

The Prophet (saw), “Should I not inform you of that which I fear for you even more than the dangers of Dajjal? It is the hidden shirk: A person stands to pray and he beautifies his prayer because he sees the people looking at him”. **
(Sahih; Sunan ibn Majah)

1. Committing murder: (Furqan; 68)

2. Performing Sorcery (2: 102)

3. Not performing the Prayers (Maryam: 59)

4. Withholding the Zakat (Charity) (3: 180)

5. Breaking the fast of Ramadhan or not fasting in that month without a valid excuse.

Prophet (saw) said, “Islam is built upon five pillars: testifying that there is no true god except Allah and that Muhammad is the messenger of Allah, performing the prayers, paying the zakat, making the pilgrimage to the house, and fasting the month of Ramadhan” (Sahih al-Jami # 2837)

1. Not performing the pilgrimage when one has the ability to do so (above hadith)

2. Disobeying one’s parents (al-Isra: 23)

3. Cutting off the ties of relationships (Muhammad: 22)

4. Committing adultery or fornication (al-Isra: 30)

5. Committing sodomy

The Prophet (saw) said, “Allah will not look at a person (with pleasure) who commits sodomy with a man or a woman” (Sahih al-Jami # 7678)

1. Taking or paying interest (2: 275)

2. Devouring the wealth of orphans (4:10)

3. Forging statements concerning Allah or forging Hadith (al-Zumar: 60)

4. Fleeing from the battle (al-Anfal: 16)

5. Wrongdoing, deception or oppression on the part of the ruler (al-Shura: 42)

6. Being arrogant, boastful, vain (al-Nahl: 23)

7. Giving false testimony (al-Furqan: 72)

8. Drinking alcoholic beverages (5: 90)

9. Gambling (5: 90)

10. Slandering innocent women (al-Nur: 23)

11. Misappropriating something from the booty (3:161)

12. Stealing (5:38)

13. Committing highway robbery (5: 33)

14. Making false oath

Prophet (saw) said, “If someone is ordered to take an oath and he takes a false oath in order to take possession of property of a Muslim, then he will incur Allah’s wreath when he meets Him” (Sahih al-Jami # 6083)

1. Committing oppression (al-Shuara: 277)

2. Levying illegal taxes

Prophet (saw) said, " Do you know who the bankrupt is? The bankrupt form my nation is the one who appears on the Day of Resurrection having performed the prayers, fasted and paid the zakat, but had also abused that person, slandered that person, wrongfully taken the wealth of that person and spilled the blood of that person. These people will take from his good deeds. If his good deeds are thereby exhausted, he will be given their sins and then he will be thrown into the hell-fire" (Sahih al-Jami #87)

1. Consuming forbidden wealth or taking it by any means (2: 188)

2. Committing suicide (4: 29)

3. Being a perpetual liar (3: 61)

4. Ruling by laws other than the laws of Islam (5: 44)

5. Engaging in bribery (2: 188)

6. Women appearing like men and vice-versa

Prophet (saw) said, “Allah’s curse is upon women who appear like men and upon men who appear like women” (Sahih al-Jami # 4976)

1. Being a dayyouth

Dayyouth: is the one who approves the indecency of his womenfolk and who is void of jealousy or the pimp who facilitates indecency between two people

Prophet (saw) said, “Allah has forbidden the Paradise to three people: the alcoholic, the runaway slave, and the one who is complacent in the face of the evil deeds that his family is performing” (Sahih al-Jami # 3047)

1. Marrying for the purpose of making a woman allowable for another (Baqarah)

2. Not keeping clean from the remains of urine

Ibn Abbas reported that Prophet (saw) passed by a grave and said, “These two are being punished and they are not being punished for something hard. But it is a great sin. One of them did not keep himself clean form his urine and the other went around spreading tales” (Sahih al-Jami # 2436)

