Little Mosque on the Prairie

Re: Little Mosque on the Prairie

^ lolllll i reminds me a trip we had where about 14 paki families decided to down the south coast… i told one of the aunties that there was chai in the fish & chips shop, she was like “mood nahi hai”, and then i told her it was free and she literally jumped up! :hehe:

aggar yahaN pei ticket lage tou shai’d yahaN bhi wohi ho :cb:

:YES!: You could put your kids thru college and i could finally go on that long-awaited vacation! Finally a good investment :hayaa:

Desi mentality :vivo:

Hin never mind what i said up there…it won’t work around here :teary2:

^ lol! yeah lets see how much you wouldv’e made $0.02 x 60= $1.20 yay! then u split it with Hin, and your share wouldv’e been $0.60!!!kitna barha loss hua hai na :no:

Pay Per View :smooth: i could split the video down to 10X per clip :faizy:

^ and what if ppl got tricky and instead of downloading, just watched it online?

aur aggar kar te phir bhi you’d be $6 richer, i think thats enough gas money for a trip to the local park (as long as using the swings there is free) :cb:

Darn! :teary2:

Could i just have my moment please :naraz:

nope :D

Episode 20th was hillarious..........someone please post the last episode...what did Rayyan said?

Rayyan and amar make such cute couple

^^ agree... I so hope that the two of them get married :D

I wanna see Eppy 21 :(

Turns out that Episode 20 was a finale episode for Season 2.

Looks like we’ll all have to be patient for the new season to start…

what a way to leave the viewers hanging eh… :hehe:

oh my god.. :smack:

now i have to wait how many months for the new season to start?

Peace All

I've watched a few scenes of this drama and there are problems I fear about and they are listed below:

1) Is it really funny that Muslims behave ignorantly? This drama is set out to satirically present the failure of Muslims to a wide audience, not only does this undermine Muslims in general it gives canon fodder to the non-Muslims to claim that Islam has done nothing to end ignorance.

2) In the writers own words she as a Muslim says, that there is no character in the show that is defect free. So what message is being given here? Is this not another classic tale of telling people what Muslims are not? Rather we should be telling them who we are or what we are supposed to be?

3) There is no clear message of Islam being portrayed in the drama, rather it seems definitely an attempt to make Muslims more acceptable to Western societies, but I fear that it is being done at Islam's cost.

4) In Islam we are told to hide our faults, from one another and I believe to a greater extent it is intended to be meant to a wider audience also.

5) In Islam there are hadith which speak about those comedians who make people laugh through lies are cursed. Now these are not lies in the general sense, but they are intended to be magnified truths that we should all shy away from.

6) Satire can confuse the simple mind and it does not make it obvious when one is supposed to assume the opposite case to be true. This drama is laced with so much inuendo perhaps many non-Muslims will not click to it, however, Muslims will see it and perhaps will laugh, but for a moment some Muslims will say to themselves, "I do that" ... "Wasn't I supposed to?" ... "What should have I done instead?" and we end up living Islam through the eyes of the writer. Which may or may not be correct. The point being because one can make fun out of something it does not make that practice incorrect. The criteria of truth and falsehood, right and wrong comes from documentary evidence from Qur'an and Sunnah.

7) It leads on to another point in that it seems to be promoting a progressive Islam one that can change and adopt it's value structure. It seems to focus on rationalism and shows all Muslims as disjointed and Ummahless. This is probably more satire, but the effect it should have is not always obvious.

8) This type of practice is not one of encouragement it is a light-hearted dark humour one that I cannot see any of the companions undertaking nor the prophet Muhammad (SAW) himself.

I wonder what it makes Muslims feel like when they think of our dear Muhammad (SAW) who used to cry days in days out for us to enter Jannah and we sit back and laugh at our own misfortunes ????? !!!!!!!

You're right Psyah bro. But, see the thing is, this series is already out. How will we know the mistakes if we don't know them. You have to watch to know, right?

I do agree, we muslims as a whole don't struggle to correct our mistakes, rather just let them build-up in the hope that our prayers are a sure thing. When infact, they're just chances to ask for forgiveness.

This show only portrays the little issues muslims communities face when living in a broader non-muslim society. It's comical, and touchy at times. Mostly comical.

