Life supporting machines - Allah ki marzi hai

One of my friend’s wife is studying medical ethics. One day, we had a discussion about medical ethics and what is permitted in Islam when it comes to life supporting machines. As the general belief here is to evaluate if the life support would be helpful to the patients life. But, when it comes to relatives of some muslim patients and when they are asked what your religion say about it then they say. Allah ki marzi hai (Whatever’s God will).

I want someone to give me some explaination as if there is any solution pertaining to this situation in Islam as I don’t know anything about it. What people in general think we should do?

Hey Khan Sahib,

Good Question, Personally I don’t know the exact standpoint on this subject as far as Islam is concerned. But in general I have been told that as a muslim its your duty to do your very best to look after your health and the life which Allah has blessed you with. I suppose thats one of the reasons why anything which is damaging to health (ie smoking) is forbidden/dis-liked in Islam because you are will-fully damaging a gift from Allah (ie your health).

So… from the standpoint of preserving health/life, I would imagine that you should do what-ever is in your power to look after and maintain these gifts from our creator. Going back to your question about life-support machines, if we have the ability to keep someone alive using a machine then I really can’t see a reason why you shouldn’t.

If you put this scenario down to ‘Allah Ki Marzi’ then why not do the same, when you’ve broken a limb or have been stabbed or any number of such incidents where you could get back to normal health through medical aids.

Bottom line is… If Almighty Allah has given us the power to heal ourselves.. then I don’t see anything wrong with using those powers/abilities.

hope this helps…

Death is only the Beginning.

Assalamu alaikum,

I am a doctor in the UK and found the following article written by Abdul Qadeem Zallum, the Amir of Hizb ut-Tahrir. It is a good explanation of the Shariah rule about the use of life support machines. You can find his whole book which also discusses genetic cloning, abortion and test tube babies [in vitro fertilisation] on the website www.khilafah.com under the books section.

The Use of Life Support Systems

The shari‘i verdict concerning the use of life support systems and when to remove them depends on the shari‘i ruling about seeking medical treatment. Is it obligatory to seek medical treatment? Is it recommended, allowed or not recommended? In order to extract the shari‘i verdict, we need to get a clear understanding of the evidence. Bukhari narrated from Abu Hurayrah who said: ‘The Prophet of Allah said, “Allah has not created a disease unless it has a cure.” Muslim narrated from Jabir ibn ‘Abdullah that the Prophet said, “For every disease, there is a cure. When the cure of the disease is reached to, he (the sick) will be cured by Allah’s will.” In the book of Musnad of Ahmad, it is narrated from ibn Mas‘ud, “Allah has not created a disease unless it has a cure; some will know it (the cure) and others will not.”

These three ahadith indicate that Allah has given the illness and the cure for it, and He informed us that for every illness there is a cure. If the cure is reached to, then the illness will be cured by the will of Allah; some people will know this and some people will not. These ahadith say that for each illness there is a cure, and thus encourage the seeking of treatment which will lead to curing the illness by the will of Allah. The disease is from Him, the medicine is from Him, and the cure is also from Him, and not from the medicine. Allah (swt) has put in the medicine the ability to cure the disease. This direction from the Legislator is an indication and not an obligation.

Imam Ahmad reported that Anas said that the Prophet of Allah said, “Allah almighty has created the illness and the cure, so seek to cure yourselves.” Abu Dawud and Ibn Majah narrated from Usama ibn Sharik that he was with the Prophet of Allah when some people came from the desert and asked him: “Should we seek treatment from illness?” He said, “Yes, O servants of Allah, seek treatment, Allah did not put out an illness except that he put a cure for it.” In the first Hadith, the Prophet commanded people to seek treatment, and in the second hadith he directed the people from the desert to seek treatment since Allah has given the illness and the cure. The address in the two ahadith came in the form of a command, and the command indicates a request. Such a request does not mean an obligation except when it is decisive. To be decisive, a command will need another indication to give it that meaning. There is no such indication in the two ahadith to tell us that the command is an obligation. In the first three ahadith, only information and direction are given, which indicate that the command for treatment is not an obligation. In addition, there are other ahadith which indicate that it is allowed not to seek treatment; this indicates that the command to seek treatment in the two ahadith does not denote an obligation. Imam Muslim narrated on the authority of ‘Imran ibn Husayn that the Prophet said, “Seventy thousand from my Ummah will enter Paradise without accounting.” They asked, “Who are they?” He said, “They are those who do not use ruqya(incantation), tatayur (omens), iktiwa‘ (cauterisation), and they depend on their Lord.” Imam Bukhari narrated that ibn Abbas said, ‘This black woman came to the Prophet and said “I am an epileptic and when it happens to me, I get uncovered, ask Allah to cure me.” He said, “If you want to be patient (with this illness), you will get Paradise and, if you wish, I can ask Allah to treat you.” She said “I will be patient.” Then she said, “I get uncovered; ask Allah for me not to be uncovered.” He asked Allah for her.’ These two ahadith indicate that it is allowed not to seek treatment. In the first hadith, he said that among the people who will enter Paradise without accounting are those who do not do istirqa‘, or iktiwa‘, which means they do not seek treatment, and leave the matter to their Lord and depend totally on him. Istirqa’ and iktiwa’ are forms of treatment. The Prophet encouraged treatment with istirqa‘, and the angel Jibril made istirqa‘ to him. He also said, “Cure is in three things; cupping, a drink of honey, and ironing by fire; I