1. Acting for show (al-Maoon: 4-6)

2. Acquiring knowledge only for worldly gain or concealing knowledge (2: 160)

3. Breaching trusts (al-Anfal: 27)

4. Reminding people of one’s kindness (2: 27)

5. Denying predestination (al-Qamar: 49)

“If Allah were to punish the inhabitants of the heavens and earths, then He would punish and He would not be doing injustice to them. If He were to have mercy on them, His mercy would be greater than from their actions. If a person had amount of gold equivalent to Mount Uhud or similar to Mount Uhud and spent it in the Path of Allah, (that spending) would not be accepted form him by Allah until he believes in the preordainment of good and evil. And until he knows that what afflicted him was not going to miss him and what missed him was not going to afflict him. If you were to die with any belief other than that, you would enter the Hellfire” (Kitab al-Sunnah by Ibn Abu Asi # 245. Albani says that its chain is sahih)

1. Eavesdropping on other’s private conversation (Hujarat: 12)

2. Spreading harmful tales(al-Qamar: 10)

3. Cursing others

Prophet (saw) said, “Abusing a Muslim is evil and fighting him is disbelief” (Sahih al-Jami # 3598)

1. Not fulfilling one’s promises

Prophet (saw) said, “Whoever has a four characteristic is a complete hypocrite. Whoever posses any of these characteristics has the characteristics of hypocrisy until he gives it up; whenever he makes a promise, he breaks it up…” (Bukhari)

1. Believing in what soothsayers & astrologers say

Prophet (saw) said, “Whoever goes to fortuneteller and asks him about something will not have his prayer accepted for forty nights” (Sahih al-Jami # 5816)

1. A wife being rebellious to her husband (4: 34)

2. Putting pictures of beings with souls on clothing, curtains, rocks and any other items

Prophet (saw) said, “…the people who will receive the greatest punishment on the day of judgment are those who compete with Allah in creation [those who make pictures or statues]” (sahih al-Jami # 1691)

1. Striking one’s self, wailing, tearing one’s clothing, pulling one’s hair & similar deeds as a form of mourning

Prophet (saw) said, “One who strikes his cheeks or tears his clothing and shouts in the manner of pre-Islamic culture is not one of us” (Sahih al-Jami # 5713)

1. Committing injustice (al-Shura: 42)

2. Being overbearing or taking advantage of the weak, slaves, wives or animals

Prophet (saw) said, “Allah will torture those who torture people in this world” (Muslim)

1. Harming neighbors

Prophet (saw) said, “A person whose neighbor is not safe from his mischief will not enter paradise” (sahih al-Jami # 7002)

1. Harming and abusing Muslims (al-Ahzab: 58)

2. Wearing one’s clothes too long, i.e. below the ankles

Prophet (saw) said, "What is below the ankles will be in the hellfire " (Bukhari)

1. Harming the slaves of Allah

Prophet (saw) said that Allah said, “Whoever shows enmity to a slave of Mine (Allah’s) I shall be at war with him” (Sahih al-Jami # 1778)

1. Men wearing silk & gold

Prophet (saw) said, “Gold and silk have been permitted for the females of my nation and forbidden for its males” (Sahih al-Jami # 209)

Prophet (saw) said, “Men who wears silk in this world will have no portion [of heavens] in the hereafter” (Muslim)

1. Running away of a slave

Prophet (saw) said, “If a slave runs away, his prayers will not be accepted” (Sahih al-Jami # 257)

1. Sacrificing animals for other than Allah

Prophet (Saw) said, “The one who sacrifices for other than Allah is cursed by Allah” (Sahih al-Jami # 4988)

1. Claiming that somebody is one’s father while the claimant knows it is not true

Prophet (saw) said, “One who claims that someone is his father and knows that it is not true will be forbidden of paradise” (Sahih al-Jami # 5865)

1. Arguing or quarreling for show & not seeking the truth

Prophet (saw) said, “Whoever argues in support of something that is wrong and he knows it Allah will be angry with him until he stops” (Sahih al-Jami # 6073)

1. Not allowing excess water to flow to others

Prophet (saw) said, “Whoever doesn’t allow the access water or pasture for others will not share in the blessings of Allah on the day of judgment” (Sahih al-Jami # 6436)

