Learning Matlab

@geminifromkhi and @us1415 since both of you are computer graduates so help me out. I need to learn Matlab, which books would you recommend someone with a medical background. I remember basic arithmetic and basic algebra andthats it. Sowhat do i need to know to learn Matlab.

Re: Learning Matlab

I usually try the tutorials. Here is something on youtube:

man I hate matlab, I needed to implement genetic algorithm (not using the one in the Matlab toolbox) and I was all over the place. I better off with Java!

@OP

I think Matlab also has some tutorials in help section but youtube videos are good and there are dozen forums online as well. Google is your friend!

^ I started reading Matlab for Neuroscientists a few days back and as soon as i reached chapter 3, i was like wth. I chose biology/ medicine to get away from maths, lo and behold it came after me with its big tongue sticking out making fun of me.

I did try using Google, there were divided opinions on what is the best program for neurosciences Python or Matlab, and i was like, i can't get past chapter 3 and poof there's another program that i need to learn. Ek to ho nahi raha aur doosra bhi agaya.

I would rather suggest using coursera to learn any of such tools. Reason being they have well formed lectures, sessions and discussion boards. Plus they give you assignments and quizzes which can add on top of your learning curve. https://www.coursera.org/course/matlab

That being said, learning a tool is one thing and having it used to solve a problem is something else.

Given a choice I would always side with Python. Python vs Matlab — Pyzo - Python to the people :joel:

Matlab is more high level language, so its going to easier to do then python.

Assuming you don’t have done programming before.

Remember “The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers.
Richard Hamming
So try to understand mathematics with pencil and paper first.
Then have fun using matlab for graphs and quick computation. etc

Worst thing you could do is try to lean math and scientific computing at same time. Do little math.. little computing…

python would be programming language of choice for any programmer (other than C, i love C) but for a non programmer, using python would be a nightmare. MatLab provides so many high level functions and built-in algorithm that it will ease up their life quiet a lot.

Check out all the zen in this post!!

what exactly will you be using Matlab for? its a fantastic tool, but most folks just need a couple of the toolboxes besides the basics of programming syntax.

There is a lot more help for python online then it would be for Matlab I think.

Lets say there is a study on visual memory using EEG, based on the results that i get from the study , i need to analyse, interpret the data and then be able to project graphs for it. Oh not to forget neural encoding and decoding, signal processing, constructing GUIs and yes the being able to use the Psychophysics toolbox, the neural network toolbox and God knows what other toolboxes that i need to learn and how to use them (i ain’t got a clue as to what i just wrote, had to go past chapter 3 and see wth it was used for :bummer: ).

So simply put, taking teeny-weeny neurons and their functioning from the beautiful realms of biology to the big, bad and ugly world of maths and computing :teary2:. Why can’t people just leave things the way they are, why make it complicated for themselves and others :frusty:.

As far as python vs matlab debate is concerned, i guess its a globally nay universally accepted fact (once i googled for it) that python is much better, but everyone on neuroscience forums agrees that for biologists matlab is easier to learn and to use. Maybe if i get the hang of matlab and survive through the process, i'l go for python , then may be who knows C, C++, DEFGHI....:D

Btw thank you all for helping. You guys are simply awsome.

well if there is already a toolbox, it is as simple as it gets. someone has already done the work for you. you just need to learn basic syntax and use all the functions someone has already neatly packaged into the toolbox for you. stop complaining. :smokin:

python better than matlab? yeah… no. python is a single silly baby, matlab is a civilization. python is a speck of cosmic dust, matlab is a cluster of galaxies orbiting a blackhole formed of python’s dreams collapsing under its own gravity.

As i said earlier im stuck at chapter 3 so i had no idea that i just need to figure out how to use the toolbox which btw is discussed in chapter chapter 8. Anyways thanks for letting me know.

About the python vs matlab debate, you could be right, but as i mentioned earlier i have a background in medicine, i have no knowledge about computer programming. When i googled, there were different opinions as to which programs are best for computational neuroscience, some said python, some matlab and some even said R and OCTAVE. I chose to go with matlab because there was a book especially written for non computer professionals and was easily available.

Having said that its still hard for me because i will have to learn on my own, through trial and error and by the looks of it, it may take a considerable amount of time and effort to learn it. Approximately how much time would you suggest it will take someone to learn if they solely focus on this? As you said stop complaining, start learning. Learning here we go.

P.S. @ the analogy:rotfl:you just crushed/KO python out of its existence and the universe.

Matlab needs practice! You need to be introduced to it in first semester to start workIng its toolboxes later!It's like math works! It's generally part of course load, and assignments based on matlab generally ask you to master dialtones dualtones, polytones etc.! I have done spectral analysis in it!

I have done sound spectral analysis in Matlab in B.Sc.! put in sound files of basic daily noises and anaylsed it in matlab! End result, I worked out different comb and notch and basic FIR filters through it and C++!

Lol @t queer here who helped me! :)

here you go.. your first like.

@queserasera I am so sorry, I dont remember the name of that book!

It’s ok. No problem.