Legacy of Mard e Momin Zia ul Haq

Re: Legacy of Mard e Momin Zia ul Haq

Exactly. The political parties who always detest Zia follow the same policies. I think this is not with just Zia, even PPP continued the policies of Musharraf era. Sab maya hai

24 years after his death the naara seems to be:

Tum kitnay Zia maaro gay her ghar say Zia niklay ga :eek:

:rotfl: Kisi ghar se kabhi koi insaan bhi nikle ga ke nahi

Exactly, its the policies of corrupt, opportunist, dishonest class of people. Faces change, but the facts remain same on the ground. Its just that we people like to blame one particular person whom we don't like. Sometimes its the 'islamist', sometimes its 'politicians', sometimes its 'military', 'jageerdar' etc etc........we put different labels on these monsters to suit our own view points. But basically they all are same and equally responsible.

Yes that was his problem. He used to think that he is a real amirul momineen. Dude, if you want to help people. deal with them in the broad daylight. There is nothing out there in the dark of the night.

I think he was just like any other general. some use islam, some use 'modernity', but basically its the fauji in them that makes them do horrible things.

Yes that was his problem. He used to think that he is a real amirul momineen. Dude, if you want to help people. deal with them in the broad daylight. There is nothing out there in the dark of the night.

Agreed, but then again maybe he did good deeds during the day time , who knows! :slight_smile:

I have no doubt that he was probably a good human being when it comes to one on one dealing with common man, but his foreign and internal policies were terrible.

What do you mean by statement in bold?

His story seems more similar to his indian contemporary, terroist, jarnail singh bhidranwale, only difference is Zia was smarter than him.

Even Indira nationalized the entire banking system and we have 19 nationalized banks plus the private sector, this system of governmental control has resulted in good control of money in market, what was ZAB's nationalization policy was all about and what went wrong?

good question the kaur. Supporters of PPP say that nationalisation was good step but it was failed as it not properly continued after Bhutto.

Reverse of nationalization is privitaization,deregulation, but with privitization the governmentin the sub continental should have basic model that thinks about human welfare,privitization in short means profit is more important than humans,India is not fully deregulated and various section like railways,defence are fully nationalized.

True. State should control some departments, but in Pakistan state-owned departments don't a good track record. Probably Bhutto's nationalisation come with extra burden (in shape of over-employment) in nationalised institute, which affected the institutes badly.

Its not the state's responsibility to take over industries, banks etc. We can see how the state has managed the corporations that are in their control now like PIA, railways, WAPDA, Steel mills etc. The problem that exists in Pakistan is that the political governments start appointing corrupt, incompetent people in government held organizations due to nepotism(having links with government officials) who run the exchequer dry by corruption. Almost all of the private sector was taken over by the government, after deregulation we can now see some big industrial empires being created. Even the banks are now working much better and efficiently as compared to before, and it has freed a lot of governments budget and energies which they can use on other stuff if they want to.

The loss of Pakistan railways in a year is 53 billion, steel mills around 18 billion, we have around 400 billion as unpaid dues to the power sector, PIA had loss of over 75 billion as on June 30, 2009. All these big organizations have become white elephants and they eat up a lot of our budget with very few benefits for the people.

The biggest govt owned bank in India is State bank of India along with 19 natioanalized bank hold largest share of banking market even though private players are in. similarily it is IA similar to PIA which can think of servicing in remote area by reducing some of it profits which private can never do, Pakistan Railway being privatized might prove even big nightmare as private players may stop plying in the routes which are incuring loss limiting service in the area like that of cholistan desert.

Complete privitization is akin to pure capitalism, and in long run in a poor country it generally kills more people:)

Really good article about Zia-ul-Haq:

[In praise of Zia – The Express Tribune

](In praise of Zia)

Here is another story of the mard-e-fraud. I was working for the Military hospital in Riyadh as the financial advisor to the hospital director who was a general in the saudi army. Zia's son and his son in law both worked in that hospital courtesy of Zia asking the king of Saudi Arabia to give both of them jobs in that hospital. His son in law used to tell us that how he was saving all his salary to go to UK further medical studies. One day the general called me into his office and gave me a letter to read. It was from Zia to the king asking him to pay for his son and SIL to go to UK and complete their studies. As they used to work for the military hospital the king had sent the letter to the hospital and asked the General to pay their expenses from the hospital budget. I still remember the general making some sarcastic comments about Zia. I told him that if it was up to me I would tell Zia to get lost. The general said unfortunately he couldnt because the king had instructed him to pay from the hospital budget. Doesnt say much about him. He might dress up and travel at night through the city but he himself used to go begging from others for his own sons. Wonder whether he did the same for other Pakistanis to get them educated.

How different other leader would have been during soviet invasion of afghanistan? what would have been most suitable action by pakistan as a nation to that crisis?

We should have stayed away from helping create the jehadi monsters, and on the flip side tried to improve our relationship in the region (Afghanistan and Russia).