1. Not measuring the weights properly (al-Mutafafifeen: 1-3)

2. Thinking that one is safe from Allah’s planning (al-Araf: 99)

3. Eating carrion, blood or pork meat (al-Anam: 145)

4. Not praying in the congregation & praying by one’s self without a valid excuse

Prophet (saw) said, “Whoever hears the call to prayer and doesn’t come to prayer, there is no prayer for him say for the one who has valid excuse” (Sahih al-Jami # 6176)

1. Continually not performing the Friday prayers and congregational prayers without any valid excuse

Prophet (saw) said, “If people don’t stop abandoning the Friday Prayers Allah may seal their hearts and they will become headless” (Muslim)

1. Harming others by manipulation one’s bequests (4: 12)

2. Being deceitful or deceptive (Fatir: 43)

3. Spying on the Muslims & pointing out their secrets (al-Kalam: 11)

4. Abusing or reviling anyone of the Companions of the Prophet (saw)

Prophet (saw) said, “Do not revile my companions for, by the one in whose hands is my soul, if you were to spend in charity a mountain of gold similar to mount Uhud it would not be equal to a handful or a half a handful (or what they have done)” (Sahih al-Jami # 7187)

Please make sincere repentance to Allah before as Ali (ra) said, “Today is deed without reckoning and tomorrow is reckoning without deeds”. Sincere repentance has four conditions :

Feeling bad for the sin

Firm commitment in intention not to repeat sin (whether it happens again is not a condition if one tried his best)

Make repentance to Allah by Du’a and asking or better crying for forgiveness

If some person has been wronged because of this sin then one needs to make up to this person

To shia brothers: Please don’t bring any argument on any of the hadiths mentioned. We know you do not believe in hadith books.

Take it easy sir. Good Luck.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

Watcher, Well written. Barakallahu fikum

As for what you mentioned, Shirk or Kufur (Blasphemy) is the bigest sin, and to repent from it, one must leaveout whatever brought him out of Islam, and that could be a wrong belief, doing or saying, One must repent from committhing that sin and must say As-Shahadatayn, the tow testifications of faith:
There's no God but Allah and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. By doing that with the intention of not doing that sin again, insha`llah, Allah will forgive that person.

And to add to that, Riddah or Kufur is categorized into three categories as for what has been mentioned by our famous scholors:

First) Beliefs in the heart: to have a wrong believe in the heart, such as to doubt if Allah exists, or to believe that Allah is a body or that he's in need of anything or He resembles his creations.. for, that opposes Al Qur`an. Allah DOES NOT NEED ANY any of his creations. This creed is different from what the christians and jews alege to almighty Allah.

Second) Sayings by the tongue: To say that Prophet Jesus is God or son of God, or to say that Muhammad is not a human being, or to say Allah lives in the skies as what the jews and christians believe.. Allah existed eternaly, before the place he was without it, than Allah created the places and still as he was without needing a place or anything else.

Third) Doings committed by different parts of the body: such as worshipping other than Allah such the sun, moon, fire or humans.. Or to step on the name of Allah or to through Al Qur`an in the garbage knowing about it..

Generally, these few examples mentioned if committed by an accountable person, it's all blasphemy it brings the person out of Islam. There's a lot of examples about these three categories, they all are mentioned in the books of Scholors may Allah raise their rank ameen.

<<>> Learning the Obligatory Knowledge of the Religion puts the Muslim on the road for excellence and self-betterment.
Acquire Islamic Knowledge!!

*With all due respects to the tenets of Islam, I wish to make certain comments on certain points *

1. Committing highway robbery (5: 33)
    What if the robbery is committed elsewhere ?

2. Being a perpetual liar (3: 61)
    So u r saying that none of your govt. officials are Muslims..they keep saying they only lend moral and diplomatic support to Kashmiri Ultras

3. Ruling by laws other than the laws of Islam (5: 44)
    Does that mean Pakis will not be true Muslims till Pak comes under total Islamic law

4. Women appearing like men and vice-versa
    So, are 'short hair' and 'trousers' out for Muslim women ?

5. A wife being rebellious to her husband (4: 34)
    And a husband can be rebellious to his wife ? Not fair...

6. Being overbearing or taking advantage of the weak, slaves, wives or animals
    *Hold on...the Mujhahideens just used an animal (a Mule actually) to detonate a bomb in kashmir that killed a few people. They aren't true Muslims, ofcourse *

7. Harming neighbors
    Hum...it appears that the ISI guys too aren't real Muslims

[This message has been edited by chilli (edited October 22, 2000).]

