Old movie, 1958 i think, black and white. Dilip Kumar and Vijaynthimala (sp). Anyone seen it? It is such a great movie, the cinematography is fantastic, Dilip’s acting is (as usual) absolutely intriguing. The director, Bimal Roy, is also the same director who made other Indian classics such as ‘Devdas’ (the purana, original one, not the imitated Shahrukh Khan one:p ). He also directed a movie with Shabana Azmi in it, i think, i don’t remember it right now - “Ankur” i think it was called. He produced a lot of social-oriented movies, like Sujata (about casteism), and some more that i have seen and i can’t remember. Anyways, Bimal Roy was into quite a few social-justice oriented type movies… there’s that one of his, i think, with Nargis in it - the one about Indian/western society and the influx of “western values”. That had Dev Anand in it, i think. That was also an oldie.
Anyways, “Madhumati” is a must-see movie… it’s really old, so if you don’t like old movies, then you may want to skip this one. If anyone likes Dilip Kumar’s acting as much as i do, then you have to rent this one out. Good way to spend (or waste?) three hours.
Nadia - One small Correction : 'Ankur' with Shabana Azmi was directed by another excellent director from Bengal Shyam Benegal and not by Bimal Roy.
Bimal Da is one of the greatest directors from Indian film Industry and made excellent movies like Sujata, Bandini, Do Bigha Zameen, Devdas, Madhumati etc. Madhumati is one of his lighthearted movies with melodies like 'Aaja re Pardesi....' and 'Zulmi Sang Aannkh LaRi..' composed by another Great Music director from Bengal 'Salil choudhary' and sung by melody queen Lata Mangeshkar.
If you like Bimal Roy - check out 'Bandini' his greatest movie .
oh, i am so sorry. My mind is somewhere else, i had a feeling i didn’t state something accurately in this thread. Sorry about that, and thank you for correcting me.
i have read much about it, and ‘Yahudi’ as well, but my local Indian store doesn’t have either of those two. i’m trying to find some other store to rent it from. i really want to watch all of his movies now.
“Aaja re pardesi” is a beautiful song… i like that sad one too, the one Dilip sings, “Toote hue khwabon nai, hamko yeh sikhaya hai”.
I remember seeing madhumati eons ago, on TV. Wasn't it a ghost story?
Guys sorry to derail the thread but I just heard this marvelous remix ' aao huzoor tumko sitaron pe le chaloon'....Is this a DK movie and which one? :)
asif- i still say benegal's best movie is zubeida.
Other than that I think he has made better movies than Zubeida, but I respect your opinion.
Madhumati is the mother of all re-incarnation movies. Bimal Da who had earlier made movies like Do Bigha Zameen on social issues, was severly criticized for making a commercial movie like Madhumati. ‘GhaRi GhaRi mora Dil DhaRke..Hai DhaRke Kyon DhaRke..’ is another classic and how can we forget Mukesh singing ‘Suhana Safar aur ye Mausam Haseen…’ penned by evergreen Shailendra…
Sardari begum? I haven't seen that - has it been penned by khalid mohamed too? I seem to recall that's also part of his life story, like zubeida. That man has some relatives!
[QUOTE] Originally posted by karina: *
**Guys sorry to derail the thread but I just heard this marvelous remix ' aao huzoor tumko sitaron pe le chaloon'....Is this a DK movie and which one? :)*
If my internet source is reliable, that song is from the movie "Kismet", and it was Ashok Kumar i believe.
Asif, you are absolutely right - Madhumati was criticized for being too commercial a film, not on the same calibre as his other films. It does have all the 'commercially-viable' aspects: the evil landlord, the village damsel (ever so innocent), the strong-morals & quiet-type hero (DK), the dancing in the village, around the trees, etc etc. The movie unfortunately also had the necessary 'bozo' character - the joker, who adds nothing constructive to the movie (in Madhumati's case, it's the scene where they try to find the ghost to exorcise it). But despite all this - i really liked it and what does it for me, is Dilip's subtle acting. He carries the film, i think. Plus i've never seen an Indian movie about reincarnation, it was something different.... far, far better than the bozo movies coming out now. And the songs are just beautiful, IMHO.
If my internet source is reliable, that song is from the movie "Kismet", and it was Ashok Kumar i believe.
