Legal age for getting married!!

Just wondering if some body knows what is the legal age for a girl to get married in US ?
Some body told me that its 18 and does any body know of any one who has married some one under 18 from back home and brought her to US?
No bashing please, only serious feeedback !!

Re: Legal age for getting married!!

edited

18 w/o parental consent, i think it may be 16 or 17 with parental consent... i think it varies from state to state, but I would think that the age of consent (usually used for having sex) is also the same as consent for marriage... I oculd be wrong on the last few points, but my first point, age 18 w/o parental consent i am positive about. :)

kyun..? kisi under 18 saal ki larki se shaadi karna chahte hain aap..? :hoonh: :smiley:

It depends on which state you live in…

http://www.coolnurse.com/marriage_laws.htm

Hopefully this helps…Keep in mind that this article was written in 2003…so you might want to check what the current specific law is for your state.

Age of consent and marriageable age are not the same things.
ALL states in the US have set the legal age for marriage at 18, except Nebraska (19) and Mississippi (21).

But with parental consent, in the states, you can get married at any age from 13 - 17.
In New hampshire you can get married at age 13, if you can get parental consent or a waiver.
But if you are pregnant or have a child, and are below 18 years of age, then you can get married without parental consent.

thats great help folks .... thanks alot !!!

woh

making sure if the idea was persuable!!

^ itni jaldi bhi kya hai..? :D

according to islam , the earlier the better :)

so now that u know the legal age, can we know the whole majra behind ur question? :D

yes true tht according to islam the earlier the better...
ive heard Hazrt Ayssha ws quite way very young wen she ws married..but islam is a very flexible religion so accoring to the modern world..i thnk one shd get a technical degree, shd enter into prctical lyf and is able to bear all teh responsibilities of a married lyf . only then he/sdhe shd get married
quite approprite age 4 gals is 20-22
and for men is 25-30

well i would say that varies from an indivisual to indivisual .....some girls are more mature then their age and some dont feel the responsibilty all their life .... i would say it really depends how an indivisual is brought up and to some extend the nature of the person also counts !!!

suroor_ca02
the case is that shez a cousin of mine and there a lots of rishtaaz coming for her abhee say ...and my family loves her alot!!! and i am 100% sure that when i visit pak this time, then are going to push to the max .... so i was just exploring different scenarios that if Allah makes this happen, what options can i have regarding this !!

not until you think you have found yourself... **

16 with the consent of ones parents...