I sent an email to the “Girl from Quraysh” who is a moderator for this discussion board. I believe either her email is not working properly or she did not get mine for some reason, so I am posting the message here again.
I just want to know if this is a free medium as long as no abusive language or offensive remarks are sent down on others. There are a few discussion, for example the ones between Sunnis and Shias that has allowed people to exchange their points of view on the subjects. If we are not able to answer objections within ourselves, I believe we as Muslims should stop preaching to others as well. How ironic, we cannot talk on religion but we want everyone to convert because this is the ultimate “truth”.
There is no other way of resolving differences and reasoning the Truth, than to talk. We talk, we reason, which leads to inner conviction, which results in faith. If we don’t talk, we remain what we are. Not to mention our blind faith that we are endlessly Right and everyone else who does not believe with us is absolutely wrong. We need to be open towards religion and realize that we could be wrong too!
I am sure, Girl from Quraysh will be able to answer you better, but here is my take on this. This has been discussed a number of times.
This forum is for legitimate discussions on any religious topic. As long as the discussion remains productive, the moderator will have no problem with it. If the thread loses its way and turns into meaningless bickering and brawls between different opinions and members start insulting each other, then there is little point in continuing with those threads.
There maybe several reasons for closing a thread, including, one given above, and the other is the length of the thread. It is much easier for members to follow smaller threads to look for relevant information. Very long threads create problems for users using the 'Search' feature.
For the 'Open Discussion' thread, you will notice that it continued for more than 180 posts. This shows that since it was a productive discussion, it continued.
If you feel that there is a need, feel free to start a new thread and continue your discussion.
I just checked my mailbox, and yes i received your email, i believe u sent it this morning.
Regarding the purpose and function of the forum, I think Pristine has given a thorough answer. If the need for any further clarifications arises, I highly suggest you visit the following thread where it has been discussed at length. http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/002239.html
Regarding the closure of the concerned thread, it was not so much the length but the content. While for the most part the discussion was decent, there were many comments that as moderator I found distasteful and unacceptable. Perhaps I could have just edited those replies, but it seemed as the thread progressed the frequency of such replies increased, deteriorating the nature of the thread, and thats why it was closed.
oiqbal, if you think you can carry on a discussion without letting it deteriorate, then i have no problem with you opening a new thread on the topic; and so long as there are no personal attacks or insults defaming religious figures, beliefs or teachings, the thread will remain open.
man lez leave the shia'z alone. cuz even u and analyze it tried to answer their questions but they start being indecent n say things that they should not say.
Analyze it just posted the website address for all of their answers and that closes the topic. I personally wanted this post to get closed ages back but i was wondering why my prayers werent working ! but Alhumdulillah they worked and it got closed.
they started vain talks and here is there reply from Quran, Surah Qassas,
And when they hear idle talk they turn aside from it and say: We shall have our deeds and you shall have your deeds; peace be on you, we do not desire
the ignorant.
“Those who believed (in the Oneness of Allaah — Islamic Monotheism), and whose hearts find rest in the remembrance of Allaah verily, in the remembrance of Allaah do hearts find rest
I request the locking of the 'Hinduism..' post initiated by Rabi as the posts contain foul language and intent to abuse both religions. Points raised on both sides of the argument have been quite frankly speaking distasteful, so I'd just like to bring your attention to that GFQ.
JK
I think I agree with what the moderator has said. She is right and I also believe that we just do not respect each others beliefs. And to prove our arguments, everyone sends in a url from the web. This is not an interactive argument or a discussion for that matter. I have talked with many people on many message boards and in most of them it takes a lot of time before people come down to objectivity, instead of making personal remarks.
Thank you Salman for your message as well. But I do not believe that any person here talks anything in vain. It is their point of view and I respect everyone's way of thinking. I would always want the other person to come up with their belief and their argument, analyze it, and if it is higher on merit than the arguments of other people around, I might even accept it as a belief! This is how we must learn to reason faith. Faith is not blind.
Posting a website does not help. If it were websites, we would not be here sitting on this message board, instead go onto Google and everyone can find solutions to their problems. What I am looking forward to is a direct dialogue, where everyone can learn, and whoever comes up with something, they shall do so with reasoning, with references to say only Qur'an, Hadith and History. No websites, no urls, and no direct allegations.
True that the Message of God is true in all respects, but it is lack of faith in human wisdom that encourages one to believe that they might be wrong. What you believe in may not necessarily be right. At least thats how I explore religion.
In any case, I think I am not going to start a new discussion till the 19th, the first day when the agreed ban will be over. Till then, best of luck with other postings.
chal theek hai yaaaar.. its true that even we ask others for evidences. and tell them if ur true and u bring ur evidences and if they are according to Sunnah of Prophet pbuh, we will follow that.
accha eis Gubber Singh ko samjhao.. insaan ka baccha banney. fuzool batoun key siwa eisko aur kuch aata he nahin.
o yeah one more thing. I posted something earlier about SHia’s and this shia girl called farhana something messaged me and she sent me a powerpoint slide saying see this. I mean that was her evidence. And inside the slide were all stories about only that Karbala war and most of them even a hoax. I was like okay but it was kinda funny giving a story told my historians as an evidence against Authentic Quran and Hadeeth !! but i told her let me give u something that is taken from ur own scholarz’ books and with all the proofz. but then they closed their eyes and ears on the truth
“Those who believed (in the Oneness of Allaah — Islamic Monotheism), and whose hearts find rest in the remembrance of Allaah verily, in the remembrance of Allaah do hearts find rest
Originally posted by SalmanKHan_MozleM:
**salam
accha eis Gubber Singh ko samjhao.. insaan ka baccha banney. fuzool batoun key siwa eisko aur kuch aata he nahin.
Bhai, Gubber Singh nay to koi bhi baat apni turaf say nahi kai thee. siraf tumhari baat repeat kari thee, so you can feel what it is like to accuse somebody without a solid proof. and Gubber Singh only quoted your Sahi Satta bukhari and muslims etc. did not say anything from his own books.
Wassalam
Here's another to that, if someone places history at a higher merit than Qur'an, and they feel that thats the right way and they do not want to argue, then I guess thats the right understanding for them. I have met many Sunni hazraat who cite interpretations of various verses based on Ahadith, Ibn Kathir's famous commentary on Qur'an has been done in a very similar way. There are others who believe solely on the Arabic text of Qur'an, while a third category is where you weigh both things and choose the better one. Imam Razi's works fall in the last category, the category referred to as Tafseer ba-Aql.
In many cases, scholars themselves have different rulings and all differ from each other. For instance, in a few cases Maulana Maudidi uses Hadith to surpass Qur'an itself, but he believes he is understanding Qur'an that way. But then I cannot accuse him of denying the Truth.
Anyway, in short we do not know about intentions and we cannot accuse anyone of denying the Truth. At most what I can say is that their understanding is different, and that I would not approve of it/do not believe in it.