If the shari‘i verdict on using such equipment is recommended, then keeping the person on it until all his organs stop functioning is not an obligation because using it, to start with, is not an obligation. If the doctors find that the brain is dead, then they can turn off the equipment. This is because when the brain is dead, then life will not come back. The fact that some of the organs are functioning will not bring life back and they too will stop functioning soon.

Based on this, the verdict of using life support systems is the recommendation, especially when doctors decide that there is a need for them. It is allowed to remove the equipment after the brain dies, and the doctor does not commit a sin by removing them. He does not have any responsibility for that

“Khilafah - The Need of the Time”
Please visit www.khilafah.com.pk

Problem is that you never know what is "Allah ki Marzi".
So best thing is to discuss with Doctor, ask him what are the chances of survival with life support machines. If there are minimal chances withdraw the support and this sure would be "Allah ki Marzi".

hope this helps

**The Islamic Ruling on Brain Death and Life Support **
Prepared by A. Idris Palmer

This is a very brief summary regarding the Islamic Regulations regarding Brain Death and Life Support. I put it together in a rush, so my apologies for any misspellings and awkwardness. The source Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid’s (1) Fiqh an-Nawazil (2) (Vol. 1, pp. 215-236, Article No. 4, printed by Maktabah ar-Rushd, Riyad, 1407).
I hope you will find it useful to your question. May Allah show us mercy and forgiveness at the time of our dying. Ameen.

Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid describes his article as an investigation into “the status of the ill while under life support and the indications of death between [the viewpoint of] medicine and fiqh.” (p. 215)

He proceeds then to divide his article into five sections:

1. A discussion of life support (pp. 217-218)
  2. The medical definition of death and its indications (pp. 219-221)
  3. The fiqh definition of death and its indications (pp. 222-225)
  4. The various states of the ill under life support (pp. 229-230)
  5. The fiqh resolution of this issue (pp. 231-236)

In the first section on “a discussion of life support,” Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid provides a list of Arabic medical terms used for life support and proceeds to summarize what is meant by “life support.”
In the second section on “the medical definition of death and its indications,” Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid discusses four issues:

(1) the history background of the concept of brain death;
(2) the basic anatomy of the brain;
(3) the concept of brain death; and
(4) the indications of brain death.

In his discussion he brings out two important points which have bearing on the fiqh ruling:
(a) the difference of opinion in the medical field regarding if death occurs with the death of the brain stem;
(b) the inconclusiveness of the indications used by doctors to determine brain death.

In the third section on “the fiqh definition of death and its indications,” Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid shows that the scholars are in agreement that death is defined as the separation of the soul from the body. Moreover, this definition was extracted by them from the lengthy hadith reported by al-Bara’ ibn Azib and collected by Ahmad and others regarding the nature of the death of the believer and the unbeliever, the questioning in the grave, and the subsequent pleasure or torment faced by the deceased in his grave. He also quotes al-Ghazzali (Ihya’ 'Ulum ad-Din, Vol. 4, p. 493) who further clarifies that death occurs only with the total separation of the soul from the body. (This will have bearing on the fiqh ruling). He summarizes with the following two points:
(1) the reality of death according to the sharia is the separation of the soul from the body;

(2) the reality of the separation of the soul from the body is such that the soul remains in no part of the body, and hence no part of the body contains any life.

With regards to the indications of death according to fiqh, he begins with the hadith which states that when the soul leaves the body the eyes follow. (Muslim). He also lists eight indications of death which he gathered from a number of classical fiqh works. He then quotes an-Nawawi (Rawdatat-Talibin, Vol. 2, p. 97) who adds this important note regarding the indications of death, namely, that when there is any doubt regarding death, it is to be assumed that the person is still alive until death is proven conclusively.

In the fourth section on “the various states of the ill under life support,” Dr. Bakr lists three possibilities for a person in intensive care under life support.

(1) The individual begins to breath on his own and his heart returns beating normally, and here life support is removed as the person is no longer in danger.
(2) The heart no longer beats nor is there any breathing even under life support. Here life support is remove is without doubt dead.
(3) The person is brain dead however his heart still beats and there is breathing while he is under life support. Here doctors normally conclude death (due to brain death) and remove the person from life support.

