Leaving kids with family for few days

I and husband are travelling for 12 days,leaving kids (6yo and 3yo, both school-going) behind with my mom. Eid holidays and 2 weekends so it is 5 working/school days for them iA in our absence.

Any tips to make it easy for them,mom AND myself :frowning: It is SO SO hard thinking they wont be with us for almost 2 weeks :teary2: but majboori hai , kya kiya jaye ? They will do good I guess, chhota wala is busy most of the time and doesnt even know I exist :hehe: but elder one is tooooo attached and even tells me before he goes to the loo :smack: Putting them in bed will be tough for mom I guess. Any tips on incentives to keep it smooth ?

I have thought about packing and leaving small goodies with mom for each day for them so they get one every morning or evening if they are good all day ? I dont know .. what else ?

Can you record your voice and leave few messages with them

Re: Leaving kids with family for few days

I will be in touch on whatsapp most of the time iA.

proto I am in the same boat leaving baby wth mum paa she is 2.8 years hope so she settles there but tension ha

OP, is it NOT possible to take the kids with you? i just wonder.

proto, can you move with your mom for few days in advance, and maybe every other night come back home, leaving kids behind. It will be easy for the kids to get used to the atmosphere and transition gradually.

yes, I am going there every weekend now for 2-3 days. Mom is getting her qurbani kay bakray earlier and they will be tied in her backyard until eid so the boys are already excited and dreaming to play and take care of them all day :smack:

no, cant take them along :bummer:

I know. Leaving kids is less hard for the kids and more hard for the parents :D. Niks and I once cut our trip short and flew back the very next day cause we could not stay without our daughters for one more night. They were with my mom.

oh ok…don’t worry, iA, they will be fine with your parents.

the Qurbaani bakras will definitely divert their attention. Good Luck N Bon Voyage! :slight_smile:

Allah aapkaa safar saath Kahiriyat ke pooraa kare…aameen, summaa aameen :slight_smile:

Ameen and thanks :slight_smile:

I wish I could cut it even shorter :bummer: All kind of negative and horrible thoughts keep hitting me all the time :frowning: :frowning: esp when recently the situation of law and order has gone bad in Lahore with children being kidnapped and what not. I told mom to keep them inside , no outing or play area/ rides trips chahay royayn pittay’n. PS3,tablets,TV whatever .. all indoors.. annkhayn phoot jayen beshak but ghar safe tau hain na atleast iA. :frowning: younger one is restless and extremely naghty and is too dangerous to be with. May Allah keep them all safe. Ameen

nahi inshallah everything will ok. Don’t let these negativities come in your mind. Inshallah kids will remain safe and sound but you will unnecessarily stress yourself out.

Ameen, thanks

I am also going earlier atleast 2 weeks so tht she gets attached , I got a very reliable maid tht will be 24 hrs on duty and no outdoor no roof top terrace, I am so afraid of stairs because we don’t have stairs here n I know she will be attracted to it :smack:

IA, your kids would have great time with their naani. don’t worry much but yes take pre-cautions with the given law & order situation.
its good that they would only remain indoors. also another caution to take is to tell your kids not to tell any working staff at their school that their parents are travelling or going abroad or where ever and that they will be with the grandparents. i mean you never know in today’s situation that who can take advantage of this.

plus you or your husband should also not divulge any such plans on your facebook. i don’t want to scare you but just want you to be careful.

Plus as your kids would be with your mum, she will herself take extra care of them as grandparents are always more cautious or over cautious with their grandkids :slight_smile: so you need not worry for that.

playing with bakras would surely keep them busy and excited for most of the time. further your mom can allow them to do some activities or games that they are not allowed at their own place. for eg. if you don’t allow them to have late night desserts, perhaps your mom can give them this liberty so that they cherish their stay there and don’t make it hard for your mom.

All the best for your trip and may your kids and mom have a wonderful time together.