m I reading too much into it (MIL)

Re: m I reading too much into it (MIL)

rabia3983, very genius. yes mashaal listen to her. bring your uw along but dont forget to place the car inside it

Ab inlaws underwear bhi dilayengay kya?

Okay maybe this needs to be said…doesn’t matter if you’re getting married or not…always travel with ample amount of underwear!

I don't think she needs to buy anything to take with her...unless she herself wants to. Duniya ki har cheez milti hai yahan...jab zuroorat ho le lena. The price difference isn't like its free ka maal. Bringing it here will cost money too.

Honestly, stop worrying about this...let your dad know that your phuppi is developing some very unrealistic expectations. However, when you're around her...play DUMB! Just agree and say "ji, bohot khubsurat hai...bilkul sahi kaha apne" and that's it. Kehne mein kya jata hai? Not only will playing dumb take the burden of clarification off your shoulders...it will also force her to be crystal clear if she is indeed serious about a tagra jahaiz. At which point - once again - your dad can take charge.

She is going to her husband's house not some friend etc. I am talking about clothing but home necessities like bedsheets, towels, etc.

Ditto!!

so your MIL wants you to be islamic when it comes to being respectful towards elders, but she' readily following non-muslim tradition when it comes to demanding/expecting jahez?
hopefully your fiancee will be on your side. if you want to bring clothes or whatever personal need items you want to, thats different. but she shouldn't have a say in what you should or shouldn't be bringing.

that was just one example of what she didn't bring. You guys can make fun of it all you want...but its true and actually happened. Some people travelling from Pakistan are just that stupid. Also, are the people telling them DON"T TAKE anything with you. There is nothing wrong with taking some stuff like your own towel, clothes that you have picked out outfits.

My own inlaws didn't ask for it, but I knew what I will need once I came back to the US...I got everything with me...my own money.

I never told her to buy a car. why not read everything before saying anything.

Lusi do you know the cost of desi clothes in Pakistan compare to US? why wouldn't you want to take them from Pakistan. If OP would have asked me I would have said the same thing...take a lot of desi outfits. The MIL is being realistic, at least talking about that.

You did not read my reply. I said I am talking general house hold necessities and not personal clothing e.g shalwar kameez, undergarments, etc

And yes, don't get tons of shalwar keemez either, they go out of fashion, you might get pregnant, etc.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/640727-help-shopping-for-wedding-and-moving-to-states.html

interesting post by the OP.

An upcoming wedding often causes some temporary insanity in people. They suddenly become petty, materialistic, paranoid, greedy, competitive, when this is not their natural state. I think there is A LOT of stress that surrounds a wedding:
1. Is this the right decision for my child?
2. How will this new influence in my child's life affect him/her?
3. This new person in my child's life is a reflection of me/our family. Is this person reflecting what I feel is the "right" way to do things?
4. I've judged other brides/weddings in the past -- will this wedding reflect what I think is right/correct?
5. If this person doesn't behave in the way that I would, what will people think of me/my family? The whole "log kya kahenge" thing is REALLY powerful in our culture, especially if your wedding is one of the first in the family.

There's probably a lot more to it. This is just scratching the surface.

As other users have said, let your father handle this stuff. You just smile and ignore. Do not take this stuff personally, as it's probably not really about you. Don't worry about being compared to others in terms of looks or what you've given/brought with you. All that stuff doesn't really matter. What matters is the life you are creating with your husband and his family. Show them what a gem is joining their family by allaying their fears without giving into things you don't believe in.

Your MIl sounds greedy. When people get married and move abroad, they do not buy furniture etc for their in laws house but some in laws want that their house in Pakistan should be furnished with jehaz.

edit: I am not talking about personal clothing but home necessities like bed sheets, towels, etc.

What's your parents (esp dad's) reaction to all this?

To me, this is a red flag no matter how common this behavior this be in our society.

Sad how people want the daughter in law to bring everything in dowry that is required to set up a new house without their son providing the girl a new house. I think your phupho is being greedy but I also doubt your dad will protest.

I hope and pray that Mashaal Jawad is not your real name...

why is that a problem?

thank you everyone all I concluded is to ignore this , and focus on the positive good for my peace :)