In the fifth and final section regarding, “the fiqh resolution of this issue,” Dr. Bakr concludes with the following.
(a) As for cases 1 and 2 (see above), this is not any issue for investigation as both life (case 1) and death (case 2) are certain. The only issue that needs to be investigated is case 3, namely there is brain death but their is a heart beat and breathing under
life support.

(b) This third case raises three fiqh questions:

1. What is the ruling for removing someone from life support?
  2. What is the ruling regarding organ removal (like a heart) for a transplant into another person?
  3. Do the sharia regulations regarding death (like inheritance) take effect?

He summarizes that the answer is pretexted upon the question if brain death is a conclusive sign of death according to the sharia definition of death (i.e., does brain death indicate that the soul has completely left the body?)
He answers:
(1) Brain death as being a definition for death is an issue of difference in the medical field.
(2) The indications to show brain death are not always conclusive.

Thus the sharia principle is that “certainty is not removed by doubt,” negates this being used as a conclusive sign for death. Moreover, it has been seen in repeated cases where people have still lived after the removal of life support.

He also adds that among the five aims of the sharia is the preservation of life and as a result the sharia rulings seek to continue and rescue life and that the general principle is that life is assumed until conclusive proven otherwise.

Thus brain death cannot be seen according to the sharia to be equivalent to the separation of the soul from the body.

However, he goes on to add the following important point that this does not mean that brain death is not an indication of death; just like the heart stopping is an indication of death, but not necessarily death itself.

For this reason, the scholars, like an-Nawawi quoted previously, said that the sharia refrains from ruling a judgment of death, if there is any doubt, even though the indications of death might be present.

Based on this, he answers the three fiqh questions (see above):

As for the removal of life support in this situation where their is an indication of death (brain death), but an indication of life (heart beating and breathing with the aid of life support); either the doctor will feel that with the removal of life support, the patient most likely die, most likely live or both possibilities being equal.

If the doctor who has no ulterior motive feels that the with the removal of life support the patient will most likely die; then it IS PERMISSIBLE to remove life support as in this case the removal of life support does not mean preventing treatment from an individual who there is hope in his cure. Indeed, LIFE SUPPORT SHOULD be removed as it only prolongs his pain as his soul is being removed.

Even with this, as the same time death is NOT to be ruled by the mere lifting of life support until it is certain that the soul has departed the body. And hence the sharia regulations like inheritance do not take effect. And similarly organ removal is not permissible (if we are to say that it is permissible even with death being certain).

This division of sharia rulings, where some take effect and others held back until certainty occurs has many examples in the sharia.

However, if the doctor has no ulterior motives,is of the opinion that the person will still live with the removal of life support or there is a 50/50 chance for life. It becomes impermissible to life life support, until it is felt death in all likelihood will occur or death does occur or the patient is no longer in need of life support.

(1) Dr. Bakr Abu Zaid is the former Deputy Minister of Justice in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and at present a member of the Council of Leading Scholars and President of the Muslim World League’s Body of Scholars which investigate contemporary fiqh issues. (2) Fiqh an-Nawazil refers to Sharia Rulings (Fiqh) of New Issues (an-Nawazil, pl. of an-Nazilah or something sent down)

http://www.themodernreligion.com/index2.html

^^Believe to Understand^^**

here’s another one: http://www.islam-online.net/fatwaapplication/english/display.asp?hFatwaID=20310

Title: Is it Permissible to use Life Support

Question: I am curious to know whether Islam prohibits/supports the idea of ‘connecting’ someone to a machine in order to prolong their life? What if they have cancer, is chemotherapy haram? Is it also haram if papers are signed in order to take that person off the machines so that they can die in peace, since the patient was a ‘vegetable’ and it seems more humane to take them off the machine? Islamically, what do you think is morally the right thing to do? Jazakum Allahu Khayran

Answer
Life support is a method for the treatment of a patient. If a patient is in a condition where the artificial life support can help improve his/her condition, then it should be used. However, if a group of doctors determine that there was no hope of any improvement in the condition of the patient or if the patient became brain-dead. In that case, if the doctors and the family members agree to take the patient off of the life support, then it can be removed. We should let nature take its own course and allow the person to expire according to their determined time by Allah.

For the Chemotherapy, I don’t see any reason to prohibit it. It cures many patients, so if it is required, then it should be used.

Thanks hk, I could read them earlier. They are definitely more than helpful but I wouldn't mind some more links like that. :shukriya wali shakal:

very hi nice topic khan sahib and equally nice postz by all the memberz…
i’ll post my reply later…

Whatever limits us we call fate!
Whatever we can’t change we call destiny!

The Day She Left…
FriDaY_JaN_26Th_10:30:00_A.M…

thanks for the :shukria wali shakal: khan sahib

i’ll post some more stuff soon inshallah

ok, here’s another site that relates to ur question: http://www.islam.org/dialogue/q385.htm