Should a parent listen to phone converstaion of his/her 13 year old daughter/son of they feel something is fishy?
Re: Listening to Phone Conversation
^^^ Ofcourse...if it is fishy!
On a serious note.....I don't know. Everything depends on the child. If he is weird and has done stuff in the past that raises a concern than i would. But, if the child is sensible and responsible...it is better to stay out until your child will ask you to intervene. But, do keep eyes open at all times.
Woh kya kehte hain Urdu mei, " KhilaO sonay ka niwala but dekhko Shair ki nazar se say"
No, they should ask their kids if they smell anything. But very subtile.
If the parents dont want to talk, just advice them casually.
unless they are 18, its parents job to keep an eye on them smell or no smell.
On a serious note.....I don't know. Everything depends on the child. If he is weird and has done stuff in the past that raises a concern than i would. But, if the child is sensible and responsible...it is better to stay out until your child will ask you to intervene. But, do keep eyes open at all times.
Woh kya kehte hain Urdu mei, " KhilaO sonay ka niwala but dekhko Shair ki nazar se say"
Zabardust mahawara quote kiya hai, tailor made for the situation.
Fully endorsed. In fact raise the age a little more! ![]()
You should try talking to them about the situation instead of spying on them. If you eavesdrop on their conversations, they are just going to resent you in the long run and will really go out of their way to hide things from you. Why not sit down with the kid and have a talk about what is going on?
^^ time and date for the sit down please. And what will be the dress code, ropers and a stetson, or a firemans suit?
some of the posts above
- you don't have kids
- they are not 13 yet
- you are not even married yet, why to waste your 2 cents??
- or is it something related to being desi?? having an opinion about every single thing you come across is smart.
just curious
I am sure most of us had naughty younger siblings
just curious
Did the thread starter say that they want responses from married (with kids) guppies only? Even if they did, it's an open forum. People can comment on what they like.
^ ok thanks i got it, ppl can comment on what they like
If you asked for a meeting with them to sit down and discuss.....what would be your reason?
How would you justify knowing something that made you suspect something is going on?
I mean, if there is something hidden, then you're not supposed to know about it, right?
Two things I will never do to my kids that my parents did to me.
Listen in on phone conversations
Read diaries.
Please note that i don't have a 13 year old son or daughter as some guppies have implied. I read a news article that in states a thief was acquitted coz the evidence was based upon a mother eavesdropping on her 13 year old daughters phone.
call me whatever you guys want but I think listening to their convenrsation is a MUST thing.
Its a must for parent to know what their child is up to. I do want to know whats going on in their lives. In your case icnonoclast. I would say ask your wife to approach her. At this age girl wants a good friend and if your wife can play that role its a great thing.
I prefer to know in advance to find out whats going on instead of waiting on their mistakes.
After listening to their conversation i will not go up to them and confront them. My way of approaching is quite different. I would sit down and have a heart to heart conversation. Take them out on lunch or on dinner talk to them. Its nice to get out for even icecream or a cup of coffee. I do this with my siblings every now and then. My parents are total pure desi parents ofcourse- their mind is set on few things and i cannot change their thinking. At the same time i dont want any of my siblings to take any wrong step in their lives.
Things do get a little shaky when an opposite gender approaches your child.
Iconoclast she needs a friend who is a parent at the same time. Be approachable! let them know they can come to you with any issues. If they are under your roof you have every dang right to know whats going on in their lives.
been there, done that..don't like it!
Never want to lose your child trust on u. thumsup
Nia: Instead of making it a MUST for a parent to listen to a phone conversation, it should be better to have a better approach towards their child when they sniff something fishy. Because once a child finds out that u were listening to his/her conversation, do u think he/she will be able to trust/respect u as much as she/he used to do? dont u think once he/she finds out that his/her phone call has been listened by one of the parent.. wouldn’t he/she tries to come with alternative then?
Kids growing up in western society get a mind set of the word ‘privacy’ and I must applause on how this new generation can go about to get their rights and privacy ..doesn’t matter even if its 12/13 or 18 yrs old!
Personally I would NEVER listen to one’s phone call even though I smell something fishy! A freindly way to approach a kid is a best way …think on his/her level and then work ur way out!