Live in relationships

Do you think our desi society will ever accept it? I mean more so starting with the millenials

no marriage/nikah etc.., just two people in love whatever living together

would you, as a parent, whether currently or in the future, accept it for your kid? would you ever do it for yourself?

Nikkah is compulsory, else you will indulge in zinaa, religion is very clear about it. This is somthing that is beyond the jurisdiction of any culture, be it desi or western. I find this question funny and awkward though. I don’t think any muslim with even a slight sense of religion can even think about doing it. There are only few things that come again and again in different surahs of Quran with repeated warnings and zinna is one of them.

I know muslim people who are doing it.. that’s why I asked

and not everyone follows everything Islamically.. so why would this be an exception? plenty of people drink, don’t pray, eat piggies, etc etc just to name a few .. but now we draw the line at live in relationships? :confused:

don’t you think that line will be crossed too eventually?

you mentioned nikah as well… well.. I know a muslim couple who are about to get married without a nikah..they have circumstantial things that are kind of preventing them to do it (for now at least), but her inlaws (elders) told the couple that its okay if they dont have a nikah, and to just get the legal marriage and start living together as any other married people would do .. sooo?. clearly our society is already slightly changing

I wouldn’t do it and I wouldn’t accept it for my child(if any).

Yes, some factions of the desi society already accept it and some more will accept it in the future. On the other hand, it’ll stay unacceptable for some in the near future.

2 Likes

Everyone knows themselves, which rules/boundries they want to want to follow and which to ignore. And if someone is making any such bold decision, why would they care what society thinks about them.

And yes its getting very common now. I’m talking about desis ofcourse. Slowly it’ll become acceptable too.

As for the last question, again parents acceptance isnt the top prerequisites of today’s childrens/grownups either way. They do what they want to do. And this trend will only grow stronger. Its the same question what if your son or daughter end up being gay. You reject them you lose them. Ultimately its their life their choice and you have to suck it up.

Off topic : Isn’t it just better not to have kids? Hum apna he imaan bacha lein iss daur mai baRi baat hai… Bachon k kya tarbiyat karenge :hinna:

It is called Temporary Marraige with a defined time period or “MUTAH” as practiced in Shia Societies like Iran.

LP you could be asking wrong person lol. Im extremely pro-choice in every way. So yea you may opt for not having kids thats fine. But a lot of people think about it at first for various reasons but they do end up having kids eventually. I guess they get bored of uniformity in life and kids make things really lively.. :slight_smile:

There are always challenges in life. Deal with them. And deal lovingly. Life is too short to be hateful and run our beloved ones away

Regarding acceptance of it…who knows? People are “”“sinning”“” day in and day out regardless of whether it is accepted or not. Just from personal experience, a lot of millennial and gen Z Muslims around me are on a spectrum of whether they are practicing Muslims or not. They are more tolerant of “alternative” lifestyles/choices than our parents, regardless of how they practice

My opinion on co-habitation: Eh.Considering people make it work without marriage, I don’t see why I should completely discount it. It just depends on what the couple is like and what the couples wants out of life. Marriage is an institution given importance by the government, so it will have its advantages/disadvantages.

I’ve been in live-in relationships and i have known many people who have been in it. I would never do it again, and this is totally out of my choice, not because of any societal restrictions or expectations. What I do is completely between and the Almighty, and I know what is the right thing to do, I knew it before too but difference is now I want to act on what is right as per my understanding and insight. Also, I have no problems socialising with any of my couple-friends who are living together outside wedlock, its their choice and they are well aware of the divine ruling over this issue, I am not going to act judgemental and preachy, and will not force people to live in a certain way which I prescribe to myself if they do not want to follow that way of life.

I wouldn?t do it myself nor accept it for my children.

3 Likes

I hear it is pretty common in urban India

Yes in Mutah there is No Moulavi involved it is by mutual consent, the couple decides to live together, the Lady does not get child support if there is a child! I think it is similar, just a matter of opinion! in both cases the couple enjoy the benefits without the responsibilities of Marriage!

I wouldn’t do it and I wouldn’t want it for my child/ren, but I know that at the end of the day the latter will do what they want to do.

I understand that there are people for whom marriage vows or a marriage contract (nikkah, etc) is a light matter. They don’t honor their spouse, they don’t fulfill their spouse’s rights, they cheat on their spouse, etc etc etc. I get it. However, if you’re going to “live-in” with someone and do every single thing that a married couple does…then why not give it an official title? Do we not seek an official title/status in other aspects of our life such as with our jobs, our homes, etc etc? By not having a title, it’s like leaving some wiggle room open…for what? For an affair? For an escape? And again, yes, I am aware that even married individuals will allow themselves that wiggle room. Maybe it boils down to how significant a nikkah is for a person; that document that you sign before the Imam is actually a pledge to the Highest being (Allah) that you will do your best to do right by your spouse and …yes…relationships are a complicated tug-of-war…but…if you truly believe in Allah and if you take your pledge to Him seriously, then you will be more mindful of giving your best to your spouse and your marriage will (or should) take on a more sacred meaning.

Yaa..unfortunately many muslim couples do. But as someone said…it is not allowed as per our religious values.

My oldest uncle and his then girlfriend/later wife lived together decades ago in London. They had studied and lived together in other parts of Europe before that. When he wanted to marry her my grandma and other family members objected to the marriage saying that his then gf was basically a wh*re (so what does that make him ) but they went through with it anyway.

They?re now divorced. Whilst they were married many of my other family members did not speak to them.

Later, two of my other uncles lived with girlfriends abroad but for much shorter periods of time and not so openly. One of them married the girl he lived with, the other didn?t.

I think considering they were living thousands of miles away from home and strong family influence it?s not that surprising to be honest.

These days in big cities I don?t think it?s that uncommon. It?s just a taboo no-one talks about like s*x before marriage.

I don?t have a particularly strong opinion either way on it. Would I like it for my own kids? Not really. Would I disown them for it though? No.

I know one family… Their son is living with non desi… They will get married soon. I have feeling… parents are helpless even though it was their son…

If we change situation, desi daughter living with guy in relationship… it would be very depressing for the parents of that girl.

Desi society can no accept it…

I neither accept it for my kids nor I have courage to do it myself.

its so stupid that its depressing for the parents of a girl to do a live-in.. but a guy is totally fine.. double standards

2 Likes

I hope I am able to install atleast these basic Islamic norms and values in my children; and so that they know that no matter what era and year they are living in; what is wrong will remain wrong, even if the entire world does it.

3 Likes