Lying ....

women in florida … lying … my opinion … i maybe wrong …

ppl r not stupid … they wont be joking in this sensitive environment and dem stupid terrorists wont be sitting in Danny’s … common sense?

what woman?

I have to agree. Her statement have changed, the last I heard she said she thinks they were joking but took it seriously.

who—me, stop living a sheltered life. :stuck_out_tongue: Here is a link CNN.com - Man in terror scare says woman is lying - September 13, 2002

Three arabs talking in english?....Either a prank or a lie.

Give it up! She was not lying. She did the right thing. These jokers are offended that some one is staring because they are dressed in full middle east regalia and jabbering in a foreign language, and then to teach her a lesson they are going to talk about bombs and americans crying on Sept. 13th! What the hell did they expect? Try mentioning bombing in an airport line. Some jokes are out of the pale. If they don't have common sense, then don't whine. And then one their sisters had the nerve to get on TV and start whining about how they are discriminated because they look Arabs. My God! Arabs and their feeling a victim must be ingrained in their culture so deep that they cannot help it.

they are American Citizens and one was born in the US.. they probably didn't even have accents!! ..

what if some Caucasion American had threatened to blow up the Denny's mockingly.. would he have been misconstrued??

Chadhry Saab said..

*ppl r not stupid ... they wont be joking in this sensitive environment and dem stupid terrorists wont be sitting in Danny's ... common sense? *

Shoneys I thought..anyways well they could have been kidding, who knows. People have joked about with me co-workers saying how are your flying lessons coming about and etc etc. Anyways sometimes people kid around without knowing the impact it can have.

Although it is a bit strange, everyone i know is extra cautious. I mean on one hand you do want to project a good image so ppl can know you by your actions and it may help in their view of muslims.

These guys are docs from carribean, 23 or so I i would think. Maybe they messed up.

The OldLahori gaid..

These jokers are offended that some one is staring because they are dressed in full middle east regalia and jabbering in a foreign language,

Do we know they were dressed in "middle eastern" regalia :) In the pic one guy is wearing soem CHhaps, Ralph Lauren T-shirt :D since one of these guys was of Jordanian, one Iranian and one of Pakistani descent, I would think they would speak in english and not arabic, urdu or farsi. But I dont know :)

Heh, in this current atmosphere, even if someone is a terrorist they would not walk around in some middle easern regalia discussing bombing plans. anyhoooo

I do believe that it gets annoying when someone just starts staring at you for no reason. But there are other ways to deal with it. Some peopel may try to joke around, as the gentlemen in this case reportedly did, (and we have one person's word against 3 people's word ) some may walk away..which in my parents view is teh wise and safe thing to do, and then there are people like myself who take a stand.

I had some jackass juststaring at me at Siuoxfalls airport. about5-6 of my colleagues had left on a flight to Minneapolis/St.Louis, I was th eonly one headed to Chicago so I was siting and waiting, finishing up some work and talking to my brother on my mobile at the same time. I felt soemone just stare at me, and lo and behold a rhinestone cowboy sitting 2 rows from me was just staring at me non stop. I ignored him for like 10 mintes, finally i had enough, i put my laptop aside, took off the headset for the mobile...looked at him and asked "Is there a problem?" he was so shocked that I would do that he mumbled no there was not. I said "good" and went back to what i was doing. the lamer got up and bailed soon afterwards.

The point is there are times that its just good to let things go, there are times where you have to just take an action. For all I know this guy could have gone to airport authorities and said that a middleastern looking man was doing something suspicious on his laptop and was talking to someone on his mobile phone etc etc.

any hooo...a lesson learnt for all of us, be extra careful of what you say and what you do..I got suspicious looks dropping off an airborne express yesterday, but then I dont really give a rodent's posterior about what some random idiot thinks :D but then again if someone could have made up soemthing that I was grinning and muttering somethng in a foriegn language and chanting Osama Osama while dropping the damn parcel, it would be just my word against this guy's word right..

and could we get it straight, is she a nurse or a waitress?

BBC says she is a waitress.

msnbc says she is a nurse, the also think its a jordanian, a lebanese and an iranian.. other sources claim its a pakistani, an iranian and a jordanian.

http://www.msnbc.com/news/807521.asp?0dm=C17PN

She LIED!!

Honestly, I think americans are soo scared these days, that if they even hear some arab looking person talkin about 9/11. They then call the FBI

I saw the TV clip on it. The Pakistani was wearing jeans and a shirt. The jordanian is sporting a HUGE full flowing beard that would put Fazl-ur-Rehman to shame and he was wearing definately non-american dress. I could not place the dress; it was a combination between a full length robe but opens in the front. The third guy was wearing some kind of a long shirt and pajamas. All three were wearing Namaz Caps. According to the waitress , they were talking in a foreign language. This lady was not a waitress but apparently in an adjacent booth. I think she did the right thing. As I said I have seen big cowboy looking guys get into trouble at airport for cracking jokes about explosives. As far as I can gauge, they were asking for it. It is like someone dresses up like a Pandit with bodhi and all and walks in Karachi playing the symbols and singing praises to Rama. How long will he last? Hey, it is just a joke. Something called common sense: ever heard of it?

*Originally posted by Furqan: *
She LIED!!

Honestly, I think americans are soo scared these days, that if they even hear some arab looking person talkin about 9/11. They then call the FBI

Hell, I would. Aarabs and their superiority needs it.

