mailing documents urgently to pakistan

salams

i’m trying to mail some documents to pakistan urgently but the FedEx rates r like around $50 for a normal envelope :eek:

i checked on the usps website and it seems like thats gona cost a bomb too…

is there some cheaper way to send overnite mail to pak or even something that can reach there in 5 working days thats safe?

if there’s nothing else i guess i’ll have to just FedEx the stuff but i was hoping to find something cheaper as it seems outrageous to be spending around 50 bucks to mail a letter!

would appreciate any info

thanks a lot

buy a pigeon from pakistan put the chithee on its leg and let it fly

hmmm...great idea....but...i just called the san francisco zoo and checked with them....they say the pigeon takes exactly 23 days to get there..so thats gona be a bit late for me ya kno :p

^irem, you can expedite the service by singing ‘kabootar jaa jaa’

now thats another great idea lussi uncle...wow....GS is so full of great ideas today!!

let me call the zoo and check if they have this service avlbl...

keep the brilliant suggestions coming guys!!

^ waisay irem, i can loan my paper jet to you. Documents bhee mail ho gaye aur tumhara chakar bhee lug jaye gaa...

oh thanks so much :-) so nice of u really... bohot mehrbani

lekin mein ne aik makhee book ker lee hae, mein us pe baith ker khud hi ja rahi hoon, leter bhee sath le jaon gi..

inshallah next time ap ke paper plane pe jaon gi :-)

bas ab nikal hi rahi hoon wig pehn loon zara pehle apna

There is no way you can overnight ANYTHING to Pakistan, even if you use Airforce One. So, its gotta be a few days delivery time.

I find it hard to believe that USPS (US Postal Service) is more expensive than FedEx. Thats just amazing. UPS, yes. USPS, I don't think so. They typically charge less (compared to courier), and can deliver surprisingly fast. But I don't think they have any service which will deliver for less than 5 business days, and even that is pushing it. Their regular service is 9 business days (I think). Don't just rely on USPS website. Just pop into a post office and ask directly. The agent might guide you to a better service for quicker delivery.

The other best alternative is to ask around if anyone is going to Pakistan and can take your letter personally. That is as fast as it can go. Unfortunately there is no direct flight from the Bay Area to Pakistan, else the airlines carry such things in their plane, and take it rightaway, and it is fairly cheap. The only downside is that some one has to pick them up from Karachi airport.

I am assuming you are sending some originals, otherwise scan/PDF/fax are other alternatives, which can be notorized at the other end.

the earliest and the cheapest you will find anywhere is nutting less then $50 bucks and thas in 3 days. Don't trust any other companies to deliver your stuff in pakistan lol.....

remember you pay the cheap price & you get the cheap things

thanks Faisal bhai...

hmmm..nobody is going to Pakistan...i am so stupid i hud have done it last week, my friend's mom was going to Khi...

my friend is telling me k she once sent stuff thru USPS registered and they told her 2 weeks max but it reached there after a month...

o well...i think i'll just have to do FedEx...

Furqan, thx for the reply...

yup u r right...

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
There is no way you can overnight ANYTHING to Pakistan, even if you use Airforce One. So, its gotta be a few days delivery time.

Well, I think Airforce One would make it. :D

USPS express international is very reasonable, 4-5 days are guaranteed. I have used it in past and dont recall the exact price but it was not in the $50 range at all. More like 15-20

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

I dont think she said overnight, she said 5 days would be fine...

I find it hard to believe that USPS (US Postal Service) is more expensive than FedEx. Thats just amazing. UPS, yes. USPS, I don't think so.

She never said that either... Last time I sent an envelope using priority to Pakistan, cost me $20. Took a week though.

The other best alternative is to ask around if anyone is going to Pakistan and can take your letter personally. That is as fast as it can go. Unfortunately there is no direct flight from the Bay Area to Pakistan, else the airlines carry such things in their plane, and take it rightaway, and it is fairly cheap. The only downside is that some one has to pick them up from Karachi airport.

Thats definitely the best method.

I am assuming you are sending some originals, otherwise scan/PDF/fax are other alternatives, which can be notorized at the other end.

How would they be notarized without the presence of the orginals? Well, Pakistan me shayad ho bhi jaye yeh kaam ;)