Latif reopens 'fixing' saga

Here we go again. He concedes himself that match fixing has been stamped out by ICC so why stir it up again, except for making a quick buck from the book. :rolleyes:

Latif reopens ‘fixing’ saga](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Latif reopens 'fixing' saga)

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif has promised “sensational” revelations about match-fixing in a new book.

He claims “many players and officials” were involved, but will not name names until the book comes out in September.

**Latif conceded that match-fixing had been stamped out by the International Cricket Council’s Anti-Corruption and Security Unit. **

But he believes betting on cricket, which he describes as “fancy fixing”, is still part of the game.

Latif is a long-standing campaigner against match-fixing, having accused team-mates of throwing matches during a 1995 tour.

He retired from international cricket in 1998 but returned to the Pakistan team three years later and was appointed captain in the wake of last year’s World Cup.

The 35-year-old was soon at loggerheads with the Pakistan Cricket Board after writing to the ICC about fancy fixing, which involves betting on the first 15 overs of one-day internationals.

He was handed a five-match ban last September for claiming a catch in a Test against Bangladesh which he had not taken cleanly and replaced as captain by Inzamam-ul-Haq.

His international career appears to be over after he was left out of a provisional squad for next month’s home series against India.

But publication of his autobiography will ensure his name remains in the spotlight.

“It won’t be an ordinary book. It will have lots of stuff on match-fixing,” he said.

“There will be lots of off the field incidents in the book. It won’t be like others in which players only give details on how they scored runs, took catches and claimed wickets.”

Well timed with an important tour coming up, just like his decision to take a rest against the powerful SA side.

Luckily we have Moin the Champ with the gloves now and Rashid can give his full attention to his book on tittle-tattle.

can somebody please shut rashid up? nobody cares any more.

Whatever respect me and millions of other cricket fans have for Rashid, he keeps loosing it by bringing up this dead topic of fixing again and again. As is Pak was in the limelight when this whole thing started back in the 90's, and people like Latif ensure that this ugly episode never dies down. Its done and over with Rashid bhai, if you don't have anything good to say, might as well stay quiet.

stupid rashid :bailan:

he had to open his big mouth just before the indo-pak series :smack:

Nancy itnee pitai na karo bechare kee. :slight_smile:

The Game Responds:

*Wow, what a pathetic attempt by the attention-seeking shmuck to sell his books. Nobody cares Rashid, your time is over. Everybody has realized what a big hypocrite you are. People, That Is All.*

Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds**:

*Wow, what a pathetic attempt by the attention-seeking shmuck to sell his books. Nobody cares Rashid, your time is over. Everybody has realized what a big hypocrite you are. People, That Is All.* 

He is not a hypocrite, if he wants to write the truth let him.......

So much about the spot light on Pakistan, I hope he writes about PCB, corruption in PCB, Selection committee? (PCB officials taking bribes and selecting players who don’t deserve to be in team), Aamir Sohail.

I think truth should come out because it will only improve things.

poor timing by Rashid. he really should move on from the fixing stuff.

Let him do what ever he wants. He cannot do any harm other then making lame attempts to such a strong match fixing mafia. We all know that now he cant make a come back to the international cricket show.
His career ends here, So he has to do soething to keep him in spot light naa.. waissay his determination needs to be commended.

i don think he is seeking ne attention. he just feels very stongly abt this issue and will be making some observations abt them. big deal. the book will do more gd then bad although not a whole lot of people will be looking forward to it i think.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Nancy itnee pitai na karo bechare kee. :)

shukar karein abhi tou sirf naam ki piatai ki hai kahin nazar agaya tou khair nahi hai :D