i was looking at engagement pics of a couple of friends who are in pakistan. and my friend was showing me pics of her friends’ shaadi/nikah/engagment. and all we could think about was, omg! the girls look SOO cute! (mashallah) they looked like models. and i am not exaggerating here. just a simple engagement dress with great hair and makeup can do wonders. it was just amazing. but what really struck both of us was that their to be/or been already looked like…well…uncles. i mean, here is this drop dead gorgeous girl, with an uncle looking figure. in the words of my friend “kya rishta kartay huay andhi ho gaeen thiN”. i mean, that was no couple. that was…a mismatch in my opinion. i mean, among the 15, 20 couple we saw that day, only like 2 were perfectly suited.
it is such a langoor kay muun main angoor thing. is there a huge shortage of good lookin’ guys in the world?*
nahh i think it is an arranged marriage, and as far as my friends are concerned, i know their parents are rich, so it is not like they are short of rishtays. and i know those parlors can do anything, but i mean, i know that they look nice just by themselves. but still, i mean, don't people consider age differences anymore? i mean, are we back in the ancient ages, when 13 year olds were sent away to be married to 30 year olds?
Indeed. For my senior picture in high school, I went to Guerlain at the mall - they do that complimentary make-over if you buy something from them. Got my hair done up as well. I looked like a million bucks. And believe me, the way I used to look in high school - all stressed out, etc - you’d think I’d need to go thru cosmetic surgery.
Hmm… I dunno about that. It is not necessarily the money.
I have a friend who got married when she was 18 - summer after high school graduation. She got engaged when she was 16. The guy was 10 years older than her precisely.
Personally when I found out, I was disturbed. But then I met the guy, and it turns out that he worked with her father. The family was concerned to hook her up with a guy who is DECENT and who is HARD-WORKING, and has the ability to move forward and make it out on his own. They liked his character. He never hit on this girl, who btw was one of the most gorgeous girls I have known.
She didn’t want to go to college or work - too much bolly movies for her IMHO. But that’s what she wanted, and when she was introduced to the guy - they hit it off. Thru their engagement, they talked and went out (with the family). We all knew him well - total gentleman.
He had his own business by the time he proposed to her, so he was pretty well off. Minting nice money. But I dont think that’s why she did it. He’s just a MATURE guy.
Which is honestly something that none of the young 20 year old’s in our community are yet. They all get mature when their parents kick them on their behind and demand them to get their own jobs. Then they mature up a little. And if they’re made to live away from home, then they really do mature up.
But most of the boys here live with their mommies. So, you’re not going to find maturity that easily.
Even the boys at my uni live with their moms. And if they dont their moms come down to Miami to do their laundry for them
^ umm.. interesting post PCG.. makes lots of sense. But i dont agree with you saying that guys who live with their "mommies" arent mature. It jsut depends on the way they are treated. My bro is barely in his mid 20's, but the boy matured so early... he's engaged too which has nothing to do with maturity... but i think with a sense of responsibilty, knowing u have to take care of ur parents when they retire, knowing u need to have a house for ur wife to be, and a secure safe environment for ur family... i think that makes a boy grow up into a mature lad..
b/w the reasons why some parents get their young gorgeous girls married off to older men in pakistan, are quite different to the reasons people have living overseas... but who knows..
Well Khumar there is also situations where the girl is not all that great looking and the guy is amazingly handsome. Opposites attract , one day when your in a relationship (I’m not saying your going to end up with a ugly guy or anything) you will understand how when its meant to be you just end up with that person even though others think you are a mismatch.
Why don’t you compare their before and after pictures, so you know it’s not the make-up creating a misunderstanding. While I was in pakistan, I saw the cutest guys standing on the NUKKAR of every GALLY.. :love: .. So, I don’t think we are running out of cute guys at all.
've seen good looking girls in real life with not so good looking guys
tho when I was in pak, there was 1 couple I saw where the guy was REALLY good looking but his wife was just…to be kind, hideous… only time i’ve ever seen the reverse…all the really good looking desi guys i know are with non-desi girls
are you people for real? those women with the makeup caked on desi style look like idiots. You don’t know whether to kiss them on the cheek or take a knife and scrape off a couple of inches of the plaster of paris they have applied to their mukh. :yukh: