Lets say your little boy flashes his peepee in front of someones daughter not once but twice, how would you discipline him?
similar question for girls’ parents what would u do in such a situation if it was ur daughter that had to see this?
I would most likely spank my boys if they EVER did anything of the sort BUT i would also explain to them that its wrong, be it in a gathering or at home
I would bring them up in such a way that they wouldnt do such a stupid thing in the first place...i have many nieces and nephews and none of them have done anything so stupid.
However, I have seen a neighbours kid who used to do that (used to take his pants off)....and i think the reason was that they spoiled him so much that no matter what he did they didnt tell him off. disgusting!
My friend has a 5 year old son and she has been telling him that pee pee is a private part and not to be shown to ANYONE except Mama and Papa, that too only out of necessity.... for example when taking a bath, going to the bathroom, etc. My daughter has frequent playdates with him and sometimes we do not supervise them when they're playing in the playroom, so once he went and changed into his pajamas without asking his mom (to show my daughter that he has Spongebob squarepants PJs :p) and my friend (his mom) got very upset with him and said you changed in front of S (my daughter)...... he said no Mama, I didn't.... I told her to go out of the room and closed the door. Then she confirmed the same thing from my daughter and was relieved after that.
I think parents have to start talking to their kids about such things from a very young age, just to put some hayaa sharam in them.... like my daughter (she's 4-1/2) never changes her clothes in front of anyone other than me (she doesn't even change in front of her father). I've also told her if someone start taking off their clothes in front of you, just leave and come to Mama and tell me.... its not allowed, and she does understand that (Allah ka shukar hai)
Sweetu: No spanking.... its the parents' fault if they dont tell their little boys this when growing up. If your son does not listen to you and does it repeatedly, then discipline him..... but its not really necessary. If parents do it right, the kids do listen and understand.
i have to say, from what ive seen its the parents fault. obviously kids that young are curious and dont know its wrong, so its parents job to tell them. my 3 yr nephew does that alot, and his mum just laughs or lightly tells him to stop it. he thinks its ok thus he continues.
same with my other 4 yr old nephew, his mum also just lightly tells him off, and says aisey nahi karo...thats it.
if it was my child, id be very very firm, with telling them its wrong.
i have a son and from day one i have treated his privates as just that.. privates.. no one else gets to see them.. just me and his dad.. not even his grandparents can change him... i wont allow it.
a child feels this as it grows and learns that its something to be hidden... now that he is 17 months and potty trained, we take off our trousers shorts etc in the washroom and put them on before leaving the washroom.. no roaming around bare butt. and even then, whilst he waits for me to flush and wash my hands, i tell him to pull his romper down to cover his privates.... now its such a habit that he does it automatically...
i dont think he will flash himself like that cuz he knows its something that is meant to be covered.
but if he ever did do it.. i would probably tell him off pretty bad and explain its wrong what he has done... whilst fighting the absolute urge to slap him silly :D
**Hey!!! … just a thought.. dont children just “explore” as a natural development of their curiosity and knowledge of their worlds?..I imagine its a healthy expression and as long as your 8 yr old isnt touching his nether regions as an exhibitionist, may be theres nothing wrong with it.. Ive known a friend whose 3 year old son would do exactly this - “flash” his little friend to his sisters freinds ( all about 7/ 8 yr olds) - the mother would not shout or hit- she felt ignoring the act would simply allow her son to eventually get bored with the flashing and neither did her saughter and freinds "entertain " the 3 yr old!.. after a while.. he just stopped! **
^I dont agree.... these days there are so many pervs out there, if you don't tell your child to keep his private parts hidden and God forbid someone else flashes them or touches them inappropriately, your child won't even know..... so talking to them about private parts actually helps two-fold. You HAVE to safeguard your own child's well-being also and its your duty as a parent to teach your child right from wrong.
^Of course, we as parents need to talk to our kids about these things and educate them.
Like I said earlier, too many perverts out there these days.... you never know.
My daughter is four and a half and she already knows that her private parts are to be kept covered, she's not supposed to change in front of anyone other than her parents and if someone shows her any private parts, she's supposed to come tell me.
It is getting carried away with this “natural” and “let them learn themselves” attitude which is causing parents these days to raise little monsters. Anything wrong that involves someone else (especially) has to be dealt with firmly.
@everyone, how would you deal with such a situation arising in a party or gathering, and the parents of that young boy dnt tell him off, basically brushing it off with "no mera pyara bacha esay nhi karte" and back to gossiping approach?
PS- THIS IS NOT ABOUT MY SONS Alhamdollilah they havent done anything of the sort and like many others we also tell them that it is very wrong n privates are privates :)
well if its someone elses kid.. there isnt much you can do… i would make it really obvious by tsk tsking… and making sure the mom hears it… or talk loud yet pretending to whisper to another woman there.. how this is so wrong hoping the mommy gets up and does something about it… or if the kid is flashing my kid.. then i would just get up… bring my kid to safety whilst saying (insert name of flashing kid) gandi herqat kera hai, aap ajao mere pass.. again, saying it loud enough that the mother sees and hears it.
Miainva Yes i hear what you say…but how would you cope with Sweetus problem then?- by bringing attention to this issue - wouldnt it just make a child want to do it more???.. I totally get you on ur last point though:k:
Thanks Khawateen.. may she did??.. but the fact that she her son eventually did stop…but i totally respect and see ur pojnt:k:
Yes Nisik I also condone what u say.. I know its ultimately about about good parenting skills and having that open communication with your children that leads to mindful children.. as u say- educating ur little ones is the investment in them becoming inshallah lovely mumeens :k:
I would talk to that mother in private (after the party, either on the phone or in person)… tell her she needs to correct her son’s behavior, its not acceptable and she should take it seriously. If she doesn’t take me seriously, I would even use the angle about child molestation, etc. and scare her a bit
pata chalta hai, that u don`t have kids. do u really think, that parents apne bachon ko ye sikhate hain???
thats not what I said....i have many kids around me and have lived with nieces and nephews.....and none of them have ever done this......its all about how u bring them up....I agree with Khawateen...masha-allah shes teaching her son at a young age whats right and wrong....thumbs up to her :)
however, alot of parents like yourself probably think that you shouldnt tell them off and just ignore them...in that case how will they learn??? you HAVE to teach your kids.....otherwise whats the difference between animals and humans?
thats not what I said....i have many kids around me and have lived with nieces and nephews.....and none of them have ever done this......its all about how u bring them up....I agree with Khawateen...masha-allah shes teaching her son at a young age whats right and wrong....thumbs up to her :)
however, **alot of parents like yourself **probably think that you shouldnt tell them off and just ignore them...in that case how will they learn??? you HAVE to teach your kids.....otherwise whats the difference between animals and humans?
how do u know, that i dont tell my son????
he knows it. but i said, that sometimes kids do things like that though their parents tell them, that this is wrong! it`s not always about the parents!