Damn, the other day I was discussing 9/11 in a metro bus and was pretty audible... Even though no one paid attention, I should be more careful in the future...

*Originally posted by OldLahori: *
According to the waitress , they were talking in a foreign language.

An Iranian, a Jordianian and a Pakistani. They speak three different languages i.e. persian, arabic and urdu respectively. Now if they speak fluent arabic to a level that they would rather communicate with each other in that rather than in english then maybe that part of her story adds up.

If she claims that they were speaking ina foriegn language and it turns up that they all do not speak each other's native language fluently then she is obviosuly making **** up.

Oldlahori, I completely agree that people should be careful of what they say and where they say it. I want to see doodh ka doodh and paani ka paani in this case.

**Originally posted by OldLahori: *
As I said I have seen big cowboy looking guys get into trouble at airport for cracking jokes about explosives. *

yeah cuz a big ass sign says that u can not joke about explosives and stuff in an airport. To my knowledge there is no law against guys horsing around in a restaurant ..i.e. if they indeed were horsing around :) Eves dropping can be a bit of a problem, I have felt ppl eves drop on my conversations with pals and my habit is to all of a sudden go on a tangent like "and then all of a sudden a mysterious guy shows up and bond music starts playing, and then we have spies everywhere"

anyways, the point here is this. If they horsed around this will be a lesson learnt for all of us. If they did not horse around, this still is a lesson learnt for all of us.

So far we dont know what was said, and if something was said. I have been out with pals and then crashing at some hole in the wall to get late night snacks after a hard night partying, and at more occassion then one, people have been pissed at someone or just drunk and saying **** like, I will kill that *******, I will burn his damn car etc etc. Now it would have kinda sucked if we got in trouble for that.

As far as someone stopping us and checking us out, thats okay, but then saying oh maybe we will file claims for making threats...now thats going a bit too far and looking for one's own 15 mins.

** It is like someone dresses up like a Pandit with bodhi and all and walks in Karachi playing the symbols and singing praises to Rama. How long will he last? **

fairly long, I had hindu friends in Karachi and they had pandits in full garb singing praises to Rama in broad day light at the Mandir close to Tower. My friends as well as the pandit are fine.

LOL.

Christ ! I think Americans need to get a grip of themselves !!

Imagine what would have happened to the 10 year old white kids who kicked sept 11th remembrance flowers ! bush would probably ammend the statutes for the state and have them put on death row ..

Old LAhori... come on NOW...lets not tar all with the same brush.

Pir Sahib, there is no sign that says you cannot yell fire in a crowded theater. However, it is aginst the law and it is a felony. Horsing around is one thing, but then don't complain because someone took it the wrong way. Think about it they did not land in jail, they did not get declared enemy combatants, they were not even given the standard Lahori thanedar treatment. They were kept in a police car for crying out loud for 7 hours and asked questions while their id's were verified. And they are medical students!!! Absolute exhibition of good judgement!!

these dayz even a fart by a muslim would be taken as a terror threat :nook: what a joke…

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

CAIR has contacted these individuals and are working with them. The hospital they were supposed to start their clinicals at has refused to take them now due to mail by over 100 individuals asking the hospital to not allow them to work there. The individuals will be filing a lawsuit if this is the case, as its a blatant violation of EOE. They are not considered a serious threat, and therefore should not be seen as such.

As far as threats go. People have told me they want to bomb people in Pakistan, they want to kill all muslims, etc... and many individuals have said this, in chat rooms, emails, and private messages to me online. One or two in person, not knowing that I am muslim. Should I take them seriously? When do I report them to the authorities?

*Originally posted by Munni: *
CAIR has contacted these individuals and are working with them. The hospital they were supposed to start their clinicals at has refused to take them now due to mail by over 100 individuals asking the hospital to not allow them to work there. The individuals will be filing a lawsuit if this is the case, as its a blatant violation of EOE. They are not considered a serious threat, and therefore should not be seen as such.

As far as threats go. People have told me they want to bomb people in Pakistan, they want to kill all muslims, etc... and many individuals have said this, in chat rooms, emails, and private messages to me online. One or two in person, not knowing that I am muslim. Should I take them seriously? When do I report them to the authorities?

There is never going to be a dearth of people filled with hate. However, you should not accept hate quitely. If you are on site where they want to kill all muslims. Speak up. Say why? Speak forth rightly and plainly and most importantly honestly. Another think please publicise it. Why don't you cut and post on this site to show the stupidity of some. It is well known how hate filled Billy Graham's son can be, or Jerry Falwell, or Pat Robertson, etc. If you hear people conspiring or intending to kill muslims, I would certainly report them right away. Remember, even these three said that the police treated them courteously and professionally. They were not mistreated, and they do not blame the police. If there are people who are threatening to kill all or even a lot of muslims or anybody else, please report them immediately!!!

OldLahori,

If its said online, whom do I report to? AOL is currently under a lawsuit filed by some muslims in chatrooms, where they contended that AOL ignored the plea of muslims to close down the chat due to threats directed at them soon after Sept. 11, whereas they closed down other chats.

Therefore reporting to AOL or even MSN may not get me anywhere. Do I call the police? What do I tell them? That someone online said he wants to kill all the muslims? How far would that get me? Sure I can post it here, but what will that do? I'd end up posting a lot of stuff, which may soon get ignored due to sheer volume of related posts. I appreciate your advice, but if you would kindly elaborate, that would be of assistance to me and maybe others that are reading this.