Latif reported for alleged racial slur

Im curious, what racial slur would rashid have throwed at a gora Gilchrist? To be honest, I dont really like Latif that much, but I dont think he would have done that, as he is a cool character.

Rashid is a man of character and dignity. He's proved that throughout his career. And now even Lloyd's cleared him. Just goes to show the allegations were nothing but a load of crap by the Aussie keeper.

P.S. Its gd rashid's given Gilchrist a "court scare". Mayb that'll knock in some sense in him.

But how could Gilchirsit know that it was a slur..I mean latif doesnt know english and he doesnt understand Urdu or punjabi.

here is latest.Stop this suring thing.get over pal.Issue is finished.

http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/FEB/138918_BLOOMBERG_12FEB2003.html

Pakistan’s Latif cleared of racism, will sue Gilchrist **

Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif says he will sue Adam Gilchrist for defamation of character after being cleared of making a racist remark to the Australian player during yesterday’s cricket World Cup match.

At a hearing in Johannesburg, match referee Clive Lloyd said there was insufficient evidence to substantiate Gilchrist’s allegation. Lloyd had watched videos of the incident.

The 34-year-old Latif, who has played 34 Test matches and 144 one-day internationals, said he’ll take legal action after consulting the Pakistan Cricket Board.

I’m going to take him to court because he has ruined my image," Latif said in an interview. “My reputation in cricket is good and, since I’m retiring after the World Cup, I’m very worried about what happened last night.”

Gilchrist clashed with Latif on several occasions during the match at Wanderers stadium and could be heard asking whether the Pakistan player had made a racial slur. He approached umpire David Shepherd to report the matter.

“I was shocked by a comment I believed I heard yesterday,” Gilchrist said after today’s hearing. “I was upset at the time. I wouldn’t have raised the issue if there was not an offence.”

Gilchrist, speaking before Latif’s threat to sue, said he has a “fantastic relationship on and off the field” with him.

“We’ve shaken hands and I’m happy to say the issue is closed, and I’m confident there’ll be no future problems in matches against Pakistan,” he said.

Latif accused the Australians of trying to damage his reputation because he was the person who accused Shane Warne and Mark Waugh of corruption in 1995. Waugh and Warne were later fined for taking payments from bookmakers in return for match information.

“Me and Adam are still friends but he hurt me a lot and I must clear my name,” Latif said. “I have always played for Pakistan with great dignity throughout my career.”

The ruling means Latif, the only specialist wicketkeeper in Pakistan’s squad, is free to play in Sunday’s match against Namibia. Australia won yesterday’s match by 82 runs.

Australia batsman Darren Lehmann received a five-match ban for making a racist remark against Sri Lanka last month. Lehmann was the first player to be suspended under the sport’s racial vilification laws. Lloyd was referee at that match.

“It would have been a terrible thing for me to have lived with the stigma of being branded a racist,” Latif said.

i think that aussies bowler Brad Hogg shud b ban aswell…
cuz after getting the wicket of rashid, he was like pointing rashid to go out!!
:mad:

Very true…that was a bad behaviour.I wonder if pakistani team management compalined to Refree.

I have seen him speak english countless times, who told you that?

*Originally posted by Spock: *

I have seen him speak english countless times, who told you that?

I saw him speaking english many times when he was captain and that was a sort of english only desi can understand.It was bad.......

But anyway He is a cricketter he is not supposed to be good in a foreign language.

Gilchrist shouldnt have done such a childish thing like that. I lost respect for him as a great Wicketkeeper batsmen. It was more like a revenge kind of attitude from Aussie keeper after that Lehmann incident. "screw me and i will screw everyone' kind of thing. Clive Lloyd is a sane man Thanks God. Rashid should not lose his focus though, jo hoga baad main dekha jaaye gaa.

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

I saw him speaking english many times when he was captain and that was a sort of english only desi can understand.It was bad.......

But anyway He is a cricketter he is not supposed to be good in a foreign language.

Then why brag about his english skill?

*Originally posted by teaser: *

Then why brag about his english skill?

I raised a valid question ..how did Gilchrsit understod slurs???

"Me and Adam are still friends " ,Latif said.

Latif speaks no English and Gilchrist no URDU.
So do they sustain their friendship off the field with the help of a interpreter.

Yaar AQ - No need to clarify anything. Some people just need a reason to argue and fight. These people simply chose to ignore similar comments made by another paki member on this thread aur abhi baal ki khaal nikal rahe hain.

