Largest mosque in Europe!

Rome, Italy. The largest mosque in Europe.

[thumb=D]moschea3.JPG[/thumb]

The prayer area accommodates 2,500 worshippers. In plan, the complex consists of two parts. The first is a rectangular prayer hall measuring about 60 x 40 m with the longer sides facing the qibla (the Southeast). The second part approximates the shape of an “H” and houses the remaining functions of the complex except for the ablution facilities, which are located beneath the prayer hall. A water channel runs along the longitudinal axis of the H-shaped mass and connects two pools, one located in the centre of the mass and another to the Northeast.

[thumb=D]moschea21.JPG[/thumb]

The prayer hall is raised 8 metres above ground level, with the ablution area occupying part of the volume underneath. The space of the prayer hall contains two symmetrically arranged gallery floors that run perpendicular to the qibla wall. Together, the galleries provide a space for female worshippers about a fourth of the size of the main prayer hall located below them.

[thumb=D]main1.JPG[/thumb]

The prayer hall is articulated by a large central dome with a diameter of over 20 metres. 16 smaller domes surround the large central one. All of the domes are covered with lead and each is articulated with ribs meeting at its apex.

[thumb=D]potoghesi1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1506.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1507.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1509.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1510.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1512.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA1513.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA9832.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=D]IAA9831.JPG[/thumb]

mashaalah :k:

Masha-Allah. Jazak-Allah-Khair for sharing

A Beauty!

Thanks Islamabad

I thought the blue mosque in turkey was the largest? :S

Mashallah:)

** Islamabad** thanx for showing us the true largest mosque Europe
-Salman

Does anyone know who designed it - architect?

That's it - you guys are starting the same crap over again.

Here is what I think.

1. Salman, you've got no right to tell someone whether they are muslim (believer) or not. That's up to God. So by telling someone to stop lying about saying that they 're muslim - that's no better than someone bashing any tenet of Islam.

2. Roman - kya ho gaya hai tumhe? That's all I got to say about you - you know exactly where my thoughts are on this whole shabaang.

Anyone else that I had to address in this thread, I already have. Have a good night folks - please try to sleep - and if you have to, ask your closest relative to chain you to your bed or your TV or your refrigerator to keep you away from the computer if you are itching to spread more hatred and division in this holy month. Even if you do not believe in Islam, at least let some people practice it without raising tensions (which I think for some of you, you folks do it DELIBERATELY because you know you're going to get a reaction out of someone, somewhere.).

Furthermore, anything I see that REMOTELY resembles this kind of turmoil arising again, I will not hesitate to remove the WHOLE THREAD to the Review Folder (and I'm sorry for those of you who want to have a REAL and MATURE discussion on such topics...I would suggest you hold off until this storm subsides).

For now, because these pics of the mosque are so pretty, I'm leaving up only the original harmless postings.

PCG

Oh and if you have a problem with the way I'm handing things here, or if you feel I'm "abusing power" well, then you know what? Go complain to the walls, because I don't want to hear it.

In the words of a Great GUPPIE: That is all folks.

That's a very awesome dome - I know the design isn't celtic...but I can't help feeling that effect in the smooth curves of the beams.

i am in la la land.......

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
[thumb=D].JPG[/thumb]

?

Islamabad, where did that picture come from? It wasn't there before.

ah looks like a technical glitch.

Would you like me to remove it? She's rather quaint.

Islamabad, it is not wise to be talking about things that you do not have knowledge about with such surety. You are calling everyone Ahmadi as if it's a gali.

Anyway, technical glitches are rare but still can happen, it's a software that runs gupshup, not absolute divine law. So, be patient and if our technical team finds a concrete fault, they will let you know.