Re: Life 2 has never answered these two questions
The other reason might be if the mix has more 'water' than needed.
Captain1, can you go back to Khail Khilari? what the hell are you talking about “more water” which nutcase adds water to qeema mix?
Fraudz - In my quest to perfection, right now my kitchen cabinet holds all kinds of skewers from round ones to flat ones, to rectangular ones, and the ones with swirls at each end to wooden handle ones to really small ones and to big ones. Which one would you prefer? I will give one to you! ![]()
Sunset Eyes - your recipe was tried with green tea leaves a while back and it sucked.
Minerva, twaaDee paahbee bus gallaaN wich tez aiy.
fungus, what captain means is that the keema could be extra moist. For example extra onions or tomatoes may make the keema too watery. The expert chef that you are, i am sure you already knew about this.
I used the flat skewers for the kebabs, are those the wrong kind? :(
I squeeze the heck out of the chopped onions before adding to the qeema. I have de-seed the tomatoes too. PLEASE PLEASe, someone for goodness sake, show me the light, show me the trick, show me the sim sim to make a seekh kabab just like the one at my local restaurant.
I am even thinking of getting a weekend job at this restaurant and learn how to make seekh kababs and then quit!
the consistency of the meat for seekh kebabs cannot be to finely minced
a medium mince is usually good
and you really dont need to add any besan, flour, lemons, etc
simple add the masaale and bread crumbs
and mix thoroughly
refrigerate
and
the skewers you use, best ones are square shaped metal about 1cm thick
when your putting the meat onto your skewer
make a ball of meat in the palm of one hand and with the other slide the skewer through the meat and leave about 2-3 inches free at the tip,
now start spreading the ball into a length along the skewer, seal the to and bottom edges of meat as tight as you can against the skewer
and that should hold
Inshallah
abay drama ‘drag’ queen.
he meant if the mixture was too moist it will not stick.
this approach has worked for me, although I use the flat skewers, they look like mini swords.
haan, wahan aap ki daal nahi galti iss liye yahan aa gaye, aab khatra hay ke aap ko yahan se bhee bhagna paray gaa ![]()
aray mian, what I meant was… if the overall mixture is relatively ‘geela’ then the qeema/mix will fall off, samjhay?
thank you Fraudz… kuchh logo ko ‘slowly’ batana parta hai ![]()
onions leave a lot of water.
so chop them, leave them for half an hour, then sqeeze them really hard to take the water out and then mix in the qeema.
Cool Breeze
ok ![]()
this was a serious advice and I know a lot of poeple make that mistake of adding onion in the qeema which leaves so much water lateron
Use the flat thick skewers from the arab grocery. Grind the kebabs very fine in the food processor (the meat and all) to make a pasty kebab, Chill the meat well Once I put the tray of skewered kebabs in the freezer and not a kebab was lost, but I did have to cook them a few minutes more. Don't try to make big bulky kebabs. Don't constantly fiddle with the meat, cook it on one side, turn it once, and that's it. Use the leanest meat you can find. And most importantly - don't grease the skewer!
if you don't grease the skewer the kababs don't come off in one piece after they are grilled.
What did you use other than the qeema? Can you share the recipe?
How did you fit the skewers in the freezer?
add onions at the very end when you are ready to skrew them. Leave the keema mixture in the freezer for almost 30-45 mins so it kinds of settles down, firms a little bit, and is easier to work with.
and leave the grinded onions in thhe strainer to drain out excess water and ya maybe squeeze them.
well funguy , i ve beenreading your thread, and i thought why dont i contribure something as well,
1 lb chicken keema,
1 large onion.
3 -4 green chillies
crushed rred pepper never use the chilly powdwer
1 large tabsp crushed garlic
i large tabsp crushed ginger
1 teasp coarsely crushed sabut dhania
1 teasp garam masala
1 teasp cornflour
2 tabsp oil
1 egg
chop onion and green chilly lpretty fine , remove excess liquid, add to keema,
also add remaining ingredients except egg. mix everything well, salt to taste.if the mixturefeeels very dry , add egg. if it doesnot then skip it.
if you wand to use disposable wooden sticks, make sure you soak them inwater for and hour . so they do not catch fire.
skewer keema on sticks and put themin freezer for 1/2 hr.
when you put them over barbq, leave them to cook for abit, but keeping andeye they do nt burn. inshallah you should have no problem.
as for kashmiri chaye , main to akbari mandi se mangwati houn from lahore. but a friend told me gul e nasreen is good from brooke bond.
happy trying
chicken qeema sheesh kebabs are fugazi sheesh kebabs. u better hide before funguy opens a martaban of whoop-ass
funguy? couple questions....
do u let it marinate for a few hrs at the least?
do u add yogurt or grated onions to it?
i ask these questions because....in order for it to stick better....the meat must be nice and cold. If you do add yogurt or grated onions to it.....your using too much. The consistency of the raw meat should not bo too thin.
yougurt in seekh kababs...Never Ever!!!
onins use grated, just squeeze all the water out of them.
always let your material marrinate atleat 30 mins in the fridge or freezer, it makes the material firm and enriches the flavor.