Legacy of Bhutto

It is been discussed every now an then, can anyone please tell me what it is? and how Bhutto implemented it??

As far as the political career of Bhutto is concerned, he was in politics and mainly in the govt for about 20 years.. he started his career like many landlords of his time and worked with the dictators of that time..till the time he became so addicted to the power that even after loosing elections of 1970 to Awami League he insisted to remain in power ( some thing we saw in the 2007 elections of Kenya and later in Zimbabwe) at the cost of the country…

After Fall of East Pakistan, he formed govt. in Pakistan and being the most powerful prime minister till date in the history of Pakistan… nothing much he did to improve the life standard of Common Pakistanies, infact if we do number crunching then it was then when the living standards of Pakistanies started to move in decline with hundreds of industries being nationalized and thousands of Jahil Jiyalas being appointed as the Chief Executives of once successful business…

By the end of his term, he committed another crime which says further support my claim about his addiction to power… a massive DHANDLI in 1977 election in order to secure 2/3rd majority in the parliament…

Last but not least, nothing he did to improve cities of Larkana, Sakhar… they were mud huts then, they are mud huts now… it is same when we see that nothing the feudal lords of Southern Punjab such as Lagaharies, Mazaries, Dolatanas, Tiwanas and list goes on did anything to improve the life standards of the cities/region/area they are normally elected from…

Looking at his political career, this is what i am able to extract about his legacy

1. Stick to power at any cost
  2. Even if you loose election do what ever it takes to be in power
  3. destroy the industry of the country
  4. Do not develop more cities, instead create division between the people of cities and rural areas
  5. Promise alot deliver nothing, at the time of election blame USA and Establishment for all the mis doings, promise again and cycle goes on

Re: Legacy of Bhutto

Sab batain Ghalib pehlay hi keh gaiay hain;
Dil say uthta keh jan say uthta hay
Yeh dhooan sa kahan say uthta hay
دل سے اٹھتا کہ جان سے اٹھتا ہے
یہ دھواں سا کہاں سے اٹھتا ہے

This is the problem of most Bhutto haters.
They have no one to praise
So they do this.
Carry on to make your self happy.

I have been to Larkana - the Bhuttos would not even urinate there yet the good people of Larkaan idolise them. I was ashamed of what I saw in Sindh. The PPP have been in government quite regularly yet Sindh is still quite backward. It was upsetting to see most of Sindh in such a bad state. *Did the Bhutto's care for their own people? *

Time and time again people like Anwer Pasha use the Takht-lahore, Punjab exploitation card to win their arguments. At least the Punjabi leaders have bothered to invest and make some improvements to their areas. Have the Bhutto's bothered to invest in education and health in Sindh?

How can PPP supporters justify the poverty in Sindh when their political party has been in government so much. Musharaf did more for Sindh in 7 years than the PPP have done for 40 years! The Bhuttos are not pushing for social mobility and social progression but doing the opposite - they ally and tie themselves with the Shah/Pir culture which keeps the poor down and subjugated.

Gilani is doing some work in Multan and zardari in Nawabshah. The Bhuttos's have done very little for their core areas. What do you expect? They have spent little of their lives there! They have no attachment to their land and people. They are much worse than the other leaders of the political parties in that sense.

I hate the MQM but it has done quite a bit of work for Karachi. One may complain about the PML-N but it did a lot of work in Punjab at least*. What do the Bhutto's have to show except a tradition where now leadership is chosen by bloodlines*.

In terms of doing for the local people the PPP have probably done the least - the regimes of Zia and Mushraf get more praise, PML-N can show it has done more in Lahore than PPP in all country, the MMA did some development work in KP, PML-Q has done quite a bit, MQM has done more!

*Sad thing is when people criticise Bhutto his supporters take it very very personally. They cannot think in an other way. They do not understand constructive criticism. In fact the only reason why people are more likely to criticise the Bhutto's more is because of the blinded supporters who keep on harping on about him. Nawaz Sharif and other politicians do not have the same type of close minded followers as the Bhutto's have. *

Stop boring us with fibs about the Bhutto's and we will stop criticising him!

PS - there is no special legacy except the creation of the feudal nature of PPP. It is a family affair!

well said Hanibal.

