but the person isnt even married yet and yet she is asking for a baby boy not that she has girls before and now wants a boy ...
when i was pregnant i was at a Quran khani where aunties were invited. someone handed me a paper with some duas for a baby boy! it was written in urdu, so didnt read it at that time, came home and saw it...
to be honest i felt insulted, how does the person know that i want a boy! is there even such a dua for baby girls ???
It is always a 50/50 question, but there are some theories that males are developed on right side of the uterus. Others like you have view the fertility cycle of female, body type and eating habits may work too. Actually there are billions of theories dating back to 5th century B.C, but how much of them actually work has never been scientifically proven.
I think the biggest factors in our biased, stupid and ignorant culture to have the desire for boys can be divided into three areas.
The impression that your NASAAL continues with the boys. (A totally wrong concept from islamic point of view. Holy prophet's (p.b.u.h) progeny is linked with his daughters.
The hope that boys will economically support the old parents and look after them in their old age. ( Girls are more likely to look after the sick parents than boys and are becoming better educated with more economic powers and incomes.)
The dreaded laanat of DOWERY as a liability for girls and an opportunity for boys is changing rapidly and with the increasing divorce rate in Pakistan the girls or their families are demanding that dowery back.
So at the end of the day what matters is a healthy child and one should accept either boy or a girl as a precious gift from God.
Every single one of you who was quick to show your disgust, have you considered that may be she/he already has a girl? Maybe they long for a boy as well? I do not see anything wrong with him/her wanting a boy... same as I will not see anything wrong with some one wanting a girl. So keep your stones to yourself and hayat, here is the dua:
037.100 رَبِّ هَبْ لِي مِنَ الصَّالِحِينَ
037.100 "O my Lord! Grant me a righteous (son)!"
Al-Qur'an, 037.100 (As-Saaffat [Those who set the Ranks, Drawn Up in Ranks])
Since you brought up the question, are you married... and you can use this one
003.038 هُنَالِكَ دَعَا زَكَرِيَّا رَبَّهُ قَالَ رَبِّ هَبْ لِي مِنْ لَدُنْكَ ذُرِّيَّةً طَيِّبَةً إِنَّكَ سَمِيعُ الدُّعَاءِ
003.038 There did Zakariya pray to his Lord, saying: "O my Lord! Grant unto me from Thee a progeny that is pure: for Thou art He that heareth prayer!
Al-Qur'an, 003.038 (Aal-E-Imran [The Family of Imran])
I’m sorry if it’s caused anyone any hurt…but as someone who would be prepared to die after giving birth to a healthy child for my husband, I find it hard to understand people who say this stuff.
Khair, until a person is in those shoes (which on this occasion I would not wish on my WORST enemy) nobody can understand…
yea we never know what hayat's situation is.may b theres pressure from family or personal wish.theres nothing wrong in wishing for n making dua for a boy or a gal.those who hav all gals want a boy n then those with all boys wish for a gal so its man's nature to wish for things he didn't get.May Allah fulfil ur wish Hayat.
Yaar simple si baat hai. Sex determination hoti hai depending on the sex chromosomes, ie, X and Y. Each persone has two sex chromosomes, one they get from the father and one that they get from the mother. Men have one X and one Y, thtas what makes them male, while females have two X chromosomes. Since females have two X chromosomes, they can only give their child an X chromosome, the rest depends on the father, if father gives his X chromosome to the child, its a girl, if he gives Y, its a boy. Since their is an exact 50% chance of the father giving either, there is an exact 50% chance for boy or girl, (which is probably an evoloutionary feature which balances the male:female ratio in an ecosystem). Therefore, no diet, excersise, body type or female cycle can do anything because its the male’s half of the genome that counts
You could, infact, pray that your child receives the Y chromosome, just as much as you can pray for your child to be healthy, beautiful, successful or whatever, but in the end its all Allahs will. Jo bhi ho end mein khuda ka shukriya zaroor ada karna
First of all, whether your wife gives birth to boy or girl is decision made by Allah and nothing else.
On the other hand,
Israelis did a research on this issue. According to a friend of mine (medical instructor) whose from northern Africa, his farther was in Israel for many years. He says that when Israel was created, most of the women were giving birth to girls and to increase male population in the country for Army and to fight, Israelis started studying human productive system, especially the female reproductive organs and how they behave under different circumstances and in different positions while having an intercourse. They also performed research on special type of fish and its oils which resulted in chemical reactions within female body which in turn produced male child for the Israelis.
what if he/she has like 5 girls already…why cant one pray for a boy then? of course we can pray to Allah (SWT) for whatever we want pending it’s halal of course…so he/she has the right to pray for what he/she wants in my opinion…it’s none of our business and who are we to judge?
What parent doesnt want a healthy baby? It’s understood that the thread starter wants a healthy baby boy rather then a handicapped or mentally retarded one!
...well according to well known pregnancy pundits, eating GRAPES helps as well. Enjoy grapes and this heavenly ritual of making babies as well? Whip cream anybody?
Guys cut out the humour and sermons will you? None of us know what her circumstances are so please do not be judgmental. I doubt someone would prefer an unhealthy, deformed baby boy over a healthy baby girl. In any case everyone has the right to ask Allah what their heart desires, I don't see why anyone should have a problem with it.
...well according to well known pregnancy pundits, eating GRAPES helps as well. Enjoy grapes and this heavenly ritual of making babies as well? Whip cream anybody?
Look we all know ur desperate but try not to make it so obvious