larkiyan ka qehad (lack of) ??

every aunty i meet now adayz is looking for nice larki for their sonz. they keep asking everyone if they know any girl etc.

i dont understand though, there sooo many girls y is it hard for them to find one for their sons, brothers etc? some of them have ridiculous demands as to the girl shud be from back home, or shud be “khoobsoorat” ( chahay apnay larkay ki shakal jaisee bhee ho). some just want decent and nice.

akhir larkiaan sab kahan ghaib hogaee hai? in logo ko itnee mushkil q hai larkiyaan talaash karnay mein?

they cant seem to find girls coz they want "tall..smart..thin..fair...educated...pretty....mba or mbbs...outta this world girl" for their " kala..mota..ganda...hardly literate..unprresentable..Beta"

*Originally posted by monasha: *
they cant seem to find girls coz they want "tall..smart..thin..fair...educated...pretty....mba or mbbs...outta this world girl" for their " kala..mota..ganda...hardly literate..unprresentable..Beta"

As well as this, most (not all, but a lot) of these mothers are on the 'hunt' for an appropriate girl who will not actually be her son's equal. After all, these types of mothers want to retain the #1 position in their sons hearts and any girl who is perceived to be capable of taking over this position is put on the chopping block. These types of mothers usually want a girl who will remain subservient to her and her son so that the mothers can remain in charge and continue to boss around the sons.

Exactly

they have this sick notion in their heads that a pretty and intelligent gorl will grasp their son. :disgust:
so even if the do get a good bahu…they make her life miserable!

i am agree ...sub yahi chatay haiN ke " perfecet" ladki millay jo khubsorat bhi hoo , sughar , paari likhi and list goes on and on :o shadiaaN aajkal waqie eik masla ban gyeN haiN .

:halo:

well obviously these mothers do have reasons to worry and to find nice girls for their sons :–) afterall, we all know how good, educated, smart our girls are, especially pakistani :stuck_out_tongue: i’ve seen a million and one and to be honest, they suck in almost everything … :nook: and most [if not all] don’t even have good character to being with.

:wave:

....Not to mention 2 inch kaa qad or 10 foot kaa nakhra

good, educated, smart our girls are, especially pakistani

aren't they BrainMasala?

i think its just getting disgusting wut these "auntis" look for in a girl. I've always hated when these "auntis" go to a girl's house to look, like she is some numaish kee cheez, for them to look and make stupid faces.

I've seen so many miss matched marriges and even when i was a kid and didn't have much sense abt this stuff, i always made comments abt the mismatch.

True that they have a reason to look for nice girl for their sons, if their son is "nice" too and what is a nice girl? money, pretty, a lots of jaheez, educated (even though their son is a total unpar, i know a family like that)???

and wuts up with this well educated? even if the girl is MBA or wutever, they aren't gonna let her work, so why are they looking for well educated girls?

woti ki tay nakhra ki.:)

*Originally posted by shahzadqu: *

and wuts up with this well educated? even if the girl is MBA or wutever, they aren't gonna let her work, so why are they looking for well educated girls?

Usually for social status so that these aunties and uncles have something to show off about at dinner parties.

Un auntion se kehna…chahiay aap ko model…kabhi apne ghar main bandhay bhainsay ko bhi dekha hai! :hoonh:

So much for the “Aunty bashing”. Gals forgive them, they love they’re sons alot! Pyar andha hota hai!

:love: :love:

good girls are hard to find..thats for sure

*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
good girls are hard to find..thats for sure

:) thats what my friends keep saying.. lekin what is ur defination of "good girl" ?

*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *
lekin what is ur defination of "good girl" ?

an extremely "hot" girl and who is amenable to all of my requests...

I dont know about that. From my experience, as I used to have a lot of rishtas, mash'Allah...I found that looks and education were NOT a high priority with the aunties that I met. I am not good looking and not very highly educated either, yet they seemed to like me for their sons. They told my parents that I was a "nice" girl. As to how they could say that within a day or two, is another question. I think they relied heavily on my parents reputation, and this is what a lot of aunties tend to do from what I have seen.

But I agree, some parents are very demanding, and sometimes I think the boys/girls should stand up to their parents if they feel their parents are being too choosey, unless the boys/girls themselves are that way, but its not easy. However I do believe one should try atleast.

I think its easy to blame "looks" for failed rishta endeavors…. Sometimes looks are not the only thing which people look at...there are a lot of other factors like family backgrounds, compatibility of the couple, environment they r supposed to live in and the list goes on...some factors are shallow and some are not as bad…

I have had to pass on a few girls in the past and I can assure you I would have pursued even if they were average looking..
Girls are very appearance conscious and I don’t blame them for that..majority of the times they are judged based on their looks but what I’m saying is that there are other factors to consider especially in arranged marriages...I think they are just being hard on themselves ..laRkian to mashallah khuda ki naimat hoti hain :-)

Umm, i am not gonna comment about aunties..coz people already said lot of things already.. some things i wanted to mention are: i am not sure what kind of person i'll be if i had to search for a bride for my siblings or future kids. Apna laal to sub ko piyara hota hay..so i can imagine sometimes parents want the best for their kids..their preference can be different..sometimes its surat and sometimes its serat.

My observations and encounters are bit different..sometimes people aren't concerned about looks..sometimes aunties like you for other factors..ranging from if you are a friendly individual..how you respect elders..how you care for others..lot of things that you can't really define..but what makes you who you are..

I truely agree here with Boss..i was gonna say the same. I have learnt this kay sometimes we blame everything on looks and we are hard on ourselves.

Lastly, i would like to suggest something..if any one of you are in a position to raise your views and opinions to some aunties politely..please do so..coz sometimes what we say..we don't realize things. I remember one instance.. i had this relative aunty and she said something about a girl..like uski lambi naak dekhi hay or something. First i was shocked..i thought for a while kay if i should be saying something to her or not. Finally i gathered my courage and said..Aunty agar nuqs insan ki habbit may ho to change kia ja sakta hay..please aisi baat na karain..coz we are created by Allah..and everyone is beautiful..hum kon hotay hain aisi baat karnay walay. Next day she came back crying and hugged me and said..beta i am sorry. I'll never do that ghalti again..So, please..if you hear something about others looks, height, color etc or along those lines..say something.

gosh qrius u r a sweet heart.. i think i shud take lessons to be patient and sweet from u. :)

my mum just wants someone who can drive her around town cuz im too lazy to teach her how to drive :elmo: