Logic Behind the Numbers

:salam:

Logic Behind the Numbers.

Have you ever thought Why …

1 means “One”, and
2 means “Two” ?

The Roman numerals are easy to understand but what was the logic behind the Phonecian numbers ?

The numbers we all use (1, 2, 3, 4, etc.) are known as "Arabic " numbers to distinguish them from the " Roman Numerals " ( I, II, III, IV, V, VI, etc ).

Actually the Arabs popularized these numbers but they were originally used by the early Phonecian Traders to count and keep track of their trading accounts.

It’s all about angles !

It’s the number of angles. If one writes the numbers down (see below) on a piece of paper in their older forms, one quickly sees why. I have marked the angles with "o"s.

No 1 has one angle.
No 2 has two angles.
No 3 has three angles.
etc.
and “O” has no angles

Re: Logic Behind the Numbers

a circle has an angle of 360 degrees.

If there is a center and a radius... maybe :)

every circle has a center and some value for a radius. and a circumference. and an area.

you are right :)

hey by the way....no offence but i feel so weird seeing that avatar of yours. That poor cat doing push ups all the time...Man give her a break. :)

i thought 0 was invented independently in indian and mayan culture and then migrated to arabs later on....
all those angle thing may be coincidence...

interesting

:omg: weird

i rite numbers making no angle, instead they represent some x degree graph. (b/t my seven 7 is similar to one of dat image, n two is more or less like a duck :D)

bhala zero bhi koe invent kernay ke cheez hai…:barbie:

‘0’ was always there, it was AKA ‘andaa’ …

size of andaa tells you how many 0, if you need only one zero, use chupkali ka anda, and for maximum zero, use hathi ka andaa…

this is anday ka phandaa…

now translate Jamez Bond 007 into an andaa form!

silly logic....

so what is your logic for the romans using the characters V, L, C etc in their numerals????

I'm not sure about this. I'd rather say a circle has infinite angles ....

you know you’re the first person to call her a cat and her a her. yaay :phati:

and oh it is meant to be weird

i think if you go around a circle once, like pick a starting point and come back to it once, it has 360 degrees. if you keep going around it then you will be adding 360 more degrees to it. =/

to add one more zero to my salary i will have to work 10 years…:bummer:

agar zero nahi hota tou masterji tumhe kya grades dete??:smiley: :smiley: bolo bolo..

Waiting for an Indian to show up and claim that Mathematics was a Hindu invention and it's because they invented 'zero', we are where we are because of them...