If we can laugh at it, while picking up like you have from watching just a few episodes, how great would that be! We could learn the best from something that's not so good. With every failure, is an opportunity to do better. We must strive to better ourselves all the time.

Like Hin33 said, this is atleast better than soaps that air on Star and Geo all day long, full of gossip and fashion. No offense ladies/guys (who watch them...)

This show was probably the first of its kind in the western hemisphere, specifically Canada/USA, so it was bound to have faults. We learn with time. There should be more educational shows that teach Islamic values and shed a proper light on the religion as it is. Not as it is thought to be.

Take PeaceTV for example, a few years back you had no such thing. Today you have more choices, and inshaAllah with time, even more than now. :)

Peace bro Teggy

I totally understand your sentiments and I too have smiled in disgust at the scenes of this drama. The difference I guess between this drama and the Star/Geo ilk is that Star/Geo focus on culture whereas this is directly addressing Islam. Or rather what Muslims aught not to be.

Islam teaches us to teach others in a positive way ... to do this we need to avoid satire and focus on successes of Muslims instead. And the successes need to be in sync with the values of Islam not necessarily the values of the West.

Comparing a bad apple with a rotten apple ... that is the situation here ... I choose the good apple ... anyone???

Maybe you need to watch the entire show. It show ignorance of both Muslims and Non-Muslims and unity/good stuff of both muslims and non muslims.

Overall, it is not at all an anti Muslim show....

Peace sister Lusi

I agree there will be little gems in the series to demonstrate a harmony between Muslims and non-Muslims in fact this is the reason why the drama was made. It was designed to make us as expatriot Muslims living in the West understandable to the non-Muslims, telling them that we are human with the same pitfalls, of course it was all to mean well, but there is a starvation of nourishing values in that drama ... it may achieve it purpose but at the same time it will also make Islam look outdated.

Here is an example:

Woman speaker non-Muslim comes to the mosque to appeal for a charity. She is wearing a skirt, she comes to the front where all the men are and all the Muslim women are behind a barrier in the back. The joke is that Muslim women cannot get the charity box because they are in 'the penalty box' ... hahahaha

But where is the resolution?

Are we to assume that the barrier should be taken away?
Are we to assume there is hypocrisy in the men allowing a non-Muslim woman to speak to the front who is wearing a skirt, whereas the women who are covered have a more 'logical' reason for being with the men rather the skirt wearing woman should be kept away? The drama makes people assume that most mosques make this blunder. What is the best resolution in that situation?

Some mosque establishments will give the woman a gown to wear.
Some will turn the women away entriely
Some will do what in my opinion is the best thing to do. To swap the men with the women. Put the men in the penalty box so they don't have to see the non-Muslim woman and the Muslimas can be in the front for a while, this may present logistical problems but we have practiced ourselves away from being hard on ourselves and choose to be hard on others. But you see the drama does not make the best option obvious.

In fact I propose that a website is created to focus on the details of this drama and present the correct Islamic view in all instances, because I agree the writer has picked up so many issues, but I am weary that none of those issues are being addressed directly. So who wants to make this site?

That is an excellent idea, but will the show producer/director pick up on the suggestion from that website. Even if they were emailed and suggested of this. Maybe, they're moving slowly and with each season they pick up more on the issues at hand and address them?....just guessing....

Oh, and then there's the little issue of the time it takes to make a good looking website. Summer maybe? Next season of that show might not be on air again till August.

Peace teggy

JazakAllahukhair for the support. To clarify the idea was more of support site rather than a suggestion site. The producers and the writer are clear on their intent they want to make people laugh and no one in the drama is defect free.

In parallel however, a website could mirror each episode explaining that though these people did such and such ... the Islamic thing to have done was such and such ... so as the episodes progress then people Muslims and non-Muslims alike will have available an analytical resolution to the issues raised in the programme without the programme being affected.

P.S. the website will have nothing to do with the production crew of the drama nor will it intend to write stories for it, just to explain to the public in a positive way how those issues should have been resolved.

An after thought thing ... so no need to wait there are plenty of episodes to analyse and comment on.

Sorry to say but a good number of Muslim men do love keeping Muslim women in the penalty box... more then a joke, it is a sad fact. Too bad we don't see it with our eyes and when it appears through someone else's eyes, we get all offended and defensive.