Chilli dear, you totally misunderstood. I cannot help the one who is meant to misunderstand by the will of Allah. Good Luck sir.

Watcher,

Perhaps you should make an effort to help this person understand.

Afterall, it is really your responsibility to ensure that the people reading your messages understand the true nature of what you are posting.

It's entirely unfair of you to suggest that someone is meant to misunderstand "by the will of Allah". What if I had said that to you when we were discussing sex ed in General section?

You can easily tell Chilli that these are quotations and can be left to interpretation or if you feel that the questions posed to you are not within your means to answer, then just say that. I'm sure Chilli will understand.

Muzna… Good point. Although I think after the thread 'For Rani: Who is misuderstainding Islam…", Watcher has lost patience with non-believers… Is that so Watcher?

Watcher: Nice post. Can you refer me to the URL from where you pasted this?

Blasphemy:
Also an important point. I hope you have an answer. Someone said in another thread, that Prophet (SAWW) did not prescribe any punishment for someone who is guilty of blasphemy against Islam or the Prophet (SAWW) of Islam. The punishment for blasphemy will be decided by Allah, in the hereafter. Is that so?

I could not find any mention of slander against the Prophet (SAWW) in your post (maybe I missed it). Let me know your understanding on this issue?

Also, I heard that those who slander Hazrat Ayesha (RA) are kaffir. Is that true? Have you heard it? Please also refer to the following link and provide any comments you may have… Thanks
http://www.islam-qa.com/QA/1|Basic_Tenets_of_Faith(Aqeedah)/Sahaabatu_Rasool-Allaah_(The_Companions_of_the_Prophet)/Ruling_on_one_who_slanders_Aaishah.09031998.954.shtml

Pristine,

One of the best qualities a person can possess is the ability to recognize their limitations. I’m sure you agree.

If Watcher does not feel that he can keep his patience then he should not be as aggressive in his demeanor. Afterall, this section is notorious for being a battle ground. If one cannot keep tabs on one’s temper and becomes easily frustrated then one should refrain from actively participating. Overall, I doubt that this is the case. I’ve been “watching” too.

I’m sure that Watcher has the patience, he is guided by Allah and works for the betterment of the Islamic community. A person with such good intentions will definitely have the qualities necessary to answer questions posed to him.

Well Muzna… One thing I like abt Watcher (oh there are many things I like about him), is that he never forgets to mention ‘sir’ !

I mean, here he is, giving a one-liner response to chilli, and the answer ends with ‘sir’. Same is the case with his arguments with shair…

Anyway, thats another story. I suppose, Watcher can answer himself (and my questions) once he comes online.

Till then, Ciao!

AOA,

Muzna, you are very right!,but I even though it is Watcher’s responsibility to defend anything he posts, it is also our duty to answer any question that our knowledge permit us too.

Btw, Pristine the thing about ‘sir’ has come to my noticed very often also. Maybe its just his ‘takya kalaam’. Also, slandering anyone, no matter who she or he is is a kufr.

Anyways one think that should NEVER be forgotten is that Blasphemy ‘Shirk’ is a sin that will not be forgiven by Allah, so once we understand that some of our practice could even be RELATED to it we shoud STOP at once and ask for repentance. It is only the Shirk that we have done unknowingly that is forgiven.

Watcher, you posted some great articles in the beginning, but now you sometimes paste material that is not always authentic. Hey Im not talking bout this post.

An earlier post you pasted, suggested that Women were allowed to rule the country. Later, when answering Queer you wrote that they weren’t!

Please make sure you paste only real authentic material. I respect your islamic efforts and please take this as and advice and not as criticism.

