Logic and Religion

if eisntein's theories dont make sense to me i dont blame einstein or his theories, i just have to work on my own knowledge and broaden it to gather the logic behind the theories....<<

Army, plz excuse me for my childish comments, kya karoN Allah ne samajh hi itni di hai. Now back to your reply. See are you sure about this comment you wrote? Cuz if this is the case, then why does praying to say stones ‘have’ to make sense to you? In another thread you were insulting a religion cuz they pray to something other than you, because that doesn’t make sense to you. In same thread you made comments on Dawa. Do you see hypocrisy there or should I continue :)

Your majority comment is already covered by PA, so I’ll skip it.

Waise when I was younger we learned this story about a camel, it goes something like this: A man is asked whether a camel can be passed through a needle eye? There are two possible answers to this, how would you answer this with logic or faith?

Name the religion which does not have contradictions<<

That too depends on your faith. Else why would there be so many misunderstandings about Islamic teachings. Islam says one should respect human life, but it also allows us to kill; now this is one contradiction, if you don’t have faith. No?

*Originally posted by sabah: *

Name the religion which does not have contradictions<<

That too depends on your faith. Else why would there be so many misunderstandings about Islamic teachings. Islam says one should respect human life, but it also allows us to kill; now this is one contradiction, if you don’t have faith. No?

I'm flattered to see your knowledge. Can you please quote both [respect of human life and killing] the things from Quran & Sunnah. I'll be more than happy to show you that Isalm only teaches respect of human life. Please dont pass hypothetical statements in future.

Btw sabah bring some more things [other contradictions] as well. I would be happy to learn as it would increase my knowledge as well.

SI, let me try again, what do you 'think' I wrote up there? Kindly read the sentence again before replying.

After reading all the threads posted or answeres by sabah! i feel that u have some completely differenet ideas about Islam and faith!
i just want to ask u...Who areu...?i mean what do u belive?

sorry if u get pissed off by me..i just wanted to ask!

On the limitations of logic:

http://www.wikiworld.com/wiki/index.php/Truth

essentially, we simply cannot hope to have a logical explanation for everything in the external world. this is an implication of Godel’s incompleteness theorem. ‘absolute’ truth isnt logically attainable. this is mathematically proven.

religion is a Divine guideline for this world. as such it will inherit the logical properties of the world it intends to guide us on. and so, no matter how far you look, or no matter how much you try, you will never find a logically consistent religion, because one cannot exist, not if it is consistent with this world.

and so, you can go with a logical explanation that is inconsistent with the world you live in, or a religion that may posess logical inconsistencies but reflects its Creator’s will on how things should be.

i apologise for the above post which upon rereading sounds like a drunk geek's last rant before passing out. i am very sleepy therefore most of what i've been saying is a load of crock most likely.

:-|

Diya, what do you think I'm saying?

SI, let me try again, what do you 'think' I wrote up there? Kindly read the sentence again before replying.

okay le me give it another try. And please dont mind you know I've a poor english.

Islam says one should respect human life, but it also allows us to kill; now this is one contradiction, if you don’t have faith. No?

What a supid idiot understood from this is: Isalm is a religion which teaches respect for human life and on the other hand it allows killing. Now since killing and repect for life are opposite to each other this means Islam has contradictory things.
Moreover, Muslims believe in that this is not a contradiction becuase they have faith on thier reiligion. Otherwise it is a contradiction, it is only muslim faith which doesnt make muslims think that this is fiath. le me know if i got you right lady
If i get you right then I'll continue otherwise, please forgive me for the misunderstanding: )

Diya, what do you think I'm saying?

starnge

Diya – Useless.

SI, You should understand this – You don’t see contradictions in Islam because you have faith in Allah swt and his words. Therefore even if someone did find a contradiction you will find an explanation that can reject all possible arguments that might be logical to others.

That example was wasted so let me try one last time – Do you think its ‘logical’ that a man can separate waters? Is Mirag logical? Is Prophet Isa RA’s birth logical?

PS. Your eng is better than mine so don't worry about that.

SI, You should understand this – You don’t see contradictions in Islam because you have faith in Allah swt and his words. Therefore even if someone did find a contradiction you will find an explanation that can reject all possible arguments that might be logical to others.
You see there is not contradiction. If you think it is my faith which has made me follow things blindly then I invite everyone to bring anything which they believe is contradictory.
You brought s'thing in your previous post about 'respecting human life' and 'killing' humans at the same time. I asked you quote is from the sources of quran and sunnah I'll be more than happy to show you that Islam only encourages 'respect for human life'.

Originally posted by sabah: **
That example was wasted so let me try one last time – Do you think its ‘logical’ that a man can separate waters? Is Mirag logical? Is Prophet Isa RA’s birth logical?
I'm happy to know that you ahve accepted that the first thing you brought has a logic. I see some betterment here.
Now regarding your other questions let me deal with them individaully:
**"that a man can separate waters?"

I didnt get what you are trying to say here. I'll be very happy if you can elaborate more on this.
Is Mirag logical?
Very much. A messenger of Allah [swt] was taken to skies and then sent down again. What is illogical about this? I dont understand. Point out the illogical thing out so I can clearify.
Is Prophet Isa RA’s birth logical?
Absoloutly logical. Do you think it is sperm which gives brith to a child, I can show you many people who have been declared medically fit but they can not have children. Why not?
You see it is Allah [swt] whos will is included in the birth of every child. If he can turn a drop of white liquid into a human why can he do it without that drop? I dont see anything illogical in this.

PS. Your eng is better than mine so don't worry about that.
I know where I stand. And I do have a poor enlighs. Atleast lets not start on this

Forgot to mention in the above post you use [as] with Prophet’s name other than Muhammad [s]. And you use [ra] with the names of the sahabas [companions of Muhammad [s]]
Correct me if i’m wrong.

I see I'm talking to a wall here. Are you even trying to understand what is being said to you or are you focusing on winning a conversation?

You can go through your own comments and try to understand what you are saying instead of me repeating the same stuff over and over again.

I see I'm talking to a wall here. Are you even trying to understand what is being said to you or are you focusing on winning a conversation?

You can go through your own comments and try to understand what you are saying instead of me repeating the same stuff over and over again.
My poor understannding. Please elaborate what you want to say. Sorry but I've this English problem, you know

All religions are philosophies in one way or another and any student of philosophy will tell you there is no philosophy without logic. But any student of religion will tell you there is no religion without a leap of faith. Being a student of both, let me assure you that it’s a intense mixer of two. I don’t think you need to prove your religion to others, though to spread your philosophy and leap of faith so may others enjoy it too is something we all should do. And no, it doesn’t equate to stuffing your religion down someone else’s throat.