Listing Musharraf's failures

Re: Listing Musharraf's failures

selling our profitable institutions cheaply

but not like our goverment. have you not seen or heard the news about our steel mill case or recently what they have done to PTCL having involve in over 400 million dollars corruption.

Musharraf only has one mentionable failure (rest is just propaganda). That is, he did not learned to lead the country in true Pakistani style. Pakistani style of ruling is to be intolerant to the opponents and critics and allow all sort of tolerance to those that are with you. Pakistanis way of ruling the country is: ‘I am ruler, country is my personal property, people are my personal slaves, wealth of the country is my possessions, and all in the country should follow my way or find a highway (to hell)’.

Musharraf has Army background and leading an intolerant society, still have a very tolerant character (something Pakistan army, Pakistani politicians, Pakistani bureaucrats, Pakistani Mullahs, Pakistani layman, even Pakistani beggars do not have).

Re: Listing Musharraf’s failures

^^Nevertheless, slowly but surely, Musharraf has changed the culture of Pakistan and there is much more to do. World is full of dispensable people but some are irreplaceable and thus indispensable at particular point of time and President Musharraf for Pakistan is amongst them.

Here is an article appreciating President Musharraf tolerance:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=10030](http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=10030)

Musharraf more tolerant than Benazir, Nawaz
By Ansar Abbasi

ISLAMABAD: Nawaz Sharif is welcome back, but one wonders if he is returning home as a transformed politician who has learnt lessons from his experiences and is now different from his not-so-memorable past.

During his days of glory as the ruler of Pakistan, he used to carry the reputation of being a headstrong leader. Even his ministers used to tell mediapersons in their background meetings that he was not in the habit of hearing dissenting voices even from within the party. His opponents portrayed him as an “emperor” or “Khulfa-e-Rashideen”.

The media, the civil society and the political parties, including even the Benazir Bhutto-led Pakistan People’s Party, have all welcomed the Supreme Court’s decision that the former prime minister has the right to return home and stay in Pakistan notwithstanding any agreement. Those who have welcomed this decision include some who have been wronged by the Sharifs during their rule in Pakistan. No doubt, no one has favoured the Sharifs by doing so. In fact, it was done to uphold the rule of law in the country and recognise a citizen’s right to stay in the country.

Nawaz Sharif has recently gained popularity even amongst those who do not belong to his party because of his unwavering stance against the present military regime. His tone and tenor have made him the most serious challenge to the country’s establishment.

But as a mediaperson, one’s foremost concern is if Nawaz Sharif, who is today the most popular leader in Pakistan, has learnt the art of tolerance. It has been our irony that the tolerance level of both of our top two political leaders and the former prime ministers – Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto – has been generally low.

Since these two would possibly be the most secure bets for their major role in the formation of the future government in Islamabad, one really wonders if they could learn the art of stomaching dissenting voices from the military ruler General Pervez Musharraf, who, by virtue of his October 12, 1999, military action would never theless always be remembered as a dictator. To one’s reckoning, based on one’s experience as a critical writer, the most charitable aspect of Musharraf’s personality is his capacity to put up with all sorts of criticism against him.

During Benazir Bhutto’s second term, her hubby Asif Ali Zardari pressurized the-then editor of the newspaper I was working with to issue me a show cause notice for the reason that my writings on bureaucracy were found blocking certain irregular appointments of his blue-eyed boys. During Nawaz Sharif’s second term, a director of the Intelligence Bureau was sent to the bureau office of the newspaper I was associated with during those days to fix me up over a story that talked of the then prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s misuse of his discretionary fund.

Several journalists were wronged during the tenures of Benazir Bhutto and Nawaz Sharif. The latter would in particular recall that an editor of an English newspaper was picked up in the darkness of the night in a cloak and dagger style and remained in illegal custody for weeks on his orders. State’s machinery was used against a leading newspaper group.

Not that anything of this sort has happened during the last eight years of Musharraf’s rule, but mostly the critical journalists were harassed or pressurized by the other leading players, including some apparently decent and docile prime ministers who worked under Musharraf. In one case, a newspaper was forced to write an editorial against its own reporter because the prime minister was extremely upset with the report that could not be denied.

The electronic media is a recent phenomenon in Pakistan. The private television channels have though experienced turbulent times and extreme pressures during the recent judicial crisis, they still did not spare the president and the government for any lapse. What we today see in the television channels was unthinkable before. Ham Sab Umeed Say Hain could be quoted as one example. By the way what is not said in the “talk shows”.

What we expect from the likes of Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto that they would not try, if they or their parties return to power, to undo what has already been done in respect of media. Criticism by the media should not be taken as personal enmity, rather should be taken positively. If you will work for rule of law, merit, good governance, and justice and fair play, you will find the media on your back. Otherwise, it would be naïve to expect from the media that it would become sycophant and leave its foremost responsibility of serving as the society’s watchdog.

Independence of judiciary in Pakistan is a great gift for the people of Pakistan. This, we have achieved with the collective struggle of the media, the civil society and the lawyers fraternity. We don’t want the repeat of the days of Saifur Rehman and Asif Ali Zardari, both of whom have been extremely humiliating towards the judges of the superior judiciary. There is no scope for yet another Supreme Court storming. Nawaz Sharif’s return is the consequence of our independent judiciary. Benazir Bhutto should also feel confident that there are no more “Kangaroo courts” in Pakistan, and she should gracefully face the cases instead of trying to get them withdrawn through “deals”.