AOA,

Yahya

Allah knows best…

All of you who are having a go at watcher are being very unfair to him.

He is doing a very good job with his posts and to some extent he has been successful to shut the traps of the kafirs.

Just look at what has happened to the big mouths like the so called Rani (Rani of which kingdom?) and this stupid sikh Banta Singh. They have run away with their tails in the middle of their legs. I'm sure you will not hear from them again, defaming Islam on this BB.

Keep it up watcher, you are doing a very good job. These people who talk against our religion, deserve all the mud on their faces. I'm with you all the way.

Not to forget Astrofan!!!

His only job was to set up mistrust and ddegrade Islam. Such people should be banned.

Watcher number 17 sounds like you!

1. Making false oath

Prophet (saw) said, "If someone is ordered to take an oath and he takes a false oath in order to take possession of property of a Muslim, then he will incur Allah's wreath when he meets Him" (Sahih al-Jami # 6083)>>>>>>>>>

Watcher

Does this rule only apply in case the possession of property is of a muslim?

I can now fully understand why nearly all the muslims I have come across, first tell lies and then say 'Allah Qasam yaar' or 'Qasam khudah yaar' or 'Yakeen kaar yaar'

well I suppose if the prophet has told them that they will incur Allah's wreath only if they take false oath to other muslims then they are doing nothing wrong when they first tell lies and then say Allah Qasam to the christians or to the hindus.

****HAPPY*DIWALI*SATYAMEVA*JAYATE****

Has Watcher forgotten us?

Muzna, I am not being aggressive or anything. It is just that these people make jokes about Islamic stuff and I do not like that so I kind of ignore them with one-liner response. If I was being aggressive why would I respect him or call sir.

Pristine, not quite brother. I do not lose patience that fast, a little disappointed you can say. Hey, I say sir as a respect term, even if other person might have wrath towards me. Who cares!!! “Rocks and sticks may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”
and they do not. Did I quoted that quote correctly or? ] I do expect others to have respect for other people, in order to get some back.

Anyway let me see, if I can answer sir/miss chilli …

“24. Committing highway robbery (5: 33)
What if the robbery is committed elsewhere ?”

Term “highway” is used as a metaphor and not the “highway or expressway” you are thinking of. Robbery of any kind commited anywhere is bad sin in Islam and I think in all faiths.

*“30. Being a perpetual liar (3: 61)
So u r saying that none of your govt. officials are Muslims..they keep saying they only lend moral and diplomatic support to Kashmiri Ultras” *

Again you took the line wrong way. First of all, how do you know if Pakistani officials lend moral and diplomatic support to Kashmiries and not military one? I personally think that lying should be only permitted when ones life is on stake. if anyone have knowledge about that according to Quran and Sunnah please let me know - perhaps I am wrong and you can correct me - crystal clear chance to correct me. ]

*“31. Ruling by laws other than the laws of Islam (5: 44)
Does that mean Pakis will not be true Muslims till Pak comes under total Islamic law” *

This is a sin but not as major sin that would automatically exclude a group of people from the Islamic fold. Allah knows that there are some tough circumstances being faced by Muslim countries from the western “economical powers.” If we were to declare Pakistan a sole-Islamic state govern by Islamic law, the IMF would undoubtly make matters and economy of Pakistan worst than they already are.

“33. Women appearing like men and vice-versa
So, are ‘short hair’ and ‘trousers’ out for Muslim women?”

Short hair or trousers have nothing to do with this. Its the morality and “acting”. If you dress like a man, but you are a women, that it is a sin. And if you are a women and try to be like men and how they behave than you are comitting a sin. If some other brother has knowledge of such “fatwa” please feel free to post and inform us according to Quran and Sunnah]

"47. A wife being rebellious to her husband (4: 34)
And a husband can be rebellious to his wife ? "

Husband does have some authority over his wife. They are both equal, men and women are equal. We are talking about authority and not equality. A marriage-ship can only have ONE captain, if you have 2 of them, there will be dispute among them and the course the ship is going/taking.

