Mac Vs. Desi salon for wedding makeup

Re: Mac Vs. Desi salon for wedding makeup

I had my makeup done by a mac artist and I was beyond happy. It was a random decision because I used to go to that store alot, knew her very well and she was the first person ever to match the right foundation with my skintone so I was beyond impressed.. haha. She had done my makeup on several occasions so I knew her work. She was the regional manager for MAC and I always heard from other MUA at that store how good she is with bridal makeup. I had almost decided on this desi aunty here who does makeup for everyone but during a mall trip, I randomly went to MAC and told her to do a trial. She did something very light, and my friends who were there told me I should just stick with a desi person. However just a week before my wedding, I was like nah, Im just gonna have her do it because I attended a couple of weddings before mine and honestly, I was horrified by the brides' makeup done by that aunty.. orange streaks for blush.. eeeek.

I never went for a trial again, I just called the girl at MAC and told her I was booking her for three days- mehndi, shaadi, reception. She did something very light for my mehndi which I loved, and when I went to her on wedding day, I took my dupatta and laptop with me so I could show her pictures but I didn't even have to because she just asked me to tell her what colors and style I wanted, I told her to match my dupatta and something dramatic and that was it. She would tell me to check it out every now and then in the mirror and in the end, it was exactly what I had wanted. The next afternoon when I went back to her for reception makeup, I had only 15 mins to get ready and she did the most stunning smokey eyes on me. I even took enlarged pictures back to her later which she has put in her portfolio. I have had alot of friends go to her for their party/wedding makeup after seeing mine. The aunties said it broke the myth that desi brides can only look good if done by a desi MUA.. haha. So my experience with a mac artist was awesome.. I would definitely recommend a bride to get it done from them. The best part was that I was really stressed out when I was getting makeup done but she was so sweet, and my sister, best friend and photographer were there and together we had a really fun time. It was one of the most cheerful times of the night. The only thing that was stressful was that I had to go to a different person for hair, then MAC for makeup and then dupatta had to be done seperately when I reached the hotel. Im sure it's alot less hectic to just have one person do it all.