Lebanese Mass Weddings ...

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/labanese_muslim.jpg

*Lebanese Muslim brides dance with their new husbands during a mass wedding held at the Roman ruins in the southern port city of Tyre, July 20, 2002. Some 30 Muslim and Christian couples tied the knot on Saturday night, in a joint ceremony staged by the Tyre Festival, designed to overcome financial hindrance to marriage – the festival sponsors the couples’ honeymoon. REUTERS/Marwan Wakim *

is this allowed in Islam? Coz i am prtty sure no..but i just wanna know if it is not allowed then why do they do that?

Janat

i dont think nethings rong there dancin wid there husbands..

Hmmm. Appealing idea if you’re a miser

If you think that looks are more important than character…** YOU’RE DAMN RIGHT!!!**

Theres a sizable christian community also in Lebanon.. so it could be them

NOpe..nothings wrong with dancing with their husbands, as long as its in private and not public

dancing/singing at weddings is allowed

"I want to believe that the dead are not lost to us. That they speak to us as part of something greater than us-- greater than any alien force. And if you and I are powerless now, I want to believe that if we listen to what's speaking, it can give us the power to save ourselves." FM

well a touchy subject -

but not entirely new - there have been such ceremonies before in other parts of the world - Korea or Indonesia ( not sure which one ) recently. Well it is more a matter of culture and individual lifestyle in different parts of the world . In some parts of the world the CULTURE and tradition sometimes OVER RULES the original religeous teachings. Not entirely strange to our society too - some ceremonies in weddings and other occasions we have borrowed from the Hindu CULTURE in india like Mehndi and SEHRA etc etc. It is nothing religeous.

Then again comes the question of HIJAB and pardah . Well this also varies from area to area - We start from a head to toe covering in the orthodox areas - and on the other extreme in some countries ( Turkey for example ) we see women mixing freely with men wearing western attire ( Jeans ) - so my dear friends - This should be looked upon as a tradition and cultural trait - rather then judging it on the Religeous scale.

Ppl
That could be a christian bride ...

"Some 30 Muslim and Christian couples tied the knot on Saturday"

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

..sure a hubby and wife can dance with each other..as long as it is at an appropriate time and place..ie no non-mehrams for both the hubby and the wife.

Originally posted by hk:
**dancing/singing at weddings is allowed

Do back your claims with proof from the Quran or Hadith...

You wont be able to though, because its not permitted.

hk is right

for ur info plz ask ur question here](http://understanding-islam.com/) and find out or Search music in question section please.
Regards

[This message has been edited by schahzad (edited July 21, 2002).]

The bride dancing is muslim since she is wearing a hijab on her head. The one in the background in left is not.

curious to know...is it written in quaran about not dancing in public?
many other cultures do it.......

No one commented on her beautiful dress or the head scarf, but yet we made every possible judgment & are just short of quoting Quran or Hadiths. Isn't that wonderful? :~)

What does it tell us about ourselves? Maybe someone should figure that out from Quran Hadiths & Sunnah as well.

Mashallah!

since the photographer distributed it over the net..i suspect hez a na-mehram!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif

A touchy topic..and i feel ill-equipped to comment. Can someone for my benefit quote some fitting verses/ahadith regarding this.

Jazak Allah!

¨°º¤ Ķämßáķħŧ ͧħq ¤º°¨

Tsk tsk . . . , Look into your culture, do we not go beyond that?

Look unto yourselves!

Apne graybaan mein bhi to jhank ke dekho!

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

It is difficult to say what is impossible, for the dream of yesterday is the hope of today and the reality of tomorrow.

Unless you or anyone can show me Quranic Aayah or Hadith specifically permitting this i dont see how such public displays are allowed in islam.

Everything about them screams haram.

Coconut, thank you for the breath of fresh air! :~)