If anyone have correct info on this from quran or sunnah be sure to post ]

“51. Being overbearing or taking advantage of the weak, slaves, wives or animals
Hold on…the Mujhahideens just used an animal (a Mule actually) to detonate a bomb in kashmir that killed a few people. They aren’t true Muslims, ofcourse”

They(Mujhahideens) are fighting war with aggressors and tyrannt hindus, they will use any means possible to cause harm to them. They have no choice but to either put bomb on themselves and cause harm to enemy or they can use other means that Allah has made available to them.

52. Harming neighbors
Hum…it appears that the ISI guys too aren’t real Muslims

First of all, what proof do you have against ISI? Secondly, you have to understand we have the right to defend the our country from tyrannt hindus. Hindus are killing innocent Muslims in Kashmir, aren’t they our brothers and sister.?! Aren’t Kashmiries neighbors with India? We will do everything possible to defend our country, if it means killing and harming our enemies.

I guess that is it. I hope, there is no more misundertanding. Good Luck and Take it Easy Sir.

Now pristine and his questions.
You said: "Someone said in another thread, that Prophet (SAWW) did not prescribe any punishment for someone who is guilty of blasphemy against Islam or the Prophet (SAWW) of Islam. The punishment for blasphemy will be decided by Allah, in the hereafter. Is that so? "

Could you please tell me who said it and where did that person said it. Also provide the references of hadith or quranic verses, thanks. Let me do my research on this one.

Disrespecting anyone is very bad thing. Disrespecting Prophet is a major sin. I don’t think this article covers that. Another mishap,

About aishah, she is regarded as mother of believers. Who would want to curse his/her mother? In Quran Allah says: “The Prophet is closer to the Believers than their own selves, and his wives are their (believers) mothers (as regards respect and marriage).” (Al-Ahzaab, verse 6)" And also Allah says: ““When you were propagating it (the slander) with your tongues, and uttering with your mouths that whereof you had no knowledge, you counted it a little thing, while with Allah it was very great.” (An-Nur 24:15)” - And - ““Allah forbids you from it (slandering 'A’isha) and warns you not to repeat the like of it forever, if you are believers.” (An-Nur 24:17)”

Prince-X, could you please show me where I have posted any material that is not authentic according to quran and hadith? I will be happy to erase it.

You take it easy sir.

What articles were you talking about that you did not like?

Just curios sir jii.

Lollypop, I have this to say to you[someone posted this in some other post, I think really fits you] “apna gand dossroon ke darwaazey par daal dena acha nahi hota” I hope that makes sense to you. Can you prove your self right in the light of Quran and sunnah or just angry with me because I am not agreeing with your shia beliefs? I think, if you can you would not make personal attacks about me and just try to debate in a humanly manner, but you cannot do that, when your are being disagreed, that is an example your arrogance and disbeliefs. Take it easy miss.

SIR Watcher SIR ji

My message was not making fun of Islam. It was a genuine message.

Does Allah only punish those who take posession of muslim property by taking a false oath????

Please answer me in a civilised manner.

The dirty language you have used to Lollypop in your previous message is very sad reflaction on your charactor.

I need explanation into the following two items.

1. Disobeying one's parents (al-Isra: 23)

What if your parents tell you to Kill someone?

1. Slandering innocent women (al-Nur: 23)

Only innocent or all women?

Thanks.

Sanjha banda, first of all: What&Where did I used dirty language? Don’t try to put your tongue in my mouth.

I will need to do some research on your question, give me some time.

NYA, what does it mean to disobey ones parents? Anyway, I will have to search on it, give some time please.

Aren’t all women innocent?

Put my tongue in your mouth???

Now you are going beyond boundries, sir ji.

Sorry to disappoint you but I’m not a homosexual, sir ji.

I’ll never even dream of putting my tongue into the mouth of another man.

But if you were a nice looking girl, then it may be a differant matter.

Here is the dirty lingo you used in your message to Lollypop. Do uou think you should have been using the word 'gand'?

"apna gand dossroon ke darwaazey par daal dena acha nahi hota">>>>>