Life-Partner vs Career

In these life & relationship thread, i have noticed one thing, women would take on the challenge which come across their career path, they’ll discuss it with the positive frame of mind (:slight_smile: ) and would try to live with the problems they are facing there… but the moment they the discussion come to life-partner and the problems related to him, the first thing they do think is leaving him??? and icing on the cake is, other females would advice them the same ( well most of them) they make the small peanut size problem look like a K2 and always scare the hell out of already confused mind…??? why is that???

Re: Life-Partner vs Career

:khumar:

Zyada Pop-corn khanay say loug MoTay bhi ho saktay haiN !

hahaha. So who is gonna take tha bait?!!! : )

^^^Little do i care.. had something in mind and wrote it here... rest is on the other minds to think about it...

^ o bhai, why getting defensive? Its all in good fun. NomiCA has been very successful with threads like these : )

^^ Defensive??? fun?? this is serious thread.. you can visit other threads if you are looking for fun!!!

^ wow. so much aggression?

I agree with you hanibal. I have been thinking the same after some serious discussions done on GS threads in the past few days. The relationship issues involve emotions and the posters here try to give their input as per their own thinking and ideas. Thus we can say that majority of the posters here are liberal people who want others to be practical when it comes to relationships and advise them to think with open mind. I don't know how they would themselves be thinking and behaving if they are faced with same relationship problems because the person facing the issue sees the problem differently and is in a better position to judge the situation.

I do agree, all relationships should be given a second chance (I would also go for third and fourth chance). Now the question, when you should call it quits, the answer varies on the thinking of each individual which we observe here on GS.

The solution: If we are here on GS, we should respect the opinions and views of others but no one is forcing you to change your opinion and no one is forcing you to do something you don't like. So listen to everyones advice but do what you think is the best for you. :)

Is it necessarily a bad thing?

Times have changed. A woman's life is no longer being a content wife, she does not have to take the wrath of parents and maika if she is divorced, she is not financially dependent on husband. So there is less motivation in putting more effort into a relationship.

^wellsaid. Being all said and done, it is time to define boundaries maybe.

As far as the topic is concerned. Women would secure their job more than their marital relation because, work is their financial security. They can atleast survive financially when working. If anyone sees that there is no room in the relationship to work, and they are not getting anything from it (peace of mind, especially) why would they kill themselves to keep the relationship. Women in the past were more persistent because they had more pressure of the society and financial dependence as well.

I think it’s just a handful of women who are like that. Most women value their married lives and their careers.and know their priorities. You can be good at both things. Regarding making big deals out of small stuff…well that’s what Life1 thrives on…please don’t take that away from us or I’ll get fired :naraz:!

To add in your above comments, most of the time on GS we often see one side of the coin and don't know what actually happened, as no one will say that any event which have happened have taken place because they had wrong intentions, atmost they would call it an honest mistake or a misunderstanding...
and what i have observed here is, the poster normally like to believe what is being said.. which is not so different from the real life of women... when a women tells another women how badly she is being treated, the other never asks for the reason or any other thing, they just start it by saying, ya they are really bad people and bla bla bla...

i believe that relationship needs to maintenance, they don't work out by themselves, often they have more dimensions then we can see both here and in real life.... they shouldn't be thrown out of window that easily...

Agreed!

So you mean the motivation to put effort into a relationship drives from the Financial situation?

Boundaries? like what? please elaborate on the boundaries!!!

Women of the past! let us see what a average women of country-side use to ( in most villages still doing it) call house-hold chores!!!

1) They use to wakeup before sun rise, they had to clean the cattle-yard, milk them and then prepare the break-fast...
2) Do the normal house cleaning
3) prepare the food and send it to their husband/brothers/father working in the field
4) In some cases, go out to work as maid in other houses or work in the fields
5) manage household
6) take-care of the sick and children
7) milk the animal again if male member is not there
8) prepare beds for every one
9) sleep when every one has gone to bed

Today's women ( married and career oriented)

1) 1st one to wakeup in the house
2) Prepare breakfast for everyone
3) Send kids to school ( or drive them there)
4) prepare for the office and send hubby to the office
5) in some cases, prepare lunch/dinner before leaving the house
6) office chores
7) helping kids with their homework
8) managing household
9) preparing clothes for the next work day

Now i personally think that women of past was oppressed and women of today is no different...

When married, husband and wife should be one entity, they should think like WE/US and not I/ME, both should do their duties, Husband should be able to provide whereas, women should take-care of household and kids ( i have personal believe that managing a household and raising/managing kids is more difficult to run a 100+ employee office and i normally thanks my wife for managing it so well), her role is like a coach, who do not win the matches but who prepare the personals to win it!!! now if the coach is busy working 3/4 jobs, then when is he going to train the team???

I agree on the part that there are some situations which cannot be worked out and it is best solution is to separate the couple... that is why we have divorce to start with... but it is not recommended to let go such thing without putting a fight... ( unless spouse is abusive )

1. I have family members who have careers, and have homes, and like you said have got their priorities right, i am not against the working women, but against the so-called trend where women would care less about her household/relationship..

2. well being married for sometime now, i know how a tiny thing can be a integral part of some story… and you are right again, it is not only life1, it is the total desi society which is being functioning on it since the two women got chance to speak with each other… :slight_smile:

True