Re: Major disappointment, courtesy Pakistan government
I think I see the begining on an evolution in Pakistan, don’t know what kind though either progressive or regressive. Seems Pakistan has hit rock bottom and the only way is up now but which way and in what way is the question.
why do u think its rock bottom. i think the situation is better than it was under zia or in the 90s under caretaker PMs and BB and Nawaz. that to me was the rock bottom. and honestly speaking, i think Nawaz period may have been a little better for avg citizens than BB period, all i know is it was absolute mess under her, and late 80' early 90's were just pathetic times.
progressive or regressive? look at the leadership of our political parties, tomorrow if military goes back to the barracks, we are in bigger troube with the fuedals and their chamchas running teh joint
well ... if you look at it, Mush descended from heavens claiming to purge our system of governance of all the political filth that had been plaguing the nation since ... forever. He loathed, ridiculed & mocked all those tried & tested certified crooked politicians. He promised to give us a cleaner system of governance. Eight years later what do we have - a bunch of lotas already surrounding him and he himself desperately seeking to bed with one of the most corrupt politician ever to disgrace the face of earth. So what could be worse: a bunch of well known certified crook politicians taking turns to loot & plunder OR a man claiming to be better than rest and yet ending up in a political marriage with the same disgusted crooks & putting entire country at stake for his personal political survival. This indeed is the epitome of moral bankruptcy. Couldn't get worse.
Does anyone else see this move resulting in providing fuel to jihadi outfits as a proof of government's failure to prosecute criminals/looters of national exchequer?
This progress & development is not sustainable, it is more dependent on external circumstances which fortunately have worked in Pakistan's favor so far. What we have currently is an absolute one man show - Mush goes down, the whole system goes down and whatever lil bit of progress/dev there has been would evaporate in no time. He had the best of opportunities to lay down foundations for a relatively cleaner, better & sustainable system of governance and he initially got off heading the right direction with a government of technocrats but then his personal political ambitions and greed for absolute power got better part of him leaving him completely dependent to these same tried, tested & failed opportunists & crooks.
Does anyone else see this move resulting in providing fuel to jihadi outfits as a proof of government's failure to prosecute criminals/looters of national exchequer?
They don't need more fuel to ignite their butts on fire.
so as far as crookedness goes nothing changes, but circumstances have changed, in the 80s and 90s media was not as active same for internet.
plus I would take a govt that has corruption problem as long as it also shows some growth and development, a la chicago
versus a govt that has a corruption problem but has nothing positive to show in terms of results a la Gary Indiana.
Things evolve, people learn, give people sometime, things don't become perfect or great in short span, but it needs a basis, a foundation. What we have in Mushy govt is nothing but hanging on to seat, any chances of a foundation being eliminated, erasing sins of people not just dropping accountability. I would take any govt which provides development too but it has to show laying foundations or strengthening foundations for long term progress/growth as well. And by "growth" I am not looking at $$$.
Things evolve, people learn, give people sometime, things don't become perfect or great in short span, but it needs a basis, a foundation. ....
Look! We the most idio-ducated class in Karachi haven't been able to do a squat against the supremo sitting in London. Woh sahib ankh martay hain, aur Karachi main beesion bunday mur jaatay hain. So if we the idio-ducated haven't been able to form any basis, then what to expect from the rest of the country? At least they are not paying daily bhaatta to PML Q or PML N or PPP.
There is no hope of politikos getting "fixed". This is time to ignore the politikos and be happy with the army walas.
You keep teaching history to everyone else and in this case you are ignoring the history yourself. MQM was carved out, propped up by none other than army. Army knows how to create monsters which later come to bite its behind later on, and you want army to continue to rule Pakistan, wah wah :k:
Army may have midwived MQM, but mama and papa of MQM were APSMO and Hum hain to Mohajir stuff that came from the core of Urdu community.
It doesn't matter much, there are many other parties along similar lines but they never got army's support hence didn't become a monster.
From its very pregnancy to birth to adulthood, MQM struck deals with Army just like it does today.
MQM is now able to strike deals with party (or army) of their choice because it has become a major power player (or probably the only power) of Karachi.
But you tell me if Army went around in Kir-anchi asking people to open hearts and wallets for MQM and I'd accept your arguments.
What does that have to do with them becoming a monster? How did MQM gain so much ammunition unchecked? You tell me. Only when MQM became bad-boys in army's view their truck loads of weapons from borders were stopped, why not earlier? Because they were watering the plant.
Any party can go to its followers for monetary support, once they become "power" player gangster style then you get bhatta khors, just like today's police.
PS: I thought you had grown up and stopped twisting names around.
^^ You work for the government and by abusing your government issued badge you may be able to sneak in few goodies like AK47s. Obviously it still is illegal.
As I said MQM's mamma pappa are APSMO and Hum hain to Mohajir group. They approached government and offered help in the days of MRD. As a return favor they got government issued badge.
BTW same Gen. Zia supported NS too. His party doesn't seem to be running on Bhatta Khori!
It simply is the genes of a party as to how utilizes its connections. Some do Bhatta Khori and some don't. Why to blame army for the missteps of politikos?
BTW same Gen. Zia supported NS too. His party doesn't seem to be running on Bhatta Khori!
Again, you are unable to compare them correctly, NS party (PML) was established long time ago, only himself personally was promoted/groomed under Zia... can you see the difference now? MQM was handed over the weaponry on a platter, once you are used to gun culture what we have then is Waziristan type lawlessness i.e. might is right, gun holder is stronger etc.