You normally avoid topic under discussion and says something else... being a devoted JIyala and worshiper of Bhutto please tell us about his legacy....

zinda hay bhutto zinda hay... that is the legacy, khali kholi narebazi

^ agar kal bhi zinda tha aur aaj bhi zinda hai vuttooo tu phir barsi kis ki manna rahey hain itney paisey lagga kar?

quite baselss post!!! wonder whts the point of this?? u seem to know verylittle abt his life history!

just look up for his accomplishments!!! wht he has given to Pakistan and wht Zia regime did to him .. nobody deserves to die like that!
since his case is reopen now ... the world will see who was the real culprit ... and who ruined Pakistan .. zia or Bhutto! ...

^ Both.

In their own unique ways.

What a democrat that he actually stole power from a person who won the majority of the votes in the national assembly and could have actually gotten a comfortable majority with ANP etc as allies in West Pakistan. It seems mirpuris who have left pakistan in the sixties and seventies are still stuck in the bhutto fantasy land.

you must be talking about Mujib ... Yes, he did won majority of votes, ... but it was west Pakistan,yahya and Pakistan army who didnt wanted him as the prime minister ... Bhutto had asked him to form a coalition govt ... but all the talks with mujib failed .. and Bhutto had already distanced himself from tht stupid yahya .. cuz he knew wht he was up to ... infact, lets not forget Bhutto and among many others crticized yahya regime for falling short and not being able to protect the entire Pakistan ... it was Yahya was short sighted and ruined evreything which resulted into losing east Pakistan

its really sad to see how you guys bash him knowing tht hes no more, he is certainly not reponsible for wht we are going thorugh now .. have you ever tried to find out abt his achievements and wht Bhutto has given to Pakistan .. the countless reforms(education, health, life insurance e.t.c) the very first Islamic conference, simla agreement in 1971 ... and how he started to work on more mutual foreign relations with other countries, nuclear power .. i can write pages abt his achievements .. but i guess i shouldnt waste my energy cuz .. you guys are filled with so much hatred and ignorance that it would be a waste of time!

p.s I'm not a mirpuri :)

Idhr hum udhr tum? ;)

he said that right around when ANP and JUP were ready to go meet mujeeb in dhaka OR tearing up that polish resolution in the UN. Lets also not forget the close links with many of the actors that transpired the events in E. Pakistan were die hard pipliyas. One such example is Tikka khan who went to jail for his pipliya beliefs in zia era.

Agreed to some of his 'achievements' but when someone tries to acquit him from East Pakistan separation (and other mistakes), that is where the bias is so clear.

He did that again in 1977, so how come he should not be considered as a power hungry person and short-sighted man?

Did he ever accept his defeat and back down on both occasions to thwart oncoming problems?

No.

He should have come out clearly of that mess. There were protests and he did not listen.

I think it was more of the work of his jiyalas in 1977, but then bhutto showed them the way that he wanted kursi after 1971.

quite useless thread i guess!!
a jiyala would NEVER admit ZAB was wrong at any point in time and space..will argue and argue and argue never to admit that he was a man and he had flaws..

Har Ghar Se Bhutto Niklega

Tum Kitne Bhutto Marogay

:cb:

guys where did i mentioned that he was perfect and he had no flaws ... ???? ofcourse, nobody is perfect!!! wht im trying to say is that he was def thousands times better thn those corrupt leaders at tht time ... he might have done some mistakes .. just like we all do in our lives!... but he didnt deserve to die like tht ... nobody deserves to die so mercilessly!!! and some of you are talking abt him being power hungry .. but as far as i remember it was ppp who won majority of votes in 1977 elections?? right??? so even then ppl supported him!
it was PNA who faced defeat but they were not willing to accept it ... and this is when zia imposed martial law for his own sick plans. he killed poor Sherpao and accused Bhutto!! ... so who was power hungry in this whole scenario? Bhutto tried his best to work for the betterment of Pakistan since 1971.. he didnt just sit their enjoying his power ... and in the end he was hanged for a murder tht he didnt even commit! ...

and those protest that you are talking abt ... everyone knows tht those conspirators(who were doing protest)had joined hands with zia .. and other foreign powers who couldnt see Pakistan developing, esp cuz of nuclear power prog and they decided tp punish Bhutto and staged all this drama!

i think its better to move on now ... and focus on Pakistan current issues! there is no point of such topics!

If it is time to move on, then why are you so staunchly defending him? :D