Lawson: Easy to overstep the mark when players' families' lives are at stake

I’m willing to bet 100k that this kidnapping threat came from Muttahida Qaatil Movement and it was for a Karachi-based player. probably Fawad Alam. I’ve never heard so much whining for one player…

what a pathetic cricket culture we have. this is what Malik and Lawson had to put up with while trying to build a winning team.

Easy to overstep the mark when players’ families’ lives are at stake

Geoff Lawson
August 31, 2010

People have been quick to judge the Pakistani cricketers, but what is happening might have nothing to do with money.

If these allegations of fixing are proved, it could be related to extortion, threats, and the well-being of their own family members. It would not surprise me if illegal bookmakers have told players that if they do not perform X and Y, their families will be kidnapped or harmed.

**In my time as Pakistan coach, I gained some incredible insights into the workings of the country and the team, and I’ll never forget the time the team captain called me up to his room on the eve of a match.

Earlier that day, a player who we had not selected for the game approached me, saying: ‘‘I was told I would be playing tomorrow.’’ My response was, ‘‘Well no, you’re not, you’ve obviously been given the wrong information.’’

Then the skipper of the side called me late in the evening. I went to his room and he was standing there with a very sombre-looking selector.

This selector said: ‘‘We must pick [the player who had earlier approached me], I have been told that if he is not in the team tomorrow, my daughter will be kidnapped and I will not see her again.’’

At first we both laughed, but then we realised he was being serious. Our chairman then called the president, Pervez Musharraf, who in turn phoned the people behind the threats and said they had better reconsider or else. The next we heard the matter had been resolved.**

We must also remember that we are judging these guys by the standards of our own country, when their situations are vastly different.

The first time I met Mohammad Amir was when he was 16 years old, coming to an under-19s camp. He comes from a small village near the Swat valley and was delayed by three hours because the Taliban had closed the highway. That doesn’t happen in this country. One thing that struck me about Amir was his constant smile, his zest for the game. That has not changed.

I will never condone any form of fixing, but we should consider that a cricketer might not be thinking of personal gain but of getting money to buy a generator for his village because they don’t have electricity.

I had a lot to do with Mohammad Asif and he was always missing training sessions to look after his sick mother. He has spent a lot of his money on looking after his family.

If Salman Butt is involved in any match-fixing, I would be absolutely stunned. He is a very intelligent, polite guy and has done well since taking over the team.

I cannot remember one incident in my time as coach of Pakistan that aroused suspicion of a fix.

I had my eye on it when Asif and Shoaib Akhtar had come back from their nandrolone bans. We had a meeting about match-fixing and spot-fixing.

We were pretty consistent during my tenure. The players knew there were financial rewards for performing well.

My first reaction to this latest news was sadness. These are people I know, people I call friends. This will probably be the end of some careers.

I don’t think Pakistan should be banished. We have seen them survive some incredible on- and off-field turmoil. You shouldn’t throw the baby out with the bathwater.

But I will say that the present Pakistan administration cannot escape some of the blame for this. What they need right now is positive leadership and they don’t have it. The Pakistan Cricket Board chairman, Ijaz Butt, is not a leader, he should not have the job.

When I was there, the board did not have people with vested interests, they were business people who treated people fairly. The first-class players were looked after and paid well and it made a difference.

It would be the greatest tragedy if a young man like Aamer has been led astray.

Re: Lawson: Easy to overstep the mark when players’ families’ lives are at stake

Man… this guy always backs up Pakistan :k: despite the ignominous behavior of the PCB towards him in the past.

Re: Lawson: Easy to overstep the mark when players' families' lives are at stake

I'd think it has more to do with Faisal Iqbal who has connection with under-world (you know how :D) while Fawad Alam is just plain talented Karachiite.

PS: You should stop burning your energy regarding Fawad Alam issue, no need to stoop to that level.

Re: Lawson: Easy to overstep the mark when players' families' lives are at stake

I'm not burning any energy. I've just never seen a player get this hyped up. I mean even Aamer doesn't get this much hype and he is a once in a generation talent... an unparalleled diamond. I've never seen anyone as good as Aamer since wasim retired.

I don't think this is Faisal Iqbal. his underworld connections would emanate from Dubai thanks to Mamu dearest... but this incident has the classic MQM signature on it. especially when you consider that the threat was taken back when that dictator dog Musharraf intervened. must have been Muttahida Qaatil Movement. and if it was them, I'd be surprised if it was for Iqbal. my guess is it was for Alam.

samb thats exactly what i thought after reading the story specially when he says Pervez Musharraf was called who settled the matter. Pervez Musharraf will not know a local crook. And probably it would have been about Faisal Iqbal.

