oh i went to RIS last year and they had a booth for the jet scream built into the toilet. I love how they had a men's button and a ladies/kids button. I asked them what the difference was, he said it was the water pressure that comes out. lol..somehow i found that funny.
Watering can works way better than anything & I think it looks better too.
At my mom's house they have Desi Lotas in all the rest rooms.
How do explain it to a Gora. You tell them what its for & this is way hygienic than wiping yourself with a toilet paper. That always reminds me of people using stones in villages.
InshaAllah whenever we have our own place I am def. gonna get the Muslim shower. They are the best thing but they can get messy if not used properly.
and also...whats with those washing seat thingies next to the toilet? do people actually use that? My cousin used to have that in his old house and when i sent to saudi, the hotel room had it too.
^ MIA .. it looks like a commode but has a low pressure water fountain right in the middle of it. After using commode, you move to that one, press a button and water starts springing out hitting your lower part. As you feel the stream, you can shift to position right on top of that stream ... The stream should wash you without you using your hands but you can if you want to. . (too much information? :D) .
How do you explain what it is when gora guest arrive?
Waleed, it might be becoming common now but I have not seen many so far
Well, I just explain that this is how Muslims use the bathroom. Its important for us to properly wash ourselves so we're not carrying germs around because toilet paper is not enough to really clean anyone.
We have one in the guest bathroom downstairs, but i don’t like it. I think it’s weird, for the same reason Afshi gave. We recently had mini hand showers fitted in next to all our toilets upstairs.
Lotas are readily available in the West people! Don’t use yoghurt cartons! :no:
The question is what you do when you go to those homes where lota/watering can/ milk jug, yogurt can are not there in the toilet and all you have is rolls and rolls of toilet paper.
What about when you are traveling ?
when we went for hajj, we used water used water bottles. I also got baby wipes. My husband was telling me that they well folded-up lotas. i have never seen them. but thats a neat idea.
The question is what you do when you go to those homes where lota/watering can/ milk jug, yogurt can are not there in the toilet and all you have is rolls and rolls of toilet paper.
What about when you are traveling ?
I avoid the temptation of doing number 2 at someone's home anyways ..
^ MIA .. it looks like a commode but has a low pressure water fountain right in the middle of it. After using commode, you move to that one, press a button and water starts springing out hitting your lower part. As you feel the stream, you can shift to position right on top of that stream ... The stream should wash you without you using your hands but you can if you want to. . (too much information? :D) .
Okay, this is gonna sound weird, but how does an upward stream of water clean you properly? And you say you're not supposed to use your hands to clean..but how do you feel fully clean without actually cleaning yourself? :p
You slide back and forth a little to have the stream hit all part of the crevice ( cant believe that I am typing this) and yes I think you have to use your hand.
LOL you guys are disgustingly hilarious- btw, it's very common in Middle East and I always used to wonder about the mechanisms to use it, sounds like such a waste of space!