Land Reforms proposed by MQM

MQM often refers to agriculture land owners as waderas/jagirdars. The have proposed a bill in the national assembly to restrict the agricultural land ownership to 36 acres in case of irrigated land, and 54 acres in case of rain fed land per family. The basis of such demand is that Islam encourages equitable distribution of wealth. Before proposing this kind of suggestion they have totally ignored these factors.

1. If this principle has to applied, why not apply the same on urban business and property as well.

2. Ill gotten money should be confiscated irrespective of rural urban divide, or agriculture non agriculture divide. Before nationalizing honestly earned assets of private individuals, we should keep in mind our past experiences with nationalization in the name of socialism. We should also consider the economic failures of those societies which have followed this path.

3. Such low land holding ceilings do not encourage any scientific/technological/corporate agriculture. With population growth at one of the highest percentage in the world, can we afford to follow a system which will be devoid of any economy of scales to source modern technologies in this sector.

4. Food and agriculture are said to be the next booming business in the world for next few decades as the population grows and gets urbanized. We can exploit this growth by introducing scientific methods in agriculture, dairy, and food processing. All over the world agriculture is being taken as a business with large companies venturing in this sector. Even in China they are now establishing dairy farms with 20,000 plus animals per farm which requires large pieces of land. Most of the agriculture equipment is not operational when you have land divided in small chunks.

Our urban population can get easily disillusioned with such propaganda which will eventually prove disastrous for our economy:

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2010\10\29\story_29-10-2010_pg3_6

VIEW: Politics of land reform —Haider Nizamani

The agenda of redistribution of wealth and imposing ceilings on movable and immovable property would only appear credible when it includes all propertied classes. Failing that, the demand for selective redistribution would be hardly different from initiatives of selective accountability carried out by various regimes where the coercive arm of the law became a convenient way of political victimisation

Some analysts want to take politics out of the MQM’s proposed bill on land reforms and have thrown their intellectual support behind the initiative based on technical merits of the bill. The law aimed at making major changes in the country’s power and property relations is precisely the stuff politics is made of. Let us focus here on the two key documents regarding the land reforms available on the MQM’s website. A two-page long Urdu document titled, ‘Brief Overview of the 2010 Land Reforms Bill’ provides the background, salient features of the proposed law, logic behind it, and objectives of the bill. The English version has the actual draft of the bill along with above information.

Analysts who have jumped onto the MQM bandwagon tend to offer selective reading of the proposed bill by highlighting the precise landholding ceiling of 36 acres of irrigated and 54 acres of rain-fed per family and a clause to compensate those whose excess lands will be confiscated. Little light is shed on three other integral parts of the bill, namely, background, logic and objective of the proposed law. Even a cursory glance at these features demonstrates how political is the issue that some want to depoliticise.

The first point of the background section says, “It is a proven fact that rotten feudal system is the cause of the country’s all economic, political, social, and societal problems.” Feudalism caused the “tragedy of East Pakistan and the most recent floods”. Feudalism is the reason behind “inflation, unemployment, poverty, load-shedding, and energy crisis” gripping the country. And the MQM’s bill is going to “uproot that rotten system”.

The backgrounder is an exercise in unimpressive polemics with little regard for history or the current situation of Pakistan. Bangladesh was an outcome of cultural, political, and economic exclusion of the majority community perpetrated primarily by a military-bureaucratic clique. The decision to impose Urdu as the state language was championed by Mohammed Ali Jinnah and the Bengali members were shunned from speaking in their mother tongue in the first constituent assembly by the first prime minister, Liaquat Ali Khan. When the military assumed direct control of the country under Ayub Khan with civil bureaucrats firmly on its side, the Bengalis had less than two percent representation in the military. By the mid-1960s West Pakistan’s per capita income was fully 30 percent higher than East Pakistan. The educated, mainly urbanite, civil and military bureaucracies and their ideological minions were the ones who brought about the break-up of the country.

**Even ills like load shedding and unemployment are attributed to ‘feudalism’. According to the recent economic survey of Pakistan, the agriculture sector consumes 14 percent of electricity as compared to 30 percent consumed by the industrial and commercial sectors. Domestic consumption comprises 42 percent and major cities use more energy than much of rural Pakistan. Before a middle class housewife in Karachi thinks that load shedding will be taken care of only if the proposed bill becomes law, she should keep the above figures in mind. **

The section on the ‘logic’ of the land reforms makes an interesting read. The MQM realises landowners, who are likely to lose land due to the new lower land-holding ceilings, may ask for similar restrictions on urban industries, properties, and businesses. The MQM’s answer is that the wealthy in the urban areas have not amassed wealth because of the British granting them those assets before the creation of Pakistan, whereas almost all agriculture landowners of Pakistan possess lands because their ancestors were lackeys of the British and were granted lands in lieu of their support of the Raj.

