Re: Life in Islamabad
Can you guys recommend some good furniture makers. I would like to get some traditional furniture made while I am there, also is Isamabad a good place to buy oriental carpets?
U can buy carpets and other stuff from Casabilla and furniture from NM Bohat pyara un ka furniture hai
Saddiaa That is right pindi is a ebtter place to shop, you can find many shopping mall in pindi, Ghakar plaza china market rabi center kamran market etc. aur aap ko sub se acha tailor bhi kamran market mai mile gha
Thanks Bhabi, (I wish I had one bhabi, but no brother,no bhabi) Any way looks like pindi is really the place for some real shopping. Do these shopping center kind of specialize in somethings. Like if one needs silk, one goes to this shopping center, and if one needs jewlery then one goes to the other?
If you lived in a boring subdivision and stayed at home all day, Islamabad will be amazing.
If you had any social life in London, rest assured you'll hate Islamabad. There's absolutely nothing to do but take long drives. I'm not even joking.
Can you please shed some light on your social life?
Next time come here with your family and stay a while.
Islamabad is secure, clean, green, calm and organized.
In addition to ikarhoon's review, you will also find mountains, dam and river here. 25 minutes drive to Murree. You can go there for a coffee whenever you want.
And the wild boar part, well that's exaggerated.
Saadia123 you will find a great environment in Islamabad with almost every facility.
I have often seen that when some low life people dont find a real point to criticize Islamabad, they bring up nightlife.
Come on that cannot be the ultimate standard of living.
What exactly are you challenging Ihtesham? My social life does not involve beautiful landscapes, immaculate roads and safe neighbourhoods. When I say "social life", I mean a cultural gathering. I dont mean grabbing a bike and cruising. I also dont mean sitting in a park or going to serena for lunch. Islamabad is beautiful, that I confess - but so is Pyongyang. If you enjoy sipping chai and looking at mountains for however long you're stationed in Islamabad, enjoy. But that's not culture. Thats a pastime. You do it because you have nothing else to do. The only life in Islamabad is that of expats and political elites.
Islamabad is a potemkin village. If you look beyond the freshly painted roads and spotless windows, there is nothing impressive for an expat. It's a dead city. Aslong as you can go for long walks and stuff your face with food it's ideal. If you crave anything more, you'll find yourself dislocated from Islamabad proper, and enjoying the company of expats. When you have to remove yourself from ordinary Pakistanis to enjoy yourself, you realize Islamabad is a mockery of everything Pakistani. Culturally, it is lost.
*Spock, * I'll be coming to Islamabad with a foreigner for exactly two days. There's a restaraunt on the outskirts that overlooks Islamabad. It looks magnificant at night as the townfolks flick on their lights. I was treated there last year but cannot remember the name. If you can think of the name, please do let me know. It'll be appreciated.
^ Dude if you come to a city for a few days and dont know anyone there, you are bound to complain about the social life there... I have lived there for a long time, and theres always something happening... I like it because I am not too fond of the gandh gubhaar shor sharaba that come along with Karachi and Lahore, plus the relatively educated lot. No city can be perfect...
Btw, I think the restaurant you are talking about is Kashmir Vallaz on damene-koh, give some more details (location etc?) and Ill tell you for sure...
Saadia Pindi may send you into shock with its traffic so go slow to head that way. Silk shopping in Islamabad, try the shops in Blue area, jewelry- there is a whole row of designer jewelers in Jinnah Super Market in F-7. Once you get comfortable you can venture into pindi, Murree road for jewelers and China Market & Barra (once you are really bold) for the silks.
Dont know of any american womens clubs but most people in the F-6, F-7, E-7 areas are extremely cultured and social so you may find a good connection/activity partner starting in your street!
There are many carpet shops in blue area- im not sure about oriental but afghan and persian kilms are exquisite.
For wooden furniture made to order Faizabad area on murree road rawalpindi and near golra in F-11 islamabad.
For shalwar kameez- im not sure what you mean by decent, but you can get away with kurti and jeans and shawl or stole in most places with out getting stared at in Islamabad except the comparatively conservative Peshawar Morh or Karachi company in G-9. You can get ready to wear shalwar kameez in F-7 Jinah market at the boutiques near Bareeze for daily wear ranging from rs- 1800 and above.
Thanks manomano, lot of good information! I am sending most of my stuff to storage, and will buy some fun Pakistani tradional furniture and carpets. (my husband doesn't know that yet....but we do not tell every thing to our husbands...some things are better left unspoken!!!) Well by decent shalwar Kamiz I mean stuff you can wear to work, plain ol nice cotton kurtas and some white shalwars. Right now I do nto own a single pakistani thing that i can go to work in...or for that matter anywhere in.
HELLO
hello isb plp.......suggest me any good place to shop fr my bridal dress..pics will be good
someone told me of mohsin sons...but its nt taht good,,plz help
and hanif rajput any idea,,hows there quality and wrk?
Mohsin Sons is in Pindi Hayat- GO to Designer Resham in F-7 or Sobia Nazir in F-7. Plan to spend at least rs 100,000 plus on their wedding designs. I dont have pictures but their work is well known and exclusive.
Saadia- you can get ready to wear cotton outfits at Generation that are work appropriate. Its in the main markaz of Jinnah Super in F-7 right next to Shifang restaurant.
Great. I really should create a sperate file for all the pointers you have given me. You must be one terrific shopper...pity you are not in Islamabad. Hope you visit there while I am there.
manonamano: mohsin sons is good? as i saw there website, on website tehy have old style displayed, dnt knw about real shop. help me which one is best?
fashon ka gar / mohsin / khan variety???? and beauty saloon milli / danialla / or faiza's???