Re: Londonistan
...you can't possibly expect concise answers to your above questions, we're just pointing you in the right direction.
...and as for your pakistani license...it hold no merit here.
...you can't possibly expect concise answers to your above questions, we're just pointing you in the right direction.
...and as for your pakistani license...it hold no merit here.
You can get an international driving licence from pakistan. That allows you to drive in the UK for up to a year.
im just looking for approximates.
bummer about the license. are you sure about that? a lot of countries allow foreign licenses for a certain time, thus the question.
edit.. thanks maddie :k:
i have no idea of central london property rents but i guess around £700-£900 should give you a decent enough one bed furnished flat :-s
here in kingston a 1 bed flat is around £600-£750
i just did a search on findaproperty and there are studio flats available on weekly basis as well... so finding a property for short term shouldnt be a problem.
just email the estate agents from the site and they will get back to you
ravage, you are hard work. :D
orpheus… chup! ![]()
thanks guys (by that I mean Daagh and Maddie
), this has been invaluable.
Just need the info on a ballpark cost of living (excluding rent) and I’ll stop bugging you nice people…
…for now ![]()
I say don't come, it's too expensive, you'l be broke within a month and Daagh and Kammy will make you meet up with them every week...eesh! Who wants that eh?
Plus you have to pledge alliance to the queen, and no, not just me, the gori one too.
South Kensington is way too expensive, live a bit out from the city center and commute, you get a free newspaper on the tube so its all worth it.
you can get a 2 month lease with first and last months rent paid in advance,600 to 1000 pounds a month for a 1 bedroom or studio.When you arrive at the airport buy loot newspaper it has good deals on cheap hotels,housing to cheap everything.You can also go to their web site loot.com.Taxi is very expensive in London,it will cost around 90 pounds to get to central london from Heathrow.But subway is cheap just get a weekly travel card which allows you to travel in bus too for zones 1,2,3,4.. it will cost you 21 pounds.If you don't wanna pay too much and stay near central london,look for something around e1 or east london area,but stay away from where the restaurants are,cause that area is very dirty and smelly.
^ where are you from?
Karachi :D
One of my friends reckons that 70-80 pounds per week is a reaosnable living cost.
word of advice... stay AWAY from EAST LONDON.
I say don't come, it's too expensive, you'l be broke within a month and Daagh and Kammy will make you meet up with them every week...eesh! Who wants that eh?
Plus you have to pledge alliance to the queen, and no, not just me, the gori one too.
South Kensington is way too expensive, live a bit out from the city center and commute, you get a free newspaper on the tube so its all worth it.
I knew you'd say dont come, thats why i didnt tell you. Kha ma kha beizti ho. :(
Im probably going to end up doing the commute thing. south kensington is too expensive :/
What parts exactly comprise "central london" and what parts are not central london and thus cheaper, aside from east london? Looking at the map it didnt seem like south kensington was central, looked northernly.
you can get a 2 month lease with first and last months rent paid in advance,600 to 1000 pounds a month for a 1 bedroom or studio.When you arrive at the airport buy loot newspaper it has good deals on cheap hotels,housing to cheap everything.You can also go to their web site loot.com.Taxi is very expensive in London,it will cost around 90 pounds to get to central london from Heathrow.But subway is cheap just get a weekly travel card which allows you to travel in bus too for zones 1,2,3,4.. it will cost you 21 pounds.If you don't wanna pay too much and stay near central london,look for something around e1 or east london area,but stay away from where the restaurants are,cause that area is very dirty and smelly.
Good information, thanks! I know about the subway system, I've been there. I guess a lot of people are saying east london is bad, wont stay there then.
Maddie, that is extremely useful, thanku very much.
KK, will do.
Thanks all!
Ravage darlign , you going england ?
Okey , phir main bhi tujhey milney aaoonga
ek Charpai exshtra lagwa lena kamrey main, thanko ![]()
han han, ab zaroorat pari to darling aur hugs. warna im compared to a hippo
dafa!
abey tu kute wala hai na ![]()
Chal theek hai, na lagwana charpaaye … main teri charpayee pe hi sou jaoonga … ![]()
dude if your ghareeb u should b thinking of saving money, so dont even think of renting in south kensington cuz it will cost u a bomb to live & eat. place you want to live is houwnslow which will be around 40 minutes train commute from your college....you should get a single room for about 60 pounds per week electricity gas & water included. u will find alot of Pakistani halal butchers & restuarants there so u wont have a problem with halal & haram. food is very cheap there.
when u arrive at the tube station ask the ticket collector for an oyster card which is a touch sensor travel card, u should know that u will get around 25% discount on travel being a student.
alot of people have a bad impression of the east side well ive lived in forest gate which is on the east side for 6 months, believe me its not a bad place to live if u want to save money. if u do go there u must check out epping forest, plus there some really good paki restuarants on green street.
good luck & wish u all the best:)