I have yet to come across the argument of British allocation as the defining principle to expropriate property in the writings of analysts who have thrown their unconditional support behind MQM’s bill. The implementation of the proposed law would require positive proof that the land being expropriated was indeed granted by the British to the ancestors of the current owner. I am afraid there would hardly be enough land available out there which the state could expropriate using that criterion.

Islam is invoked to justify imposed lower land ceilings because Islam “enjoins equitable distribution of wealth and economic powers and abhors their concentration in a few hands”. Unequal access to opportunities and skewed distribution is the hallmark of Pakistani society. Inequality of opportunity cuts across the rural and urban divide. The agenda of redistribution of wealth and imposing ceilings on movable and immovable property would only appear credible when it includes all propertied classes. Failing that, the demand for selective redistribution would be hardly different from initiatives of selective accountability carried out by various regimes where the coercive arm of the law became a convenient way of political victimisation.

The writer teaches political science at the University of British Columbia, Canada. He can be reached
at [email protected]

Re: Land Reforms proposed by MQM

Feudalism is a cancer in our society and must be cured by all means necessary,credit must be given where due! If india did it soon after independance why we are still holding on The Gora Sahib tool of governance!!
Regardless of mqm motives, this is something to which we all should think upon. The Land Reform is a wonderful thought.... As Yazdi pointed out other related facts is also important and thinkable here or in Assembly thats the way we can sort out somthing valueable to come out!! and help us to get out from problems.. but let me say may be all Politicians do the favour in words but in Assembly just MQM counted votes in favour of bill:D its himself allying with Fudels Govt. thou

Is gibberish of Altaf Bhai worth discussing?

*I say parties based on ethincity is blood cancer for the society, therefore Feudalism is much better than mqm type parties. As regard 36 acres drama by mqm, they should know that a long time ago Bhutto also introduced land reforms like in India. According to these reforms, the maximum holding was 35 acres. These reforms miserably failed when landlords divided their lands in their families or under fake names. Or they did it by committing another fraud by getting first the ownership of divided land before giving the land to farmers. *

its a good idea but 36 acres is way tooo little...
plus it has to be based on weather the owner of that land is actually cultivating something or not, this should only apply to those lands where the owner does not cultivate the land...

plus even 36 acres of land need a lot of money for some basic farming (which mazaray/haari do not have, if govt gives this land to them, govt should also give them free seed + fertilizers + machinery, otherwise this land will be useless for them), also an owner of 36 acres land will not be really in a position to buy any machinery just to cultivate this small piece of land

idea is good, but clearly shows that the makers of this "reform bill" lack basics of farming, and they did not really consulted any experts of the field...
also they just wanted the bill to get "rejected" so that they dont harm their relations with the fudels (with whom they currently are in sindh govt, and with whom they previously were in fed govt - pmlq)

khana puri say zyada kuch nahi hay... we actually needs something better along these lines, something practical not only a piece of paper

Very conveniently MQM talks about Islam, but same religion goes out the window when the very basis of their party will be brought up, same religion will be tossed out when discussing "muhajireen" coming out of Khyber-Pakhtoonkhwa.

This whole talk of 'land reform' is crap now, it can only be done when things are in infancy, not when a country is 60+ years old already otherwise it will give rise to another tussle and create anarchy in the country.

I think the numbers of "36 acres" and "54 acres" were put in by Altaf Hussein when his tailor told him his chest measured 36 while his waist measured 54.

I don't know why we are so much obsessed with Indian land reforms. India is hardly a country which can be followed as an example as far as agricultural advances are concerned. Although India is doing a little better than pakistan in agricultural yields, but compared to global standards Indian agriculture can be described as a little better than primitive agriculture at best.

To give you an example Indian/Pakistani cattle yield 1000/1200 liters per annum per animal compared to American/European farms yielding over 10,000 liters. Dutch farms yield over 14,000 while Israeli farms yield over 20,000 liters. Surprisingly Saudi Arabia has become a major dairy and product exporter with huge farms. With scarce water resources they yield over 7000/8000 liters. They grow maize which is major feed for dairy using only 3/4 percent water compared to India/Pakistan using drip irrigation, with 3/4 times higher yield. Al Murai farm in Saudi Arabia has 65,000 cattle with over a billion dollars in sales. Al safa farm is a major partner of Dennon, with over 40,000 cattle they export every imaginable dairy product from Saudi Arabia.

India/Pakistan has potential of becoming food factory for the world if agriculture is taken as an industry. The biggest hurdle is the the small land holdings which can not afford to spend anything on research. How can you take a huge harvester to 36th acre while every acre is divided with a different crop being managed by different owners. If this trend is not reversed there will be a big shortage of food in this region as the population grows and gets urbanized. using land reforms as a political slogan is same as opposing construction of dams as a political stunt, bith contributing heavily to our backwardness...!!!!

