Large Dawat - Menu?

Hi errrbody wanted to run a menu by you guys for a dawat at our house in a weeks time.

We want the dawat to feel really special because the 7 families who are coming are very close and dear friends but we havent been able to see them for 2 years.

So

A slow roast leg of lamb
Bihari Kebab cooked on the bbq
Rice - was thinking mattar pulao? any ideas?
Chicken - really unsure about what chicken dish to do
Fried masala fish
Bhindi ki tarkari
Raita
Salad

Dessert

No idea what to make to make it a special occasion!

Help guys!

Re: Large Dawat - Menu?

Who puts Bhindi in a dawat :naraz:

Chicken karahi/jalfrezi/butter chicken?

Not a fan of bhindi either. For a vegetable dish, I prefer either palak paneer, or chanay, or mixed medley of veggies with a nice curry.

that is lot of meat... lamb leg, bihari kabab,chicken, and fish

chicken karahi would be an easy chicken dish. Instead of bhindi how about making mix vegetables stew/curry? The rest looks pretty good :D

I like Bhindi!! How about you do bhindi with meat? or khatti bhindi?

butter chicken would be good, everything else on the menu seems kind of "dry", so it would be nice to have a liquidy salan like butter chicken....and I love bhindi! i like it when single veggies are on the menu! another good veggie option would be aloo baingan or even baingan ka bharta...

Bhindi is fine. I myself don't like it but lots of people have it in desi dawats and like it. Alloo ki bhujia, however is more universal but common. For riceyou could do muttar pallo or mutton/ beef pallao. Remember a lot of desis don't like lamb, so you may want to do a mutton leg instead. For chicken, butter chicken / qorma or achar chicken. My achar chicken is always a hit and easy to make with shan masala.

I love bhindi! Don't like mixed veggies, lakin dawat tou apke ghar hai na:) How about having maash ki daal instead, most people like it.

Butter chicken is great idea, but chicken kadai would be a real time saver. Achaar chicken is also a good idea.

For meetha, you could make a quick dessert like ras malai.

Thats what I was thinking too...you have dry items for the meat so far inspiron. If you do chicken, make it a gravy item.

I like bhindi but palak or saag or chanay are always a hit at dawats.

For meetha,

mango ice cream
gulab jamun
ras malai
zarda

lol... my post might not be on time... but rather than bhindi, go for mixed vegetable bhujia (with cabbage, caroort, potato and capsicum in it; or aloo mattar, aur palak paneer etc. Bhindi might not be liked by everybody so u shud think of some vegetarian dishe which us more liked by everybody (consisting of potatoes, spinash etc).

I used to usually make palak paneer or chana salan for veggie items. Once i dared to be different and made achari bhindi. Was a big hit with everyone.

Hi guys the dawat was today! I made bindhi and it was a total hit :) everyone loved it im sooo pleasseddd! even people who dont like bhindi loved it.

For meetha i made Falooda and mum made Channay ka daal ka halwa and there was also cheese cake.

Mains were

Mattar pilau, bihari kebeb, dum ka qeema, roast lamb leg, chicken karahi, prawn curry and home made naans.

me and mum are happy that there were hardly any left overs :)

channy ki daal ka halwa:yummy:
share the MUMZ recipe plzzzzzzzz:blush: