law n' terms

:salam:
I’ve got a very basic question, if someone would care to answer - What is meant when you use the following terminology: R v Wood; in a legl case? I mean, what do the letters R v signify? I’ve been reading this research paper for an assignment and I’ve come accross many such abbreviations: R v Wood, R v Sheppard, R v Crochane, R v Spiby … Is this some sort of referencing?

I really hate this assignment cause I don’t know what to do :mad: … I hate such boring assignment … ‘Critical Analysis of bla bla’ … they just get on me nerves simply cause I don’t know what to do (even though I’ve gone through some neat tips online). Can anyone please help me out here? :crying:

Here’s what I have to do:
Critically analyse a research paper, which relates to the “Admissibility of Computer generated evidence” … I’m a technical guy n’ all this law n’ critical analysis of someone’s work is agonising … I need pointers people …

Jazak Allahu khaira 

P.S: let me be upfront: the above question is an assignment and I NEED help!

Re: law n' terms

nos, from what little I know, I thought the legal citation format was "plaintiff v defendant" and that's what the v is for... dunno if that holds true in your case - perhaps "r" is short for some recognized entity in the paper that you're reading??

aah... so you're reading on computer forensic evidence - nice! I'd like to touch base with you sometime... is this simply an assignment or does your MS program offer a course in forensics?

For your assignment, you're prolly going to use a lot of stuff from the Shop-Book rule and the Business-Records exception to the Hearsay rule in your write-up. I'm somewhat familiar with the former of the two in establishing relevancy of evidence... additionally, you need to critique the authentication of evidence using other legal rules as well.

I'd read a paper some while back dealing specifically with admitting GIS evidence in court and it had suggested a framework for improving chances of admissability. I dunno if that would help, but I can look for it if you want.

Re: law n’ terms

First of all, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to answer my query, I really appreciate it. I know you’ve got your PhD exams comin up and you’ve got loads to read (I read your thread) and despite the tight schedule you’ve taken time to answer my query … May Allah s.w.t reward you for your good deed, Ameen!

The research paper I’ve got has all cases filed by Regina (R) so I’m assuming they are solicitors or something. Thanks for the clarification buddy :k:

Yes, the research paper is related to Forensics but its not very detailed. Actually, its being taught under the ‘Research Methods’ module (two birds with an arrow). The MSc program’s got only one module on Computer Forensics and its quite interesting. They’ve put it up as an optional module but I didn’t take it. I chose ‘Penetration testing’ instead because I was looking for something more technical and hands on. A friend’s taken the Computer Forensics module and I’m planning to take his notes n’ stuff :halo:

DANG! you got that right pro … the research paper does talk about the exceptions to the hearsay rule i.e. in some cases computer generated evidence was accepted and in some cases it wasn’t … hmmm … smart guy, smart guy indeed … hats off to you again bud :talian:

Admissibility of GIS evidence … bring it on boy … as long as its got the word ‘Admissibility’ in it .. j/k :stuck_out_tongue:

Hmmm … very nice .. I’ve got some good points here Alhamdulillah … Once again, Jazak Allahu Khaira bhai :biggthumb

P.S: If anyone has more comments, bring 'em on … help is much appreciated.

Re: law n’ terms

btw; I came accross the article on admissibility of GIS generated evidence … do let me know if its the same.

http://www.spatial.maine.edu/~onsrud/pubs/evidence.pdf

^^ uff... aur mey dhoondh raha thaa on my network account if I had it saved somewhere. Yes its the same article although I think the one I read was a refinement of this one cuz it was a lil longer with fancy shmancy figures and all.

Is this too specific for your purposes?

amm ... I'm not very sure if it fits in well cause I haven't read the article as yet. I was looking into the 'Shop-Book' rule and the 'Business-Records' exception that you mentioned earlier. I will try to read this one today, inshaAllah.