I don't know why we are so much obsessed with Indian land reforms. India is hardly a country which can be followed as an example as far as agricultural advances are concerned. Although India is doing a little better than pakistan in agricultural yields, but compared to global standards Indian agriculture can be described as a little better than primitive agriculture at best.

To give you an example Indian/Pakistani cattle yield 1000/1200 liters per annum per animal compared to American/European farms yielding over 10,000 liters. Dutch farms yield over 14,000 while Israeli farms yield over 20,000 liters. Surprisingly Saudi Arabia has become a major dairy and product exporter with huge farms. With scarce water resources and harsh desert climate they yield over 7000/8000 liters. They grow maize which is major feed for dairy using only 3/4 percent water compared to India/Pakistan using drip irrigation, with 3/4 times higher yield. Al Murai farm in Saudi Arabia has 65,000 cattle with over a billion dollars in sales. Al safa farm is a major partner of Dennon, with over 40,000 cattle they export every imaginable dairy product from Saudi Arabia.

India/Pakistan has potential of becoming food factory for the world if agriculture is taken as an industry.This region has abundant water resources, flat soft fertile land, 12 month climate for agriculture, and lot of sun shine all necessary factors for successful agriculture. The biggest hurdle is the the small land holdings which can not afford to spend anything on research. How can you take a huge harvester to 36th acre while every acre is divided with a different crop being managed by different owners. If this trend is not reversed there will be a big shortage of food in this region as the population grows and gets urbanized. using land reforms as a political slogan is same as opposing construction of dams as a political stunt, both contributing heavily to our backwardness...!!!!

Well Dino I much dont care which party bring it up for a move in Assembly, I am just in favour of finsih that Feudalism from roots PPP put it first back in days was also a good move.

peace

You are actually against the criminal mentality of our parliamentarians who incidentally happen to be from the agricultural profession in large numbers. Agriculture is a business like any other business... and it does not mean that everyone who happens to be from this trade is a feudal with same criminal mind. What needs to be changed is the criminal mentality of our politicians at large... either they are from urban or rural back grounds. So it is useless to desire this change with land reforms which will add to the backwardness of our country through low productivity and inefficient agricultural methods...!!!

*You can not. That is the culture inherited since centuries when Pakistan was not even a country. People serving these land lords for centuries and for many generations. Land lords are the ones who decide many problems in villages where police and judiciary are not accessable. They live in peace for centuries, why do you want bring chaos like mqm brought in Karachi in these peaceful villages? *

You need to learn more about different cultures living in Pakistan since many centuries. Don't impose your brand of imported culture or I should say no-culture on peaceful communities in general

Landlords provide justice system and you are happy with that? :rotfl: That probably truly represents PPP.

It is not only PPP, the panchayat system is every where in Pakistan. I am happy with that because you tell me where these poor masses get justice particularly domistic and other local problems? Can you redress their grievances? People live in Karachi Sindh sicne partition have very poor knowledge of rural culture. You guys need some education on that by actually going to these places where landlord make decions in open “kachehri” unlike mqm type justice, logon ko sirf oopar puhnchanay ke ilawah in qaatilon ko kya aata hay?

Words of wisdom but will fall on oily vases(chikney gharey).

That is a failure of governments in last 60+ years to not able to provide justice anywhere in the country. "panchayat/jirga" system is good for producing results like Mukhtaran mai.

If you are dragging MQM then may be you can enlighten us with the justice services provided by PPP era, JI era in Karachi, if any different. If landlords are your justice system then I don't know why you have problems with MQM.

well said Yazdi

Actully we realy need back Sultan Rahi to clean up the wrong guys his Badak is enough for that
OE JAGIRDARA:chupki:

sorry for a bad joke!! yeah I am agree with u that somehow we need a change in this wich should helpfull and reasonable for everyone.

bhai mere I am living in this world too, there is a thousnds stories about that criminal Jagirdars, Waderas Sardars , they kill anyone when they want the kidnaped anyone when they want, they rape anyone when they want, they make fires houses when they want, u even cant get help from local police or justice system, you just trying to save there Axxs to blame MQM much.

PPP is a national party. Though justice system has never been ideal in its previous and present regimes, it is thousand times better than justice system run by the dictators. As regard JI and Karachi, JI though I hate that party did tremendous job in the 50's, 60's and in the 70s', till mardood Zia-ul-Haq took over and created manhoos mqm, bringing grendel from America who was a taxi driver, to run cult organization. People who are born and lived in Karachi wil confirm my statement.

I drag mqm because the thread is directly related to mqm.

Excellent information.