Lyrics of wanjiri waliya

I tried to find the lyrics of this classic song from heer ranjha but seems like there isn’t any. Can anyone help me find the lyrics please? Wanjiri walerya tu tan moh by Noor Jehan and Muneer Hussein.

Re: Lyrics of wanjiri waliya

I doubt that lazy Pakistanis have written down or uploaded the lyrics anywhere on the web.
Why don’t you listen to the song and write them down yourself and share with us.
Or maybe one of our Punjabi guppies, like WaleedBHK, can do it.

BTW, it’s not wanjiri, it’s vanjli.

More important question is why do you want the lyrics and what are you going to do with them. :slight_smile:

Good luck.

If nobody does it, I can try but don’t count on it 'cause I am an extremely busy man. :snooty:

One of my son's friends asked for it. I have a hard time following the lyrics in the song.

Interesting. How old is this friend ? It is curious that he is interested in it. Is he into punjabi peotry or something ?

Where did you search for this mommy dear ?

I found this link near the top of my search. :slight_smile:

lyrics for sun vanjli di mithri taan - Yahoo! Search Results

I made some corrections to the online version.

Noor Jehan - Sun Wanjli Di Lyrics

Sun wanjli di mithri tan wey
Main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey, main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey
Sun wanjli di mithri taan wey
Main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey, main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey
Wanjli di taan vich ru meri boldi, umran de kajje hoy phet payi khol di
Wanjli di taan vich ru meri boldi, umran de kajje hoy bhet payi khol di, bhet payi khol di
Sadi azlaan di jan pachan wey
Main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey
Dowe pase charri ay, jawani waali rut wey
Jindh saadhi ek hoy, pawain do but wey
Dowe pase chari ay, jawani wali rut wey
Jindh saadhi ek hoy, pawain do bhut we, pawain do but wey
Manu apne tu wakhari na jan we, main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey
Tak tak tenu mere nain naiyu raj de
Tere bina bulliyan te haassay naiyu saj de
Tak tak tenu mere neain naiyu raj de
Tere bina bhuliya te haassay naiyu saj de, hase naiyo saj de
Shaala nit tu jawaniyaan maan wey, main taan ho ho gayi kurban wey

Wow thats so nice. But its not the song I am looking for. And my son's friends are all abcd college students. Maybe they are preparing some heer drama or something. I will keep searching for the lyrics. Thank you so much TS.

O no. I mixed up Sun Vanjli with O Vanjli walariya. :smack:. Sorry.

It’s a beautiful song.

And the lyrics are pretty straight forward.
I should have these transcribed for you some time tomorrow. :slight_smile:

Here you go ma'am. As promised. :)

Note that the n's at the end of some words produce a nasal sound and are not hard n's such as 'toon' and 'taan' etc.
Also, some d's are hard and some are soft such as 'daihaarey' and 'kaday' use a soft d sound wheras 'saada' is a hard d sound.
Same thing with r's, some are soft and some are hard. For example, in 'Waalariyaa', 'daihaaray' and 'khiraay', the r is hard.
Similarly, 'tainoon' starts with a soft t.

Let me know if you want to know the meanings of certain words.

Female

O vanjli waalariya, vay toon taan moh laiy o muttiyaar
Kaday naiy jinnay si manni haar

O tanioon, kar baithi oon piyaar, vanjli walariya, vay ae gall pulleen naa

Male

O nainaan waalariyay, nee meri vanjli di toon aey taan,
Toon ee mera deen imaan, taithoon vaar daiyaan jind jaan

Nainaan waalariyay, ni ae gall pulleen naa

Male

Hashr daihaaray taaein shaala, ruk jaawan ae vailay

Female

Piyaar day jithay phull khiray nay, sadaa o mehkan bailay

Male

Ni tairay dam day naal bahaar

Female

Vay toon aey mera haar singhaar

Male / Female simultaneously

Vay saada roaz azal daa piyaar

Male - Naina waalariyay, ni ae gall pulleen naa / Female - Vanjli waalariyaa, vay ae gall pulleen naa

Female

Vay toon taan moh laiy o muttiyaar

Male

Mairay dil wich chaanan keeta, roop tairay diyaan lowaan

Female

Raat dinay main karraan doaawaan, taithoon door na howaan

Male

Ni kariyay pakkay qaul qaraar

Female

Vay jugg di lakh paee aaway vaar

Male / Female simultaneous

Assan tay tor nibhaana piyaar

Male - Naina waalariyay, ni ae gall pulleen naa / Female - Vanjli waalariyaa, vay ae gall pulleen naa

Female

Vay toon taan moh laiy o muttiyaar

Thanks Ninja for liking my post. You are a generous man. :k: :slight_smile:

welcome brother…

You did a great job writing down lyrics need efforts isn’t it…

So wanted to appreciate your efforts…

Thanks. And I appreciate it.

Yes it takes some time and effort. But not too bad if you understand the language somewhat.

[Now where is mommy dear. :hmmm: I am sure she will be happy.]

I am much more than happy. I am so very thankful for your effort TS. Yes you have done a really good job of it . Now I am sure I will enjoy the song even more, knowing the lyrics. My hearing has deteriorated over the years and now with 2 hearing aids I can hear the music but can't seem to get the lyrics of most songs. These old songs are the memories of my childhood as well as the "hearing days".
The next step for me is to translate them for the boys. I will do it today Inshallah.
Thanks again TS. I am sure a lot more people will enjoy it too.

Now here is my (feeble) attempt at translation and I feel its reads so tame, compared to the rich original ideas in Punjabi.
I felt so helpless, because English language is very inadequate at expressing emotions and a lot of other subtle things as compared to Urdu punjabi. I also felt the same feeling as when we read the quran translations and it leaves me wondering if that's what the original text meant?
So here it goes. And I would welcome any suggestions to improve it.

Female
O vanjili waalariya, vay toon taan moh laiy o muttiyaar
O flute player, you have won over this young belle
**Kadday naiy jinnay si manni haar
**the one who had never accepted defeat before
**O tainoon kar baithi oon piyar, vanjli waalariya, vay ae gal pulleen naa
**I have fallen in love with you, flute player, and you should never forget this.

Male
o nainaan waalariyeay, nee meri vanjli di toon aey taan
o the one with pretty eyes, you are the music of my flute
Toon ee mera deen imaan, taithoon vaar diyaan jund jaan
You are my religion and I will sacrifice my whole life for you
nainaan waalariyay, niae gal pulleen naa
O the one with beautiful eyes, never forget this.

Male
Hashr daiharay taaein shaaala, ruk jaawan ae vailey
May these days stop till the day of judgment
Female
piyaar day jithay phull khiray nay, sadaa oh mehkan bailay
wherever the flowers of love are blooming, may they be fragrant forever
Male

Thanks DesiMom. Your translation is spot on. :clap: You must know punjabi, right ?

I would however say “May the good times last/stay till the judgement day” even though ‘ruk’ is literally translated to ‘stop’.
But the meaning is ‘stay / last’. :slight_smile:

Yes I am Punjabi and used to speak fluently with my Dadaji. Lately it seems its slipping away from me.

Too much Phoenix sun/air, maybe. :)

Haha, the hot weather here always reminds me of Lahore. I never feel its "pardes".

Par Lahore to Lahore hi hai. [Until you go there and say - Ye Lahore hai ? With all its problems. :cb:]