Lawn mowers

It is amazing there is only one grass but so many types of lawmowers…I have a simple electric one with a long cord…so every time I mowe my lawn I have to lay the cable in a proper manner so that I don’t end of cutting the cable itself…then I have to unplug and move the whole setup to the back yard after mowing the front yard. I have a nice grass in the back yard too…some people have flat concrete layed out but I like some grass, some deck and some concrete.

Anyway talking about lawnmowers…Are gasoline ones better than electric? Is the rotating blade better than the little chain saw type? The they come in so many different horse powers…they range from 2.5HP to 15HP…I mean 15Hp..come on it is for grass not to mow your ganney da khait. it is not like you will be mowing a forest or soemthing… what is appropriate horse power for normal grass?

:smack: too many bored ppl on this forum. Thanks for keeping us entertained.

Chann ji, stick your cord on the knob of the lawn mower. That way it won't get in the way and you'll finally be able to focus on cutting the grass. Although I must say that if the grass has been growing for ages then you have to be a bit careful cutting it as it may have some hidden plant or tree root beneath it that you might wanna keep. Yes, I know when I say "might".

Chan jee, chaitee mow ker lau werna oolee lag jaangee.

lately I have been using burrito-fueled lawn mowers.... which is 4mp (mexican powered) it works pretty good since they deligate the job to some weird machinery that does their job, lazy arses.

in general when I have time I use gas pwered ones and they are more powerful than the electrical ones and you don't have to worry about the wires and stuff.. last year I looked into battery powered robo-lawn-mower .. you can start it and go inside and have virgin pina-colada while the robo is mowing your lawn for you... it had OK reviews... these are still in their infancy but soon they will be widely available... I think they cost around $500 or so... problem is they can only mulch no bagging.. so you will end up spending money on dethaching after some time.. one issue leads to the other ...

Re: Lawn mowers

*Originally posted by ChannMahi: *
I like some grass, some deck and some concrete.

a hardwood deck i assume? talk to roman he may be able to provide you with a wood deck in your backyard, and if u ask nicely he may even pour the concrete. he may ask you to trim the grass first though

Yeah through that entire post of yours I am sickened by the concept of a “virgin pina colada” May you get cursed by the mujeres de isla de mujeheres en cinco de mayo via dia de muertos. :nono:

CM,

Straight and flat terrain less than 30 feet across, an electric one will be ok. Over 30 ft across and flat, a 3.5 to 5.5 HP mulching mower would do the trick. Terrain hilly and more than 50 ft across, Yardman 6.75 with pivoting front wheels is your best option. Costs about $600 Canadian which must be like $35 US. For about $500 US you can get a Robomower that mowes the lawn all by itself.

I like the idea of robomower...just turn it on and leave it to work.

Fraudia: I know roman is quiet a mower...I hear his yards are clean like chhaRhey de paTT....dukaan khuli rehti hai magar koi gaahak nai aata.

First, you must address your questions to the white middle class middle aged males that frequent Gupshup. We have lawn care genetically bred into us, and there is nothing that white males like, other than sports, more than a good conversation on lawn care.

With all due regards to my brown brothers here, the wrong questions are being asked. First, what kind of grass do you have. Bermuda grass? Rye, bluegrass? What region of the country do you live in? Is California really correct, and what region do you live in? For example, chronically wet grass is bad for mulching type mowers, as the grass puree sticks together when wet. Bermuda grass needs to be cut higher, as it is not as thick as rye or bluegrass.

Mulching mowers are generally better, as they recycle the clippings back into the lawn, where they quickly dissolve and become self-fertilizing. But if you cut your lawn short, or if your yard is frequently wet, then you should get a side discharge. What do you currently do with your clippings? Are you planning a mulch pile, or to put the clippings in the trash? I would wager that if you are mowing with an electric now, that you have a very small yard. If this is true, then a simple mower with a 3.5 to 4 Horse Power engine will be a big improvement, and should not cost you more than $300. The mowers that cost $500 plus have a propulsion feature that eliminates pushing, but they can be very heavy and awkward for a lot of trimming, as the propulsion mechanism weighs a lot.

Take a picture, or some measurements of your yard to the local Home Depot, or to your John Deere dealer. They will be able to guide you, the folks at Sears are a little more hit and miss...... Alternatively post a picture of your yard in the image gallery.....

Good Luck..

OG, to answer your questions on the type of grass...yes I know the type...it is Green grass....except few months of a year when my sprinkler system loses it memory it gets a little yellowish.

Secondly calling other people's yards small does not fly very well in the desi world...even if my yard is smaller than your king size bed...you still show your surprize at the sight and say..wow..it is huge. or I might not open the door next time for you.

again I have a lawnmower that works just fine..I was only wondering what other people are using. in other words it is not about my lawn...it is about your lawn dammit.

Channji, since when have Sikhs started to mow their grass?

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
Channji, since when have Sikhs started to mow their grass?

When the grass gets too long. jiss kaaH che makan ee luk jaayay onooN katna ee painda ay.

madhanee, like elephants have teeth..dikhaan lai hor te khaan lai hor..same way we sikhs have lawns..dikhaan lai hor te khedaan lai hor. kade tusi saaday naal kheday howe te pata challe.

After reading this diabolic thread I am not sure whether to invest in a John Deer or Gillete Mach III. :rotato:

*Originally posted by Roman: *

When the grass gets too long. jiss kaaH che makan ee luk jaayay onooN katna ee painda ay.

aaho je makaan single story bangla howe......

The thread was not diabolic till Madhanee was released from ... whatever he was doing. Now its a joyride, downhill. tsk tsk.

Matlab 'dau acre tey bangla'?

nahi...bhaweiN 2 marla da plot howe....makaan tin manzlaN hona chahida. unjh wadday wadday plaataN te nikkay nikkay makaan bahut ne.

lekin paa jee, tin manzla imaaret dau marlay tey howay gee tey ziaada dair nahee khaloye gee..dig pay gee. Feer ohvee masla hoyga jaida Italy wich Pisa naal hoya see.