LOTR rings **just an experiment in 3d studio Max***

found a tutorial…and tried to make these LOTR rings by using spline,lathe–>axis functions,boolean shapes tay bla bla bla..very simple..didnt take more than 20 mints..

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/ring000.gif

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/ring2.jpg

and this was the result..

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/rings.jpg

Hasta la vista, baby

pretty nice… shadows and rendering needs a bit more work

… Kewl…

Excellent work Nikkar Sahib;

I love the textures and colors. The only thing confusing for me is that the lighting and shadows suggest that this is an indoor scene with artificial lights. Whereas the reflection in the rings, is of a sky with sun peeking thru the clouds. As a result this image tells a conflicting story.

Oh, and second thing is that the lower innner edge of the back of the silver ring is not defined. It could very well be my monitor.

I am sorry if you were looking for responses which weren't so critical of your work, but I doubt that's what you wanted.

[This message has been edited by Umroo Ayyar (edited February 13, 2002).]

umro the first two images…are just a jhillak…there are ofcourse many further steps and things i did to achieve the final result..like inserting maps/mtl/backgrounds tay stuff.lol..so dont think i got those rings just after the 2nd step

ofcourse there are other ways aswell i could have made a torus, and then covert it to editable mesh–>vertice–>subselection.
select the inner vertices n get the select & non-uniform scale tool..and so on..but in this experiment i tried learning the SPLINE function…

but thanx for the comments tay critiQz.

Hasta la vista, baby

gammay stick to ur java…hehehehe rendering needs more work…oye perfect rendering hai..samjay

heheheheh shadows??? hahahahaha ghor say dekh..shadow acha bhalla to hai

Hasta la vista, baby

[This message has been edited by Arnold Shalwaar Nicker (edited February 13, 2002).]

WAHHHHHHHHHHHH yarrr..

ßäÐäLL Kä®® ghö®äÿ KÄ hämm ßhäï$ ghäLïß
Tämää$hÄ-ë-ÄhL-ë-GüP$HÜP ÐäïKhtä¥ häïñ

am impressed!

thanx 4 liking. ghora tay anarkali..

Hasta la vista, baby

Wow Nicker pai

That is awsome!

u r the LORD of RINGS, man
!!!!

Woww its awsome and i like those colors. two thumbs up

“When all else fails, read the manual”.

Amazing as always ASN!!!

*sighs… I wish I could do that!

May The Madness Be Upon You!!!

Very nice work

Keep it up.

A few more rings and u’ll have the olympics logo ready

Pappu yaar tung na kar
mehfil ko berang na kar

Arnold Shalwaar Nicker:
I'm impressed, can you paste the link of the tutorial plz...

looks great bro, how long did it take to render it ??

O¿▀t◘ playe the game…
Before the Game Plays u…

nice work…

Nice work

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

has any 1 seen the movie damn its cheap

ok cya
well i guess not
are bhai
computer monitor
pe kaise dekho ge