Re: Lawson: Easy to overstep the mark when players’ families’ lives are at stake

definitely. he has behaved with nothing but class… all the more remarkable and worthy of appreciation when you consider how poorly the unprofessional PCB and Ijaz Butt treated him. they tried to humiliate a good man who was trying his best. he continues to prove what a classy guy he is with each interview. has said nothing but good things about Pak cricket even as we lurch from one disaster to the next.

thank you Geoff.

Reason Fawad Alam's name keeps coming up is because of our umpteen batting failures within a very short span of time and PCB keeps going back to previously tried and tested failures.

I disagree. Musharraf used Muttahida Qaatil Movement extensively for his nefarious purposes. for example, during the Chief Justice movement, he told Pervez Elahi to have Iftikhar Chauhdry murdered during the long march. PML-Q and Elahi refused to their credit.

then he gave the same task to Muttahida Qaatil Mafia. and we all know what happened on May 12th. if they'd gotten a chance, I'm sure Iftikhar Chauhdry would be marhoom now.

it has to be Muttahida Qaatil Mafia terrorists behind the kidnapping threat. the only question is for which player. and I think it was Alam.

Aamir needing money for his village is a pathetic excuse. When youre an 18 year old fast bowling sensation in the subcontinent, you can definitely earn money the right way.

why not the name of other players? why not Umar amin, Azhar Ali, etc. Azhar Ali was known for having a decent technique and more importantly good temperament in domestic. and he showed it too. took him forever to get into the team. didn't hear any mourning for Azhar.

so what's the obsession with Alam? I'm just sick of hearing his name all the time. and everyone whining about him as if keeping him out is as big a travesty as keeping the next Miandad out of the team. he is NOT the next Miandad. if he was, his performances would not permit anyone to keep him out.

I am not a Fawad Alam fan so you can continue to bash him, I just thought of some points I could present in his defense.

dude I'm not bashing him. I just don't get the insane hype he gets from fanboys.

samb you have absolutely no idea what you are talking about. LOL nevertheless carry on i'm enjoying it.

please enlighten me o wise one.

The article is talking about Imran Farhat. Fawad wasn't even anything popular back then. He was just starting his career and it was around that time period when he impressed everyone in the domestic T20 tournament and won all the awards for it. So it's definetly not him.

Plus, Fawad's selection has always been on merit. The guy has the highest batting average in domestic cricket and has maintained that over the last couple years..plus he averaged 40+ in the ODI series against Australia yet he was dropped for the Aussie series in England right after that? He is the only Pakistani to score a 100 on debut outside Pakistan. So stop saying he is over hyped. He is hyped rightly so because he has shown a lot of promise and good temprament...yet he always gets the short end of the stick.

If you guys remember, Imran Fathat's father in law had a open spat with Naseem Ashraf over his selection issue and naseem ashraf went as far as banning him to even come inside the PCB head office.

Further proof of this is despite his GARBAGE performence in every test match recently, there was no sign of dropping him and he played in every single test match this series and the one in Australia.

Instead of appriciating the fact that the chairman and patron of PCB intervened and solved the issue right away, you people are critisizing them. No wonder we are in such a mess as a country. People have their heads stuck up their ass and have blind hatred towards certain people. Grow the f*ck up.

mere gaon main bijli aai hai..... ?

Maybe the threat was by another Mohajir : Don Dawood Ibrahim. After all he earns obscene amount of money through his betting rackets spread all over the world.

Life ban would not be right for Aamer
…Mohammad Aamer should not be banned for life as some have suggested.

This is not because it would be tragic for cricket to lose such a wonderful talent but because at his age, thrust suddenly into international prominence, he cannot be expected to exercise the same judgement as elder and more experienced players.

There must, sadly, be no mercy (and therefore life bans) for senior men found guilty of deception, especially if they have been in a position of leadership.
Rumours are not facts but it is suggested by some that players and their families have been threatened by criminals if they do not co-operate…**

samb, you lost some serious credibility here. I can understand your point but when there are more than one possibilities your attitude towards a decent (from Pak current batting standards) player is pure bias. Faisal and Farhat are more likely the culprits.

Geof, though I salute your support for Pakistan cricket but if these guys are culprits than there should be life time ban on all of them. We don't want players taking it easy after another 6 or 8 years pass. The game will lose the remaining charm in it and specially ppl will lose all interest whenever Pakistan is playing. PCB must send these guys back to London and have them stay there until Scotland Yard submits the report. If they are proven innocent then crown them otherwise life time ban.

Knowing Asif's antics i think it was his bahana 'Sir ji Meri Ammi(Veena) bemar hain aaj homework nahi kiya, sir ji maaf karden'

Anyway good article at least some people are standing behind the Pakistan team and trying to show a different angle, instead of thinking like sialkoti lynching gang.