Light Moments from the Cricket Field

“Man, it don’t matter where you come in to bat, the score is still zero.”
-Viv Richards to Sunil Gavaskar at Madras 1983. (Gavaskar had decided to relinquish his opening position and come in #4 for that test. But, Malcolm Marshall fired out Anshuman Gaekwad and Dilip Vengsarkar for ducks, setting the stage for Gavaskar to walk in at 0/2… and he thought there would be less pressure!) _________________________________________________________________________________________

Greg Thomas was bowling to Viv Richards in a county game. Viv missed a superb outswinger, and Thomas said, “It’s red, round and weighs about 5 ounces.” Next ball Viv hits Greg Thomas out of the ground for a six and replies, “Greg, you know what it looks like. Go ahead and find it!”

Then there’s this wicketkeeper who quitely asked the new batsman: “So how’s your wife, and my kids?” Guess who…Rod Marsh…to Ian Botham!!

New Zealand vs South Africa:

Daryll Cullinan was batting, attempting a comeback from a complete bamboozling from Warne in earlier games. Cullinan played the first ball from Chris Harris very carefully back down the pitch and keeper Parore
yelled out, “Well bowled Warnie!”

Australia fighting for a win nearing the end of a Test Match, Fred Trueman at the crease. The Aus captain has plenty of close in fielders, whose shadows fall on the wicket. Fredie finds this objectionable. 'Ere, if you lads don’t back off, I’ll appeal for bad light!"

A joke from the cricket field

THE BEST ONE
(Incident described in “From the Pavilion End”, by Harold ‘Dickie’ Bird.)
“Bomber” Wells, a spin bowler and great character, played for Glocuestershire and Nottinghamshire. He used to bat at #11 since one couldn’t bat any lower. Of him, they used to paraphrase Compton’s famous
words describing an equally inept runner: “When he shouts ‘YES’ for a run, it is merely the basis for further negotiations!”… Incidentally, Compton was no better. John Warr said of Compton, “He was the only
person who would call you for a run and wish you luck at the same time.”

Anyway, when Wells played for Gloucs, he had an equally horrendous runner as the 10. During a county match, horror of horrors… both got injured. Both opted for runners when it was their turn to bat. Bomber played a ball on the off, called for a run, forgot he had a runner and ran himself. Ditto at the other end. In the melee, someone decided that a second run was on. Now we had all four running. Due to the confusion and constant shouts of “YES” and “NO”, eventually, all of them ran to the same end.

(Note- At this point in time, the entire ground is rolling on the floor laughing their behinds out.) One of the fielders - brave lad – stops laughing for a minute picks the ball and throws down the wicket at the other end. Umpire Alec Skelding looks very seriously at the four and calmly informs them, “One of you buggers is out. I don’t know which. You decide and inform the bloody scorers!”

Oh gosh! The last one is definitely :k::k::k:

Really LOL!

OH gosh…best jokes around:D:k:

Does anyone remember the jumping Miandad, mocking at Mongia in the 92 World cup? :smiley:

This one: :roman:

[thumb=A]miandad.JPG[/thumb]

Is that a laughing moment moderator saheb, I think it was a very frustrating moment especially after 40 in 110+ balls in a ODI hehe??

btw thanx for sharing have been looking for that pic for years.

Asif yara, Pakistan got butchered in that match but the single gesture by Miandad brought smiles to many Pakistanis. Not to mention when Imran was holding the cup when it was all over.

BTW, that was KIRAN MORE not NAYAN MONGIA.

Kinda Kewl, haan :jhanda:

OMG!
You are saint!
I had been looking for that picture for a decade, and I have finally found it, thanks for sharing with us.
I feel sorry for poor Kiran Moor, the kid never jumped again!
Javed Miandad is the man!
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :hehe: :hehe:

n thiz 1 rashid pulling holland’z player bat
[thumb=A]rashidho.JPG[/thumb]

Tendulkar & Kambli

Sachin Tendulkar and Vinod Kambli have been very close friends since childhood. They used to do all things together, e.g., both started going to school together, both passed their SSC exams together (with identical marks), both started playing cricket together, both were selected to the Bombay Ranji cricket team together, both went to college together, and both ended up joining the Indian cricket team together. Finally, both got engaged (to different girls) together and both decided to get married on the same day.

After that, both their wives get pregnant on the same day and the doctor gives the same delivery date for both. On the delivery date, Kambli's wife gives birth to a boy while Sachin's wife gives birth to twins! Kambli gets confused. He goes to Sachin and says, "How come? We have been doing the same things all our life. How come I get a son and you get twins?" When Sachin replies, "Boost is the secret of my energy", Kapil appears behind them and adds, "Our energy".

one more cricket joke
Unusual catch

A famous slip fieldsman was noted for his quick reflexes. One day, as he walked down the street, he passed a building that was on fire.

With great presence of mind, he dashed forward and caught a small child as it jumped. Then, from force of habit, he threw it in the air....

Chalo Bhai - I respect your opinion. But If I ever see Sachin Tendulkar or Rahul Dravid doing that especially when India is loosing the game - I would be really ashamed about it.

It was Kiran More and not Kiran Moor :hehe: and he did jump for another one year - But Javed Bhai never tried that again :slight_smile:

shahbax yaar - Sachin never went to college :hehe:

Nice jokes:k: . but the old jhuk jhuk :nook:

Bachey, Miandad went on till another world cup after that.