"Rashid cannot speak English and jo bhi kaha hoga woh urdu main hee kaha hoga."

I am not sure if u know but Rashid Latif is a very learned person. He has a degree in Electrical Engineering, has his own web site that he self manages and runs a very successful cricket academy in Karachi where the likes of Younis Khan came from.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I am not sure if u know but Rashid Latif is a very learned person. He has a degree in Electrical Engineering, has his own web site that he self manages and runs a very successful cricket academy in Karachi where the likes of Younis Khan came from.

yep i know that.

Maybe, Latif was telling bowler not to give White balls; and Adam mis-understood it. Afterall, he got cleared on the same day.

Pakistan’s Latif to sue Aussies for defamation

Yeah he must have telling the bowler to give YELLOW BALL :hehe::rotfl::hehe:

Pakistan’s Latif cleared of racism, will sue Gilchrist
Richard Sydenham (Bloomberg) - 12 February 2003

Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif says he will sue Adam Gilchrist for defamation of character after being cleared of making a racist remark to the Australian player during yesterday’s cricket World Cup match.

At a hearing in Johannesburg, match referee Clive Lloyd said there was insufficient evidence to substantiate Gilchrist’s allegation. Lloyd had watched videos of the incident.

The 34-year-old Latif, who has played 34 Test matches and 144 one-day internationals, said he’ll take legal action after consulting the Pakistan Cricket Board.

I’m going to take him to court because he has ruined my image," Latif said in an interview. “My reputation in cricket is good and, since I’m retiring after the World Cup, I’m very worried about what happened last night.”

Gilchrist clashed with Latif on several occasions during the match at Wanderers stadium and could be heard asking whether the Pakistan player had made a racial slur. He approached umpire David Shepherd to report the matter.

“I was shocked by a comment I believed I heard yesterday,” Gilchrist said after today’s hearing. “I was upset at the time. I wouldn’t have raised the issue if there was not an offence.”

Gilchrist, speaking before Latif’s threat to sue, said he has a “fantastic relationship on and off the field” with him.

“We’ve shaken hands and I’m happy to say the issue is closed, and I’m confident there’ll be no future problems in matches against Pakistan,” he said.

Latif accused the Australians of trying to damage his reputation because he was the person who accused Shane Warne and Mark Waugh of corruption in 1995. Waugh and Warne were later fined for taking payments from bookmakers in return for match information.

“Me and Adam are still friends but he hurt me a lot and I must clear my name,” Latif said. “I have always played for Pakistan with great dignity throughout my career.”

The ruling means Latif, the only specialist wicketkeeper in Pakistan’s squad, is free to play in Sunday’s match against Namibia. Australia won yesterday’s match by 82 runs.

Australia batsman Darren Lehmann received a five-match ban for making a racist remark against Sri Lanka last month. Lehmann was the first player to be suspended under the sport’s racial vilification laws. Lloyd was referee at that match.

“It would have been a terrible thing for me to have lived with the stigma of being branded a racist,” Latif said.

© Bloomberg

I raised a valid question ..how did Gilchrsit understod slurs???

common sence, he could have misunderstood what latif said in urdu.

Latif drops legal threat against Aussies

Pakistan wicketkeeper Rashid Latif withdrew a threat to sue the Australia team on Thursday after they had accused him of making a racist remark.

Latif was cleared of the charge after Australia’s 82-run win over Pakistan in their World Cup Group A match on Tuesday.

Match referee Clive Lloyd said there had not been sufficient evidence to prove the allegation.

Media reports on Wednesday said Latif, who was accused of making a remark to wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist, was considering legal action.

But the player told Reuters on Thursday: "I have had second thoughts about the whole affair and decided not to pursue this matter.

“I have cooled down. I was unhappy about being accused but this could harm the game and the World Cup, and I have always had good relations with Adam.”

Earlier Pakistan team manager Shaharyar Khan had said: "For the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan cricket management, the matter is closed.

“We are satisfied with the match referee’s decision. If Rashid Latif was to pursue legal action, he will do it in a personal capacity.”

Latif had said immediately after the hearing that he had “no hard feelings towards anyone, including Adam Gilchrist and the Australia team. I just want to concentrate on the World Cup”.

He appeared, however, to change his mind later in the evening, leading to reports that he might sue.

Gilchrist had echoed Latif’s initial reaction. He said he had been “shocked by the comment I believe I heard”, adding that the pair had since shaken hands.

“Rashid and I have had a fantastic playing relationship and friendship over the years and I hope it can continue that way,” Gilchrist said.