Late Nights

What is it with this trend to do shaadis, walimahs, khats, birthdays, aqeeqahs, you name it at ungodly nightime hours?

I mean I’m so fed up of this crap. You go to a party, you are expected to sit there and starve until 11:30 for dinner, and then the host family expects you to be all pleasant and social and wonderfully grateful that you had the privelege of attending such a crap event hosted by immorally unpunctual people??

On top of that, the food at these events is high on saturated fats and high glycemic index foods.

Um, hello, Pakistani people’s genes have a THAPPA marked on them: Diabetes and Cardiac Illnesses, and Athersclerosis.

What the hell is so wrong with starting a wedding ON TIME at 7 pm, and instead of having butt-*&^&&'ed gulab jamuns and ras malai, how about having some darn FRUIT? :aj:

Re: Late Nights

next time tell them u have ur LUNCH-BOX with you, thankyou and start sucking on ur choosni. :halo:

Coz they’re inconsiderate and rude :mad:

I hate when I go over to someones house, they invite us at 6 PM, we show up at 7 PM and half hte ppl rnt even home yet, nevermind the food is not even begun to be prepared, and we’re xpected to sit all nice and happy and polite and smiling and wait until 10 PM for dinner :mad:

I swear, I wanna run my *own home, so I do things on MY terms :mad:

time is of no importance to our ppl. afterall, all they have is time, time and more time on their hands. thats why ppl show up at 7, 8, 9pm when invited at 6. :halo:

u hate the wedding time the most when its ur own wedding....
i mean after all the pary etc is over, its already time for fajr prayer and the couple is half-asleep, not to mention dead-tired....

I don't understand why weddings in Pakistan start so late ... do they really start at around 11 p.m.? I would be asleep by then.

that is why i never go. i need to be in bed by 11. and nothing comes before my sleep. deal people

maybe its a new trend like many other useless trends. when my sister got married [in 94] wedding and function was over by 11pm. my dad was very strict abt time and we asked ppl to show up on time bcoz dinner and other things will start on time so if u came late then its your own fault. Good thing they all showed up on time and everything went as planned. :D

I dont think thats true for weddings here, especially if they are arranged by people in our generation(not urs :p)

ur so right about the punctuality at desi functions. When my sister got married, we were ready on time but most of the guests came in late, which pissed me off. I was surprised to see those guests coming in late coz its wedding for god sake :aj: I m so with u about these desis parties too how pepz come in late which is prolly the reason y they serve the food late and i hate the way we have to smile artifically and act like we are having a good time at the parties of my mom’s friends, ( I hate the way the aunties look at me, most importantly i hate their convs and gossips, most of the aunties back bite and stuff. When finally i start to get happy that we are leaving when we are at the door, the aunties start to have a door conv for 30 mins :mad2: y cant they just say bye and let us go ) therefore i have talked to my mom about it and stopped going there. Hmmm i dont agree with the food part. I love the fattening desi food at the parites, the gulaab jaman and stuff. If i wana eat fruit i would rather stay home and eat it. Though sometimes i do hate some women cooking, the ones that dont even know the abcs of cooking

You mean you get food at 11.30 :eek:. I have waited at times until 1 AM to get fed. But since when did desis care about other people’s time. :slight_smile:

i hate that too..that is so my mom...she shows up late for other pples events..but when she does her thingies, she expects pple to be on time...yeah right, like that'll be happening.....lol...but im always on time...but i hate being too early...but i hate being so late too...have to say salam and shake hands with all the auntis there...then they check out ur suit and jewellery and blah blah blah....

We went to a mehndi of this auntys son, and it was gnna start at 8 pm.. we left the house at 9 pm, go tthere at 10 and ppl STILL were not there!!! :mad: We waited til 1130, the dulha had come out, we were starved, and we left.. we met the dulhan in the hallway on the way down to the mehndi place :cb: and afterwards had liberty burgers :cb:

Mostly paki functions are really badly organized. I'm all for fruit and other fresh stuff when arriving. Fruit and drinks to take away the hunger so that ppl can socialise without making an effort to keep the smily face. Water and drinks should be available all the time. I love food but for some reason I can NEVER eat very much at functions. I think i just loose my appetite when I see ppl attacking the food and eating so disgustingly. The food isnt running anywhere so y do ppl make food mountains on their plates??
And y do aunty loog fill their childrens plates as if the kid is a polar bear?
Oh well guess our ppl will wise up eventually.

free ka to zeher bhi phank jai'n yeh loag. yeh to phir bhi khana hai :D :p

Coz its free !!! :smiley: (not to mention they’ve been waiting forever :mad: and they dont want the other greedy ppl behind em to go n finish teh biryani or saagh before htey’ve had some lol

If I had my own home and was shaadi shuda and everything,w henever guests would come over, I would first offer them snacks like cut fruit n chai (of course).. talk for a lil bit, after a half hour or so, go in kitchen, make some fresh rice or rotis or salad (salan will be made before hand and reheated when served). then serve em (everyone together, I hate hte women eat last thing :mad: ) and then we eat.. a half hour after htey finish eating, offer em chai and dessert (1 healthy optin–fruit chaat, 1 indulgence option–ice cream or kheer or halva or cake :yummy: )..

:bummer:

It's always good to have a snack BEFORE going..that way you won't die of starvation if the event is running late. :)

I always have my unsaturated food before i got to such events. That way i don't have to starve. Also, this way i don't have to sit and suffer just get up when it is gettting close to my bedtime. Who cares about the food....it is just food and i don't eat after 8pm anyways.

its rude and disreapectful, we reccently went to a shaadi, the invitation said 8pm so were there at 8. the barat didn't come till 12.

Its not the case with our family, thankfully.None of our elders approve of any late night function...be it a wedding or a religious type.Mehndis are somewhat different in the sense that we are allowed to stay up late but its only the close family present n ammis/khalas /chachis make sure to wake EVERYONE up for Fajar.

For weddings outside family we don't go there with empty stomach n coming to think of it, late night functions are rare in our city ...I remember attending just one n there we left at 11:00 pm....coz that \was the limit for us. :)