With the independent judiciary living up to the expectations of masses, now the demand of the people is to have the rule of law in this country. Are Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto ready for this challenge? Only time will tell.

Bottom line is that he is a dictator, can not correct the problems. His selective or half hearted actions would only generate more corruption, distruction of institutions and ultimately furhter break up. He and his supporting jokers or murderes/bhutta takers (like Altaf) should go and let the democracy take over. I have told you 1000 times, this country will not survive if military dictator continue to rule.

But he is the one who threw Nawaz Sharif's government and took over because NS government was too corrupt and Busharraf will remove the corruption.... now what did he achieve in 8 years?

Yeah, he should have hanged Nawaz, and Benazir above all, and the awaam wouldve loved it. But why is the awaam hating it when Nawaz is arrested, exiled, banned, Zaradari held in jail, Hashmi arrested? Look whats happening, had he done anything to them what would the awaam and its so called leaders wit help from kabhi ider kabhi udher media have done...?

Busharraf made a hero out of an a$$ by sending him to exile in first place then adds to NS medals by sending him to exile once more, I am sure a big chunk of awam would've been happier if he was tried in courts, proved guilty and made to pay for his crimes. The noise makers (aka "Friends" or "Fans") are always heard loud but that doesn't mean that is the only voice for him (NS).

Did Musharraf ask them to blow up wholesale? The post 9/11 scenario was decades in the making; why blame poor Musharraf...?

He failed to reign in the ISI monster which still supports Taliban/Alkeyda in one way or the other.

6. AQ Khan - A national hero - is now a criminal under his watch.

Who worked a nuclear supermarket? I'm sorry if the superpower keeps checks on thse things, but you cant deny a superpower, no one has, except Taleban and Al Qaeda.
There is no way he worked single handedly, such projects are always very closely monitored by security agencies, they were all involved but only AQ Khan was made the scapegoat.

No, country will survive if system is allowed to work. Also, remember, politicians might be corrupt, but generals are even more corrupt and they have no business in running the country. They're the biggest criminal mafia in Pakistan today.

That's why they are supporting Musharraf who otherwise does not hold any populartiy in Punjab, Balouchistan, NWFP and Rural Sindh now.

Re:

Here is one of his successes LOL

Go mushy ji! We love him.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1070911/images/11zznawaz1big.jpg

I find it intriguing that you have mentioned comparing Musharraf to previous regimes? What happened to the great saviour, that his record should be compared to those of criminals?

Go ahead start a new thread. List his accomplishment. Lets see how much is fact and how much is fiction.

Haris:

1. His first point when he came to power in 1999 was to change the current system and bring those who were looting the country to trial. Show me one case where he has brought a known politician to justice? And do me a favour and use Nawaz Sharif as an example. Please. He hasn't done jack to stem corruption. Instead he has placed all his cronies in every inch of the government. What does a military man have to do with running a University?

2. So you agree he did nothing? Don't use this awam bakwass. The awam wants him to step down but the meglomaniac stays in power and you completely ignore that. Those rose tinted glasses you have on because your perception is colored.

3. Rule one of leadership and rule. You are responsible for the failures of your officers and the inability of your deals to succeed. Its basic military training. An officer is responsible for the actions of his troops. After all you lot ***** about NS and his rule and Bush and his antics. But when it comes to the man you pay homage to, you have blinders on.

4. The first suicide bomber was after the CE went into Wana and started killing our own people. For the first 4 years of his rule there were no suicide bombers. That is his fault. It was his decision that led to these actions. Cause and effect.

5. God. One man who works closely with the military can sell nuclear technology without giving the top brass their cut? Are you sure you are talking about Pakistan? The CE and the top brass helped sell the technology. That is why they have not allowed the Americans to talk to Khan yet. That is why he is under house arrest. He can point fingers and name names.

6. It was never okay. The difference unlike you I do not defend the killing of innocent women and children.

7. I will respect the military when they actually fight a ****ing war. For so much arrogance in the military, they can't fight a war with anybody for longer than 18 days. Day 19 there is no more food or water or even oil. Wow what a military.

Exactly my point sir.

Re: Listing Musharraf’s failures

http://www.rsf.org/article.php3?id_article=20794&Valider=OK

One step taken by Mush to “free” the courts?

That’s like crediting Attlee for India’s independence than Jinnah or Gandhi.

For some…

no bhai jaan. after 8 years of this military strongman's rule, we r just as cocked up, if not more, than 11 years of NS/BB tag team. At this rate, by his eleventh year, we might not have a country to fuss over.

Are you sure? Why are you afraid of our rule?

We already have lost half of our part due to the dictators and i don't think we need any more proof... its the worst one can be that even after experience one doesn't learn... i don't think one can go further down than this...

our rule?

Let other half be drowned by "our" dictator.

Yes 'our' rule! You did not see what we did at SHC same day?

yeah. great show of public support. I hear thousand turned up for signing affidavits.

FOL: Try to tell the whole story. I know you can.