Plus i've never seen an Indian movie about reincarnation, it was something different.... far, far better than the bozo movies coming out now. And the songs are just beautiful, IMHO.
Nadia - no way am I gonna watch ashok kumar - he gives me the creeps. There was this rishi kapur movie about reincarnation. I dunno the name, and no doubt it'll seem cheesy now, but simi garewal's acting as a murderess was really good.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by karina: *
**Nadia - no way am I gonna watch ashok kumar - he gives me the creeps. There was this rishi kapur movie about reincarnation. I dunno the name, and no doubt it'll seem cheesy now, but simi garewal's acting as a murderess was really good.
i haven't seen the Rishi Kapur one. When i first heard that this one was going to be a reincarnation one, i thought - great this might be really cheesy. But Madhumati's so different. The filming was produced in a very sophisticated way (especially for back then).
Why does AK give you the creeps? :) Don't worry, he's not in Madhumati at any rate.
Let's see - AK has this oily look, like he's just plastered his hair with chameli ka tel. And he sort of looked old even when he wasn't. He acted great as dad or granddad or policeofficer though.
Hey Nadia_H.. have you watched Dilip Kumar’s Aan?Probably the first hindi colored movie? I l:love:ve the song ..umm..goes something like this ..“maan mera ehsan arre nadan ke maine tujhse kia hai pyar..” ..and how about Daag, Andaz, Deedar..etc etc.. thanks to our parents and their undying love for DK movies, we kind of grew up watching them..
Madhumati is an excellent movie from a music, direction, and acting perspective. Yes, it is a commercial movie but a good one. The only thing that I don't quite understand is that how a person can simultaneously sing in a number of voices. In this particular example, Dilip takes off with Mukesh's voice (Suhana safar aur yey mausam haseen & dil tarrap tarrap key keh raha hai aa bhi ja) and in the end, his voice transforms into that of Muhammad Rafi (tootay hooway khoabon nay hum ko yey sikhaya hai). Anyway, regardless of this, the music is execellent.
The reincarnation (doosra janam) has been dealt with in a number of Indian movies. My recommendation on that topic would be Qudrat (*ring Rajesh Khanna, Heema Maleeni, Raj Kumar, and Vinod Khanna).
Nutz, No i have not; thank you very much, you just gave me a recommendation for what to watch this week:D i have seen Andaaz; now i remember, Andaaz is the one i was referring to in my first post in this thread (Nargis was the main actress). Your parents had very good taste in movies if i can say so. His acting is like nothing i have seen before.
WitchDoctor, Thank you for your interesting reply. i’m afraid i’m not that good to be able to tell the difference between Mukesh’s and Rafi’s voices, unfortunately. Thank you for suggesting Qudrat, i will definitely try this week to check it out
anyone seen Chalti ka Naam Gaadi with the three Kumar brothers, mut have been made around 50s black and white movie but it is really one of the best comedies I have seen.
The initial animation sequence at the title is just mind boggling.
*Originally posted by WitchDoctor: *
The only thing that I don't quite understand is that how a person can simultaneously sing in a number of voices. In this particular example, Dilip takes off with Mukesh's voice (Suhana safar aur yey mausam haseen & dil tarrap tarrap key keh raha hai aa bhi ja) and in the end, his voice transforms into that of Muhammad Rafi (tootay hooway khoabon nay hum ko yey sikhaya hai). Anyway, regardless of this, the music is execellent.
Maybe Dilip Kumar had Zukaam when he Sang 'Suhana Safar..' :)
*Originally posted by karina: *
Nadia - no way am I gonna watch ashok kumar - he gives me the creeps. There was this rishi kapur movie about reincarnation.
I guess you are talking about KARZ, directed by Subhash Ghai :)
Karina - I agree that Ashoke Kumar looked Old in his Jawaani, but he acted in some excellent movies like 'Mahal', 'Bandini', 'Jewel Thief', 'Chalti Ka Naam Gaadi', 'Bandhan' etc . Dadamuni also acted as the Last Mughal Emperor 'Bahadur Shah Jafar' in the TV Series.
Naadia, If you liked 'Madhumati' than you will also like 'Mahal' staring Madhubala and Ashok Kumar. How can one forget the haunting melody 'Aayega--Aaayega---aayega aane wala...aayegaa' which made Lata Mangeshkar a Star....
Mahal was directed by great Kamaal Amrohi Sahab who went on to direct Pakeezah.