Laptop Keyboard problem

Re: Laptop Keyboard problem

If gas station workers know more than so-called ‘engineers’, then those engineers can take their degrees and stuff them down their gas pipes…

Jahil log…

‘Interrupt driven key matrix’…Aik lafz kya aa gaya apnay aap ko engineer bana betthay…

Abay, har keyboard problem ‘interrupt driven key matrix’ nahin hoti…‘Interrupt driven key matrix’ aik cheez hai…‘Interrupt driven key matrix’ kai ilawa bhi koi cheezain hoti hain…

Jahil log…

Abey gadhey, first go learn what that is, phir samajh aye gi. These keys are connected in matrices and when the decoder isnt working properly, that key can be interpreted as something else, and there are alot of redundant connections that might be shorted, please make sure no one drives off without paying you when you are doing your research n00b. How do you explain him formatting and reinstalling windows not working if its a software issue eh?

A computer keyboard works on interrupt driven logic, nothing else, unless you invented some new technique working all those years at your gas station. And btw, you act like an islamic saint around here, how come you came and started calling ppl jahil in this thread when they were putting forth suggestions, 100 hajj kar lo, nahee sudhro gey.

Apney abba jee sey bhi is tarha tafreeh kartey ho kya? tsk tsk… So explain to me how its a software fault, appu.

The IBM keyboard you most probably have sitting in front of you, sends scan codes to your computer. The scan codes tell your Keyboard Bios, what keys you have pressed or released. Take for example the 'A' Key. The 'A' key has a scan code of 1C (hex). When you press the 'A' key, your keyboard will send 1C down it's serial line. If you are still holding it down, for longer than it's typematic delay, another 1C will be sent. This keeps occurring until another key has been pressed, or if the 'A' key has been released. **
*However your keyboard will also send another code when the key has been released. Take the example of the 'A' key again, when released, the keyboard will send F0 (hex) to tell you that the key with the proceeding scan code has been released. It will then send 1C, so you know which key has been released. *
*Your keyboard only has one code for each key. It doesn't care it the shift key has been pressed. It will still send you the same code. It's up to your keyboard BIOS to determine this and take the appropriate action. Your keyboard doesn't even process the Num Lock, Caps Lock and Scroll Lock. When you press the Caps Lock for example, the keyboard will send the scan code for the cap locks. It is then up to your keyboard BIOS to send a code to the keyboard to turn on the Caps lock LED. *
*Now there's 101 keys and 8 bits make 256 different combinations, thus you only need to send one byte per key, right? *
*Nop. Unfortunately a handful of the keys found on your keyboard are extended keys, and thus require two scan code. These keys are preceded by a E0 (hex). But it doesn't stop at two scan codes either. How about E1,14,77,E1,F0,14,F0,77! Now that can't be a valid scan code? Wrong again. It's happens to be sent when you press the Pause/break key. Don't ask me why they have to make it so long! Maybe they were having a bad day or something? *
**When an extended key has been released, it would be expect that F0 would be sent to tell you that a key has been released. Then you would expect E0, telling you it was an extended key followed by the scan code for the key pressed. However this is not the case. E0 is sent first, followed by F0, when an extended key has been released

Shiraz, its the scan codes that are going in wrong, if its not a short than its something to do with the decoder/keyboard bios (the short might be there on the pins), which is a small IC readily available in Pakistan and can be easily desoldered and a new one put on its place.

Lagta hai koi bohat hi barhay aur shaandar khandaan kai supoot ho…Jabhi foran baap zaat par uttar aae…

Waqai main…Bohat parhay likhay engineer maaloom hotay ho…

Haan actually i was talking about you, but afsoos aap chittey unparh hi raho gey, no matter how hard you try,

I am still waiting for your software fault 'explanation', I am sure we can write a paper based on your new discovery and submit it at an IEEE conference. If you cant offer an explanation, please dont waste my time.

shiraz, is it a toshiba laptop? If so, its a known problem, and a problem with the hardware, I am PMing you a link where this is the recommended solution for this known issue

thank you tmx...i will tell my cousin to replace CONTROL PANEL CIRCUIT only and see if that fixes the problem..i have toshiba satelite and i believe the model is something different..probably the same issue with other models also

in the link you sent me..people have updated their bios too and it helped some of them..do you think that should be done first?